$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
View map of 10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fan Wu from Shanghai
Shanghai, China
May 20, 2013

Good for family vacation

We went there for my daughter's graduation. It felt luxurious and personalized, and we had an amazing view of the bay and the boats on the water. The valet drivers were thoughtful and kept us company when we were waiting for the cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chez Panisse is one of the few Michelin 3 star restaurants in the area (only a 10-15 minutes away from the hotel in Berkeley's Gourmet Ghetto!) and worth it for experiencing the flagship restaurant of chef Alice Waters. Make sure you make a reservation a month ahead for the downstairs dining room; believe me, it's worth the experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leeeeeroy
Business
Berkeley, CA
Nov 30, 2013

Great location

The location at the Jack London Square was excellent. Walking distance to all the nice restaurants. Was a little disappointed by the room itself. Not as new and nice as I had expected. Great staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Businesstravelerval
Business
DC
Nov 9, 2013

Not bad, but NOT 4 stars

I was expecting more based on the star rating. It was a bit old. After looking in the tub, I chose to wear my flip flops into the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants in the area, though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenniferGorby
Business
Yuba City
Oct 20, 2013

Anniversary getaway

Very nice hotel. Pleased with everything except our $25 valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maly the awesomeness
Business
oakland , Ca
Oct 15, 2013

awesome location

this hotel is really nice, i like where it's located. Really nice views and close to the ferry, it's a real getaway. the only thing is it needs to get upgraded. When I stayed there, the radio was broken, had to call for assistance to replace it, the cabinet was broken as well, and they didn't have bath robes! i mean what hotels doesn't have bath robes? they said they did carry it before, they should again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yoshi's is an awesome sushi bar. Want to watch a movie after? Go to jack london regal theater pretty cheap and awesome theater. On tuesdays and wednesdays movies are only $5. =]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sustem
Business
dallas
Sep 18, 2013

Great location

Had read a lot of negative reviews, but we loved it. Bathroom had been remodelled and trains did not keep us awake at all. Great Ferry service into SFO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers Market on Sunday

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katesydney
Business
Sydney, Australia
Sep 11, 2013

Great experience

We loved staying over on the marina in Oakland. The staff were wonderful and the service fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttocsscott
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Sep 9, 2013

Best location in Jack London Square

Friendly staff, clean rooms, great views and perfect location. Some areas of hotel need updating and parking is a bit of an issue but overall a very nice experience. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to include Blue Bottle Coffee house in your itinerary for the best macchiato in the bay area. Also the Sunday farmers market should not be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boghos
Business
pasadena
Sep 9, 2013

good

we enjoy this hotel ..great hote great clean nice room, and great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ahumphreys
Business
Dothan, Alabama
Sep 2, 2013

Needs some upgrades

The Waterfront Hotel has been around for many years, it has a great location, but like all hotels near a the ocean, the rooms require constant upgrades due to the ordor from the sea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
You asked
Business
Stockton, Ca
Aug 26, 2013

How I spent a miserable night at the Waterfront Hotel Oakland, Ca

Upon check in I requested a room away from elevators and ice machines as I am a lite sleeper and prefer a quieter spot. What I received was a room directly opposite the Amtrak train tracks (1 block away). The train ran every 30minutes until midnight and blasted the horn the whole time it passed. You could not even have a conversation until it passed it was so loud! The hotel said they were full so did not have another room available. Needless to say we did not get much sleep that night. Parking is Valet only and when we went to go to dinner that evening found they had not turned off the headlights and the battery was dead on the car. Our dinner reservation was late while they figured out how to operate their portable battery charger, which took them 45 minutes and several phone calls for instructions. We conveyed our dissatisfaction with the hotel upon our check out and they said the only thing they could do was remove the $25 valet parking charge. They gave us a coupon for a 15% discount on our next stay with them....LIKE WE WOULD EVER RETURN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top