$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
107 reviews
Everything you expect

Didn't have one issue here. Paid a reasonable amount. Surrounded by amenities and entertainment. I... See full review

  • mwein
  • Sep 28, 2014
Close to Jack London

Very nice staff & helpful. Close to the A's coliseum, Thanks! See full review

  • jsugar
  • Aug 10, 2014
Luxurious waterfront hotel in Oakland's Jack London Square

The Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre property, sits in the heart of Oakland's Jack London Square, offering guests breathtaking views of the water as well as access to the best of the Bay Area. Guests at the Waterfront Hotel enjoy a private fitness center, valet parking, a heated pool and guest rooms with maritime themes and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The ferry is just outside the Waterfront Hotel, delivering guests to San Francisco in 20 minutes. Rooms have plasma TVs and iPod docks.

Highlights
  • 2008 multimillion-dollar renovation
  • Ferry service out the back door, taking guests to San Francisco (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle to downtown Oakland
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

The Waterfront Hotel provides guests with 143 recently renovated rooms and suites, many with furnished balconies, fireplaces and views of the San Francisco Bay. Nautical themes permeate the guest rooms, which include either 37- or 42-inch plasma flat-screen TVs with On Demand movies and Nintendo, iPod docking stations with alarms and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The non-smoking rooms at the Waterfront Hotel have in-room coffee and tea makers, hair dryers, lighted mirrors in the bathrooms and Lather's Bamboo Collection of upscale bath products.

Features

Sitting right on the water at Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel provides upscale luxury in the center of the action. Guests enjoy a private fitness center, heated pool and sauna. Shuttle service to downtown Oakland and nearby businesses is available during peak morning and evening work hours. The Waterfront Hotel has a 24-hour concierge and is a pet-friendly property. The ferry to San Francisco sits just outside the hotel's doors. Valet Parking surcharge applies.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Nearest Train: BART 12th Street Station (hotel provides free shuttle)
Attractions
  • Jack London Square (adjacent)
  • Oakland Chinatown (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • UC Berkeley (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Ghirardelli Square (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • 16 unique and flexible meeting spaces
  • High-speed Wi-Fi throughout
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • Free local and long distance (US only) calls to all guests starting January 2013.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe City
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.
Deluxe Water
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Dining

Lungmare Restaurant
Full service Italian inspired restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Pointman.
Business
Madera, CA
May 21, 2013

Business Trip

Walking distance to the water and the best resturants in Oakland. The staff was helpful all the time. I DO NOT have any complaints. NO disappointments here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best resturants at the palm of your hand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOS MD
Business
Stamford, CT
May 22, 2013

Perfect Location in Oakland

Convenient to BART and the ferry to SF. Charming waterfront location. Easy walk to restaurants and next to Farmer's Market held on Sunday. Great value compared to expensive SF hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Shuttle to BART Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Pointman.
Business
Madera, CA
May 21, 2013

Business Trip

Walking distance to the water and the best resturants in Oakland. The staff was helpful all the time. I DO NOT have any complaints. NO disappointments here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best resturants at the palm of your hand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fan Wu from Shanghai
Business
Shanghai, China
May 20, 2013

Good for family vacation

We went there for my daughter's graduation. It felt luxurious and personalized, and we had an amazing view of the bay and the boats on the water. The valet drivers were thoughtful and kept us company when we were waiting for the cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chez Panisse is one of the few Michelin 3 star restaurants in the area (only a 10-15 minutes away from the hotel in Berkeley's Gourmet Ghetto!) and worth it for experiencing the flagship restaurant of chef Alice Waters. Make sure you make a reservation a month ahead for the downstairs dining room; believe me, it's worth the experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto Flamingo
Business
San Diego
Apr 22, 2013

Great Hotel!

The staff is extremely friendly and very accomodating. Great location in Jack London Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoraLee The Sailer Girl
Business
Franktown, CO
Apr 16, 2013

Perfect Location For The Sail Pacific Boat Show

Walking distance to the docks and the boat show. Great rooms, nicely maintained and upgraded. Super good coffee in room. The staff absolutely rocked! So helpful, always. We won a big prize at a party and they helped us get it shipped back to our home in Colorado directly from the hotel, continuoisly updating us with the status of the delivery. We'll be back again next year for sure. Our friends were all jealous that we were staying at the Waterfront, they all had to drive and park for the boat show. We attended a seminar at the Waterfront and it was done well also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everett & Jones BBQ - real good BBQ

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamilavender
Business
Coarsegold, CA
Oct 27, 2012

Great place, but messed up our reservation...

This was my second stay at this hotel. First let me say, it is adorable, well-priced, and a great location. The Bay Ferry is right outside the door, so for extra fun and convenience, you can hop on the ferry,take a scenic cruise across the bay, and enjoy the day in San Francisco without the hassle of traffic and high-priced parking. My family really enjoyed doing that. Especially consider this hotel if you are attending a pro game in Oakland or SF, as it is convenient to all stadiums by public transportation. We are frequent weekend travelers to SF, and I will definitely stay here whenever possible, as it is well-priced, and valet parking is only $20/day, which is cheap in the bay area. Also, I feel safe walking the street at night, even though you have the feeling they are trying to revitalize this neighborhood, but it hasn't quite caught on yet. Additionally, local perks are a movie theater, jazz club and B & J ice cream shop right across the street: a New Orleans style restaurant called The Fat Lady one block up, which is sooooo fun and yummy for any meal, including breakfast; and a farmer's market on Sunday Morning right outside the hotel. My only complaint was that this trip I had booked 2 ocean front rooms, and when we arrived, the hotel had only saved us 1 room. They of course, blamed it on O___z, but I don't know whose fault it was. They really did not comp us for the mistake. There were no more ocean front rooms (which we paid extra for) so we ended up on the backside. They tried to tell us the "suite" they gave us was equal to the extra paid for oceanfront. However, it was not a suite. It was just slightly larger than a normal room, and had a sofa we did not need. That was extremely disappointing, as we paid an extra $40.00 per night for oceanfront, and received nothing for that money. My advice: Call and confirm your reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Fat Lady. It is adorable by itself, but for Halloween and Christmas it is outrageously decorated, never the same look twice. New Orleans style decor and fare. Reasonably priced, good food, and excellent service. There is also a Subway sandwich shop, BevMo, and Ben and Jerry's around the corner. The hotel has a restaurant which has good reviews but is pricey. We didn't try it as we love The Fat Lady.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniealyce23
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 5, 2012

Mini-honeymoon in...Oakland?

My husband and I got legally married this past weekend (though our wedding through the church is next year) and decided to take a mini-honeymoon to San Francisco...but we stayed here at the Waterfront Hotel in Oakland. I was pleasantly surprised by the location; Jack London Square is very cute; there was a big farmer's market on Sunday, and some great restaurants (The Fat Lady, to name one) nearby. The room service breakfast (Miss Pearl's) was excellent, but the best part was the peaceful location right on the marina. The ferry is just steps away to go into San Francisco, about $5 each way and takes about 30 minutes. We had a little balcony that overlooked the marina and the pool, it was just perfect. I think the only complaint I have is the front desk woman when we checked in. We told her it was our honeymoon and she said "oh." Then she couldn't find our reservation. I paid extra for the waterfront room, so I was worried we wouldn't get the room we booked. It worked out in the end, so I can't complain too much. Also, the other two desk people we interacted with were very nice and helpful. Not sure this should be a 4-star hotel; maybe 3 or 3.5 would be more appropriate. We had a great time overall; but would probably opt to stay in San Francisco next time. Since we came back on the ferry everyday, I felt like we missed out on a lot of nightlife in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Went out to a lounge in San Fran - ferry does not run that late! It was $120 round-trip cab ride!!! If you're trying to stay out late...consider staying in San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chiqui Felina
Business
Renton, WA
Aug 13, 2012

No four starts

Was good, but not the best. They need to put atention in cleaning all areas, rooms and bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda P.
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 20, 2012

Probably best you'll find in Oakland area for the price range

Room was clean, quiet, and attractive with a nice-enough marina view. There are loud train whistles when outside but they are barely, barely heard inside the room. I'm not certain but it looked as though the upper-end hotels were in less attractive - less desirable areas without any views -- their luxury would be all on the inside. We were quite disappointed to have no refrigerator. They did accommodate us by putting our food in their refrigerator. There's a nice weight room, lovely buffet breakfast (not complimentary), and a pool near the marina with some needed windbreaks around it. It was quite a surprise to us that parking was only Valet --- and at $20 per night. It was inconvenient to us to have to decide fully what we needed from the car and not be able to make trips to the car at will. The cost of parking and tipping needs to be added in to your cost comparisons and potential delays need to be figured in to every outing. We did not have long waits for our car but noticed that some others did. I can only assume that the cars were in a safe area in terms of potential break-ins. The radio alarm clock was horrid. I spent 15 minutes trying to set it and then never did figure out how to UN-set it -- how to keep it from ringing the follow mornings. The print on it was so tiny that I needed bright light and reading glasses to work on it. It has an iPod station (making it ready for non-iPod use was part of the problem). Nice view of marina -- quite nice buildings in background in one direction and yucky shipyard buildings the other direction, though it's interesting to watch the giant containers being unloaded from container ship with huge crane equipment. Clearly Jack London Square was once a nice tourist attraction area. Now it's mostly empty buildings but with several nice, well-attended restaurants interspersed. It's not much of a wander/walk but certainly will feed you well. If you walk a few blocks away from the water, you'll find a Vegan restaurant and a few charming ethnic restaurants, again interspersed among empty and run-down buildings. The Oakland area seems to all be a little sketchy in terms of perceived safety (you probably knew that); it seemed like this all around this square as well although the two hotels and near restaurants along the Marina here are a bit of a safe-haven --- that's the reason to choose this or the Inn next to it (forgot the name). Traffic was not bad in immediate area and it was not difficult to hop on to highways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluecarolina
Business
Long Beach, Ca
Jun 13, 2012

Needs an Upgrade

Hotel pics are better than the rooms we ended up with. This hotel needs a renovation and the rooms were dingy. Showers were not clean. I would not rate this a 4 star at all. This was a disappointment and I was glad the stay was only 1 night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top