$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
151 reviews
Wonderful hotel in Oakand

We had a great stay at this hotel located at Oakland's Jack London Square. The area has a bit more... See full review

  • Dr. EMD
  • Jun 23, 2014
Convenient Excellent staff

Hotel is walking distance to Great restaurants and night clubs, Police and security presence is... See full review

  • paco001
  • Jun 9, 2014
Luxurious waterfront hotel in Oakland's Jack London Square

The Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre property, sits in the heart of Oakland's Jack London Square, offering guests breathtaking views of the water as well as access to the best of the Bay Area. Guests at the Waterfront Hotel enjoy a private fitness center, valet parking, a heated pool and guest rooms with maritime themes and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The ferry is just outside the Waterfront Hotel, delivering guests to San Francisco in 20 minutes. Rooms have plasma TVs and iPod docks.

Highlights
  • 2008 multimillion-dollar renovation
  • Ferry service out the back door, taking guests to San Francisco (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle to downtown Oakland
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

The Waterfront Hotel provides guests with 143 recently renovated rooms and suites, many with furnished balconies, fireplaces and views of the San Francisco Bay. Nautical themes permeate the guest rooms, which include either 37- or 42-inch plasma flat-screen TVs with On Demand movies and Nintendo, iPod docking stations with alarms and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The non-smoking rooms at the Waterfront Hotel have in-room coffee and tea makers, hair dryers, lighted mirrors in the bathrooms and Lather's Bamboo Collection of upscale bath products.

Features

Sitting right on the water at Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel provides upscale luxury in the center of the action. Guests enjoy a private fitness center, heated pool and sauna. Shuttle service to downtown Oakland and nearby businesses is available during peak morning and evening work hours. The Waterfront Hotel has a 24-hour concierge and is a pet-friendly property. The ferry to San Francisco sits just outside the hotel's doors. Valet Parking surcharge applies.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Nearest Train: BART 12th Street Station (hotel provides free shuttle)
Attractions
  • Jack London Square (adjacent)
  • Oakland Chinatown (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • UC Berkeley (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Ghirardelli Square (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • 16 unique and flexible meeting spaces
  • High-speed Wi-Fi throughout
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • Free local and long distance (US only) calls to all guests starting January 2013.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe City
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.
Deluxe Water
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.795 -122.2786
Area served
Oakland.
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport.
Area description
Twenty-minute ferry ride to San Francisco from hotel back door, Ten blocks from the Oakland Convention Center, Three-minute ride to downtown Oakland (including BART) with our complimentary daily shuttle service.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Dining

Lungmare Restaurant
Full service Italian inspired restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chiqui Felina
Renton, WA
Aug 13, 2012

No four starts

Was good, but not the best. They need to put atention in cleaning all areas, rooms and bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda P.
San Diego, CA
Jun 20, 2012

Probably best you'll find in Oakland area for the price range

Room was clean, quiet, and attractive with a nice-enough marina view. There are loud train whistles when outside but they are barely, barely heard inside the room. I'm not certain but it looked as though the upper-end hotels were in less attractive - less desirable areas without any views -- their luxury would be all on the inside. We were quite disappointed to have no refrigerator. They did accommodate us by putting our food in their refrigerator. There's a nice weight room, lovely buffet breakfast (not complimentary), and a pool near the marina with some needed windbreaks around it. It was quite a surprise to us that parking was only Valet --- and at $20 per night. It was inconvenient to us to have to decide fully what we needed from the car and not be able to make trips to the car at will. The cost of parking and tipping needs to be added in to your cost comparisons and potential delays need to be figured in to every outing. We did not have long waits for our car but noticed that some others did. I can only assume that the cars were in a safe area in terms of potential break-ins. The radio alarm clock was horrid. I spent 15 minutes trying to set it and then never did figure out how to UN-set it -- how to keep it from ringing the follow mornings. The print on it was so tiny that I needed bright light and reading glasses to work on it. It has an iPod station (making it ready for non-iPod use was part of the problem). Nice view of marina -- quite nice buildings in background in one direction and yucky shipyard buildings the other direction, though it's interesting to watch the giant containers being unloaded from container ship with huge crane equipment. Clearly Jack London Square was once a nice tourist attraction area. Now it's mostly empty buildings but with several nice, well-attended restaurants interspersed. It's not much of a wander/walk but certainly will feed you well. If you walk a few blocks away from the water, you'll find a Vegan restaurant and a few charming ethnic restaurants, again interspersed among empty and run-down buildings. The Oakland area seems to all be a little sketchy in terms of perceived safety (you probably knew that); it seemed like this all around this square as well although the two hotels and near restaurants along the Marina here are a bit of a safe-haven --- that's the reason to choose this or the Inn next to it (forgot the name). Traffic was not bad in immediate area and it was not difficult to hop on to highways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluecarolina
Long Beach, Ca
Jun 13, 2012

Needs an Upgrade

Hotel pics are better than the rooms we ended up with. This hotel needs a renovation and the rooms were dingy. Showers were not clean. I would not rate this a 4 star at all. This was a disappointment and I was glad the stay was only 1 night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mocohd
Stockton, CA
May 6, 2012

Lowrider Concert

The staff at the front desk was very courteous and quick. Perfect location for Yoshi's. Would stay here again for a trip around the Jack London Square area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yachtsman
Business
los angeles
Apr 6, 2012

Great water location for boaters

Excellent. Great location. Welcoming staff. Very clean, well appointed rooms. Needs work on pool, fitness center. Wonderful restaurant and bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mllski
Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Waterfront Fun

It is our family tradition for me and my wife to take our kids to Monster Jam at the Oakland Coliseum each year when it comes around. By far this hotel is the best one we have stayed at in the Oakland area, the rooms are nice and it is in an ideal location. The Continental breakfast and coffee bar are a great way to kick off the day. We won't hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place for food and drink is Kincaid's, and an interesting little bar is Heinold's Last First Chance just down from Kincaid's

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OlaMikey
Business
Moscow, ID, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Nicely done

The hotel and my room were clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The desk could have been more accommodating by providing more space and more accessible power supply. The breakfast was tasty, situated next to a pool with a view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jonny G.
Los Angeles
Jul 31, 2011

Solid, But Not Great

The hospitality of the staff leaves a lot to be desired (if you're interested, I left a detailed review at T. Advisor), but the hotel itself is clean, nicely updated, and good. As it's a Joie de Vivre property, the staff is not even close to what I'd normally expect. The area is still early in its redevelopment, so the energy feels very far from the action, almost abandoned, even though there are clubs and restaurants nearby. Note that valet parking (20 dollars at the time of my visit) is the only option besides street parking, which is Bay Area-complicated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jonny G.
Los Angeles
Jul 31, 2011

Solid, But Not Great

The hospitality of the staff leaves a lot to be desired (if you're interested, I left a detailed review at T. Advisor), but the hotel itself is clean, nicely updated, and good. As it's a Joie de Vivre property, the staff is not even close to what I'd normally expect. The area is still early in its redevelopment, so the energy feels very far from the action, almost abandoned, even though there are clubs and restaurants nearby. Note that valet parking (20 dollars at the time of my visit) is the only option besides street parking, which is Bay Area-complicated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Jul 20, 2011

[...] last minute reservation

I made the reservation at the last minute and it worked out perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top