$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
View map of 10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulrc
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 19, 2013

Nice waterfront hotel

Hotel was as described. The rooms are nice, but not outstanding, maybe slightly run down. But the location is great, glad we chose the waterfront view room. The train would be noisy in the back as its pretty close. Access to the ferry is great, but check the schedules. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Pescatore restaurant close by is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mummy of two
Business
Southern California
Jun 16, 2013

Jack London Square getaway

The Waterfront is at the perfect location. However, it's accommodations can use more attention. The AC is extremely loud. If you are on any of the lower level rooms you will be able to hear every footstep above. Does not make for a peaceful rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOS MD
Business
Stamford, CT
May 22, 2013

Perfect Location in Oakland

Convenient to BART and the ferry to SF. Charming waterfront location. Easy walk to restaurants and next to Farmer's Market held on Sunday. Great value compared to expensive SF hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Shuttle to BART Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Pointman.
Business
Madera, CA
May 21, 2013

Business Trip

Walking distance to the water and the best resturants in Oakland. The staff was helpful all the time. I DO NOT have any complaints. NO disappointments here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best resturants at the palm of your hand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fan Wu from Shanghai
Business
Shanghai, China
May 20, 2013

Good for family vacation

We went there for my daughter's graduation. It felt luxurious and personalized, and we had an amazing view of the bay and the boats on the water. The valet drivers were thoughtful and kept us company when we were waiting for the cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chez Panisse is one of the few Michelin 3 star restaurants in the area (only a 10-15 minutes away from the hotel in Berkeley's Gourmet Ghetto!) and worth it for experiencing the flagship restaurant of chef Alice Waters. Make sure you make a reservation a month ahead for the downstairs dining room; believe me, it's worth the experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto Flamingo
Business
San Diego
Apr 22, 2013

Great Hotel!

The staff is extremely friendly and very accomodating. Great location in Jack London Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoraLee The Sailer Girl
Business
Franktown, CO
Apr 16, 2013

Perfect Location For The Sail Pacific Boat Show

Walking distance to the docks and the boat show. Great rooms, nicely maintained and upgraded. Super good coffee in room. The staff absolutely rocked! So helpful, always. We won a big prize at a party and they helped us get it shipped back to our home in Colorado directly from the hotel, continuoisly updating us with the status of the delivery. We'll be back again next year for sure. Our friends were all jealous that we were staying at the Waterfront, they all had to drive and park for the boat show. We attended a seminar at the Waterfront and it was done well also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everett & Jones BBQ - real good BBQ

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamilavender
Business
Coarsegold, CA
Oct 27, 2012

Great place, but messed up our reservation...

This was my second stay at this hotel. First let me say, it is adorable, well-priced, and a great location. The Bay Ferry is right outside the door, so for extra fun and convenience, you can hop on the ferry,take a scenic cruise across the bay, and enjoy the day in San Francisco without the hassle of traffic and high-priced parking. My family really enjoyed doing that. Especially consider this hotel if you are attending a pro game in Oakland or SF, as it is convenient to all stadiums by public transportation. We are frequent weekend travelers to SF, and I will definitely stay here whenever possible, as it is well-priced, and valet parking is only $20/day, which is cheap in the bay area. Also, I feel safe walking the street at night, even though you have the feeling they are trying to revitalize this neighborhood, but it hasn't quite caught on yet. Additionally, local perks are a movie theater, jazz club and B & J ice cream shop right across the street: a New Orleans style restaurant called The Fat Lady one block up, which is sooooo fun and yummy for any meal, including breakfast; and a farmer's market on Sunday Morning right outside the hotel. My only complaint was that this trip I had booked 2 ocean front rooms, and when we arrived, the hotel had only saved us 1 room. They of course, blamed it on O___z, but I don't know whose fault it was. They really did not comp us for the mistake. There were no more ocean front rooms (which we paid extra for) so we ended up on the backside. They tried to tell us the "suite" they gave us was equal to the extra paid for oceanfront. However, it was not a suite. It was just slightly larger than a normal room, and had a sofa we did not need. That was extremely disappointing, as we paid an extra $40.00 per night for oceanfront, and received nothing for that money. My advice: Call and confirm your reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Fat Lady. It is adorable by itself, but for Halloween and Christmas it is outrageously decorated, never the same look twice. New Orleans style decor and fare. Reasonably priced, good food, and excellent service. There is also a Subway sandwich shop, BevMo, and Ben and Jerry's around the corner. The hotel has a restaurant which has good reviews but is pricey. We didn't try it as we love The Fat Lady.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniealyce23
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 5, 2012

Mini-honeymoon in...Oakland?

My husband and I got legally married this past weekend (though our wedding through the church is next year) and decided to take a mini-honeymoon to San Francisco...but we stayed here at the Waterfront Hotel in Oakland. I was pleasantly surprised by the location; Jack London Square is very cute; there was a big farmer's market on Sunday, and some great restaurants (The Fat Lady, to name one) nearby. The room service breakfast (Miss Pearl's) was excellent, but the best part was the peaceful location right on the marina. The ferry is just steps away to go into San Francisco, about $5 each way and takes about 30 minutes. We had a little balcony that overlooked the marina and the pool, it was just perfect. I think the only complaint I have is the front desk woman when we checked in. We told her it was our honeymoon and she said "oh." Then she couldn't find our reservation. I paid extra for the waterfront room, so I was worried we wouldn't get the room we booked. It worked out in the end, so I can't complain too much. Also, the other two desk people we interacted with were very nice and helpful. Not sure this should be a 4-star hotel; maybe 3 or 3.5 would be more appropriate. We had a great time overall; but would probably opt to stay in San Francisco next time. Since we came back on the ferry everyday, I felt like we missed out on a lot of nightlife in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Went out to a lounge in San Fran - ferry does not run that late! It was $120 round-trip cab ride!!! If you're trying to stay out late...consider staying in San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chiqui Felina
Business
Renton, WA
Aug 13, 2012

No four starts

Was good, but not the best. They need to put atention in cleaning all areas, rooms and bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top