$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Rodeway Inn Oceanside

1 star
1103 N. Coast Highway, Oceanside, CA 92054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
40 reviews
Nice and clean

The hotel was affordable, clean, and neat. Every time I came back to my room, the bed was made,... See full review

  • Shaft....John Shaft
  • Jul 6, 2014
Beach Holiday

Clean and comfortable (except the shower head was at chin level, the wide, deep tub didn't hold... See full review

  • Wabei
  • Jul 20, 2014
The property offers 80 rooms,some with magnificient ocean views. We are overlooking the Pacific Ocean and within minutes to the Oceanside Marina, beaches, pier and waterfront restaurants. The property is close to Camp Pendleton Main Gate, Downtown Oceanside, Visitor Center, Oceanside Transit Center, and golf course. Guest will enjoy amenities like free high speed internet, free continental breakfast, HBO, microwave, refrigerator, iron-ironing board, hair dryer. We are walking distance to the Oceanside Transit Center, which links Metrolink, Amtrack, Coaster, Sprinter, and Greyhound buses. 40 rooms are currently under renovation, we apologize for the inconvenience.

Hotel Map

33.2044 -117.3851
Nearby airports
San Diego Int'l Airport, (SAN), 35.00, MI, S; J Wayne/Orange Co Intl Arpt, (SNA), 40.00, MI, S; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 10.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, I-5 and 76 Hwy

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Oceanside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamaica Rose
Business
Riverside, CA
Sep 29, 2014

Staff was helpful, but breakfast wasn't much

Clean rooms, everything worked well. Great location (close to the Oceanside Harbor Days where we were vendors), close to the beach, marina, and downtown. Even a pirate and mermaid out front. But the continental breakfast had the least offerings I've ever experienced with such a breakfast. Only cold cereal, instant oatmeal, milk (in a silver pitcher, with no label as to if it were whole, skim, or somewhere in between), juice, apples, and coffee. Maybe tea too, I didn't check. No pastries, toast, muffins, bananas, oranges, or yoghurt that I usually see at other hotels. After we ate some oatmeal, and drank some coffee, feeling very unsatisfied, we got some great breakfast burritos at a little drive-thru just a little south on the Coast Hwy. Though it was a little more expensive, we had chosen this hotel over some of the cheaper ones, because it offered breakfast and was closer to the beach. We thought having breakfast at the hotel would save us time in the morning, but instead we had to rush about to get breakfast elsewhere before heading over to open our booth for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our evening at the open-air roof-top at Davina's Cabo Grill (212 N. Tremont St.) was a very relaxing time. We enjoyed the great views, fire-pits, and Latin flavored live music. Lots of good drink options. The fried ice cream desert was really good and different (we shared one between us, and it was plenty).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
janetlk
Business
Nederland , Texas
Sep 17, 2014

Ants

Was there with my niece to see her husband who a Navy Corp man so location was great. Did see couple of people who appeared to be little unhinged....meaning screaming and yelling profanities to no one in particular. So when we got back to hotel that night and it was all dark I called front desk about front door lights not working....they did fix the room next to me so that lit up mine. So happy again, having to kill the ants in the sink and on the toilet everyday was a little much! So if ants don't bother you its a close location to front gate at Pendleton....if little things bug you pay another 10 or 20 bucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ccpremium
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 9, 2014

Looks are Deceiving... in a good way

Our family makes a trip out to Oceanside every other month or so. We've stayed in 7 or 8 different budget hotels and motels. Rodeway Inn is our new favorite. Initally, I was turned off by the outside of the building. It looks... old. Very old. However, we were all pleasantly surprised once we got into our rooms. The bathrooms are updated (no mold or old filth in crevices), the beds are comfortable, the carpet is still soft and clean, theres' a fridge, microwave, and a convenient place to drop and dry wet swimsuits. Is it luxurious? No. Is it better than what expected for the price I paid? Absolutely! I only wish the beach was in walking distance. But the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen Jobes
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 8, 2014

Decent

It was comfortable but had a few ants into he room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jobani geeco
Business
California
Aug 6, 2014

Not bad..

As a one time spot, I could work out the minor things that disappointed me. Spend. Couple bucks more and stay somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommykk
Business
Arizona
Aug 2, 2014

it was okAy

The location is great for the price. The rooms are descent size but you can hear the people above you when they walk and water through the pipes when they take a shower but other than that it was okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob Unhappy Camper
Business
Arkansas
Jul 25, 2014

Not what I expected

The pictures do NOT depict what this hotel is really like. The room we had was very small, no closet to hang up our clothes, not even a rack on the wall....had to live out of our suitcases for the week. Towels were paper thin. Asked for a room with a balcony and ocean view...paid $40.00 extra for it....got to see large over-grown bushes and weeds and only a slight glimpse of the ocean...NOT worth the extra money we paid. Son and daughter-in-law stayed in a room a few rooms down from us...they had to call and have the room and balcony sprayed for BUGS !!!!! The desk clerk said that because of the "lake" behind the hotel that they do have a bug problem. My response was, "If you know this them why don't you regularly treat the hotel for bugs...why wait for a guest to complain" No response from the clerk. Definitely will NOT stay there again nor will I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wabei
Business
Orem, Utah
Jul 20, 2014

Beach Holiday

Clean and comfortable (except the shower head was at chin level, the wide, deep tub didn't hold water, and there were no towel racks which is inconvenient in a beach town). The complimentary breakfast was carb-heavy--mostly pastries, but a good selection of pastries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like German food, try Tip Top Meats, 8 mi south in Carlsbad. Terrific. If you like Japanese food, try Teri Cafe, which is nigiyaka and yuutaka. Other axis powers are also represented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ready4Retirement
Business
Mesa, AZ
Jul 8, 2014

Would Have Been Acceptable if 1/2 The Price We Paid

For the price we paid, this was a disappointment. We expected a coffee pot-none, water pressure-barely acceptable, there was a shelf above the sink in the way of the handle so as to limit the water flow. No window in back for ventilation and a poor use of the space in the room. Needs a decorator to help perform a makeover. It was a clean room and had a frig and microwave. I would rate this as a Motel6+ meaning if it were a Motel6 I would have been surprised to see the micro and refrig. Not much else was better than a Motel6 at double the price. The greeter was fine and very helpful. Her replacement couldn't answer simple questions that he should know or have offered to learn. He asked us to call an 800# to get internet access. REALLY? I'm on vacation. Why don't you call the 800# to learn more about you job? Bottom line, if you are on vacation, choose one of the neighboring properties. If you need a place to flop and sleep, then this is fine but you are paying twice what you could at a Motel 6. Not staying here again unless it's an emergency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at the Harbor Cafe. Great Service too. One block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shaft....John Shaft
Business
Arizona
Jul 6, 2014

Nice and clean

The hotel was affordable, clean, and neat. Every time I came back to my room, the bed was made, carpet clean, and towels replaced. Nice and quiet too, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers Market every Thursday night. Few blocks from the pier and the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top