$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
View map of 10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
123 reviews
Awesome Place

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I was upgraded to a room with a balcony because they... See full review

  • Anita L.
  • Apr 30, 2015
great hotel

The hotel decor was classy and comfy. We had a great stay. The location is nice and cute. See full review

  • Justin B.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Luxurious waterfront hotel in Oakland's Jack London Square

The Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre property, sits in the heart of Oakland's Jack London Square, offering guests breathtaking views of the water as well as access to the best of the Bay Area. Guests at the Waterfront Hotel enjoy a private fitness center, valet parking, a heated pool and guest rooms with maritime themes and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The ferry is just outside the Waterfront Hotel, delivering guests to San Francisco in 20 minutes. Rooms have plasma TVs and iPod docks.

Highlights
  • 2008 multimillion-dollar renovation
  • Ferry service out the back door, taking guests to San Francisco (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle to downtown Oakland
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

The Waterfront Hotel provides guests with 143 recently renovated rooms and suites, many with furnished balconies, fireplaces and views of the San Francisco Bay. Nautical themes permeate the guest rooms, which include either 37- or 42-inch plasma flat-screen TVs with On Demand movies and Nintendo, iPod docking stations with alarms and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The non-smoking rooms at the Waterfront Hotel have in-room coffee and tea makers, hair dryers, lighted mirrors in the bathrooms and Lather's Bamboo Collection of upscale bath products.

Features

Sitting right on the water at Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel provides upscale luxury in the center of the action. Guests enjoy a private fitness center, heated pool and sauna. Shuttle service to downtown Oakland and nearby businesses is available during peak morning and evening work hours. The Waterfront Hotel has a 24-hour concierge and is a pet-friendly property. The ferry to San Francisco sits just outside the hotel's doors. Valet Parking surcharge applies.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Nearest Train: BART 12th Street Station (hotel provides free shuttle)
Attractions
  • Jack London Square (adjacent)
  • Oakland Chinatown (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • UC Berkeley (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Ghirardelli Square (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • 16 unique and flexible meeting spaces
  • High-speed Wi-Fi throughout
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • Free local and long distance (US only) calls to all guests starting January 2013.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe City
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.
Deluxe Water
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Dining

Lungmare Restaurant
Full service Italian inspired restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 123
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Justin B.
Business
Santa Rosa
Apr 8, 2015

great hotel

The hotel decor was classy and comfy. We had a great stay. The location is nice and cute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bora k.
Business
BROOKLYN
Mar 11, 2015

LOCATION!

Beautiful view, and great location. Decent Hotel for the $$. Good alternative to high priced SF Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roihomme
Business
N/A
Feb 17, 2015

OK- Jack London

In the heart of Jack London Square, close to ferry to San Francisco, short walk to Chinatown and Oakland Museum. Receive room upgrade with balcony and view of the water. Many restaurants within 5 blocks. breakfast at hotel excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roslyn H.
Business
Bay Point
Dec 29, 2014

Nice overnight in Jack London Square

I was able to check in online and my room was available after noon. The woman who checked me in was kind and gave me great directions to find my room. Upon walking into my room, I was in awe. A fire place... In my room? Definitely a nice added bonus to my stay. Clean, comfortable, updated, and comfortable beds. Would surely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wine and cheese from 3pm to 5pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roslyn H.
Business
Bay Point
Dec 16, 2014

Nice overnight in Jack London Square

I was able to check in online and my room was available after noon. The woman who checked me in was kind and gave me great directions to find my room. Upon walking into my room, I was in awe. A fire place... In my room? Definitely a nice added bonus to my stay. Clean, comfortable, updated, and comfortable beds. Would surely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJAD
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 2, 2014

Convenient and scenic

Everything you expect from a 4 star hotel and easy access and a very scenic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dexterb
Business
Fair Oaks, CA
Nov 23, 2014

Great room, location,

Although rooms can be a little pricey, the hotel is in a great location with many restaurants and clubs within a short walk. Excellent place to stay when going to Yoshis. We had a water view in a large modern room. Also free internet and Keruig coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geo G P
Business
West Yorkshire, England
Sep 30, 2014

Very good alternative to San Francisco

Good situation, valet parking can be a bit of a problem as you must hand over your car keys. Bit of a pest putting things in or taking from the car if you use the trunk for a basic store. Entrance door was at the opposite end of the building to the valet reception.No pool or hot tub. Noisy trains frequently throughout the day and night. All the staff very very helpful. Coffee and water freely available. Ferry trip from close to the hotel to San Francisco was delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take earplugs to cut the train noise and take a drive around beautiful Merritt Lake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlgayton
Business
Warner Robins, GA
Sep 18, 2014

Ideal Location

We attended a couple of concerts at Yoshi's and ould not have been more pleased with the location. The view from our window was beautiful. The bathroom was a bit small with the shower door hitting the toilet, but the room itself was very comfortable with a Keurig, microwave, and refrig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay for premium seating at Yoshi's that way you do not have to eat in their overpriced, loud rest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsugar
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Close to Jack London

Very nice staff & helpful. Close to the A's coliseum, Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

To the baseball game, but BART is a little confusing to an out-of-towner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top