Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
View map of 10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
116 reviews
Birthday trip

Fun hotel, great location. We did a lot in a short time, all over San Francisco. Even went to... See full review

  • Cathy L.
  • Jul 23, 2015
Awesome Place

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I was upgraded to a room with a balcony because they... See full review

  • Anita L.
  • Apr 30, 2015

The Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre property, sits in the heart of Oakland's Jack London Square, offering guests breathtaking views of the water as well as access to the best of the Bay Area. Guests at the Waterfront Hotel enjoy a private fitness center, valet parking, a heated pool and guest rooms with maritime themes and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The ferry is just outside the Waterfront Hotel, delivering guests to San Francisco in 20 minutes. Rooms have plasma TVs and iPod docks.

Rooms

The Waterfront Hotel provides guests with 143 recently renovated rooms and suites, many with furnished balconies, fireplaces and views of the San Francisco Bay. Nautical themes permeate the guest rooms, which include either 37- or 42-inch plasma flat-screen TVs with On Demand movies and Nintendo, iPod docking stations with alarms and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The non-smoking rooms at the Waterfront Hotel have in-room coffee and tea makers, hair dryers, lighted mirrors in the bathrooms and Lather's Bamboo Collection of upscale bath products.

Property features

Sitting right on the water at Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel provides upscale luxury in the center of the action. Guests enjoy a private fitness center, heated pool and sauna. Shuttle service to downtown Oakland and nearby businesses is available during peak morning and evening work hours. The Waterfront Hotel has a 24-hour concierge and is a pet-friendly property. The ferry to San Francisco sits just outside the hotel's doors. Valet Parking surcharge applies.

Highlights
  • 2008 multimillion-dollar renovation
  • Ferry service out the back door, taking guests to San Francisco (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle to downtown Oakland
  • Pet friendly
Nearby attractions
  • Jack London Square (adjacent)
  • Oakland Chinatown (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • UC Berkeley (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Ghirardelli Square (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • 16 unique and flexible meeting spaces
  • High-speed Wi-Fi throughout
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Nearest Train: BART 12th Street Station (hotel provides free shuttle)
Policies
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • Free local and long distance (US only) calls to all guests starting January 2013.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe City
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.
Deluxe Water
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

37.795 -122.2786
Area served
Oakland.
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport.
Area description
Twenty-minute ferry ride to San Francisco from hotel back door, Ten blocks from the Oakland Convention Center, Three-minute ride to downtown Oakland (including BART) with our complimentary daily shuttle service.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Dining

Lungmare Restaurant
Full service Italian inspired restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Businesstravelerval
Business
DC
Nov 9, 2013

Not bad, but NOT 4 stars

I was expecting more based on the star rating. It was a bit old. After looking in the tub, I chose to wear my flip flops into the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants in the area, though.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenniferGorby
Couples
Yuba City
Oct 20, 2013

Anniversary getaway

Very nice hotel. Pleased with everything except our $25 valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maly the awesomeness
Couples
oakland , Ca
Oct 15, 2013

awesome location

this hotel is really nice, i like where it's located. Really nice views and close to the ferry, it's a real getaway. the only thing is it needs to get upgraded. When I stayed there, the radio was broken, had to call for assistance to replace it, the cabinet was broken as well, and they didn't have bath robes! i mean what hotels doesn't have bath robes? they said they did carry it before, they should again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yoshi's is an awesome sushi bar. Want to watch a movie after? Go to jack london regal theater pretty cheap and awesome theater. On tuesdays and wednesdays movies are only $5. =]

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sustem
Couples
dallas
Sep 18, 2013

Great location

Had read a lot of negative reviews, but we loved it. Bathroom had been remodelled and trains did not keep us awake at all. Great Ferry service into SFO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers Market on Sunday

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katesydney
Friends
Sydney, Australia
Sep 11, 2013

Great experience

We loved staying over on the marina in Oakland. The staff were wonderful and the service fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttocsscott
Couples
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Sep 9, 2013

Best location in Jack London Square

Friendly staff, clean rooms, great views and perfect location. Some areas of hotel need updating and parking is a bit of an issue but overall a very nice experience. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to include Blue Bottle Coffee house in your itinerary for the best macchiato in the bay area. Also the Sunday farmers market should not be missed.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ahumphreys
Business
Dothan, Alabama
Sep 2, 2013

Needs some upgrades

The Waterfront Hotel has been around for many years, it has a great location, but like all hotels near a the ocean, the rooms require constant upgrades due to the ordor from the sea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
You asked
Couples
Stockton, Ca
Aug 26, 2013

How I spent a miserable night at the Waterfront Hotel Oakland, Ca

Upon check in I requested a room away from elevators and ice machines as I am a lite sleeper and prefer a quieter spot. What I received was a room directly opposite the Amtrak train tracks (1 block away). The train ran every 30minutes until midnight and blasted the horn the whole time it passed. You could not even have a conversation until it passed it was so loud! The hotel said they were full so did not have another room available. Needless to say we did not get much sleep that night. Parking is Valet only and when we went to go to dinner that evening found they had not turned off the headlights and the battery was dead on the car. Our dinner reservation was late while they figured out how to operate their portable battery charger, which took them 45 minutes and several phone calls for instructions. We conveyed our dissatisfaction with the hotel upon our check out and they said the only thing they could do was remove the $25 valet parking charge. They gave us a coupon for a 15% discount on our next stay with them....LIKE WE WOULD EVER RETURN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donalda
Couples
Chico, CA
Jul 22, 2013

Great location

The ferry next door and BART close by makes this a perfect place to stay. The staff is so very accommodating from the valets, front desk staff and the housekeeping staff. A surprise was sitting at the bar in the adjoining restaurant, chatting with a lovely woman only to learn she and her husband owned the restaurant. A very pleasant, positive experience all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Ferry into San Francisco for a lovely, relaxing ride.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
north california girl
Family
Mendocino,Ca
Jul 1, 2013

Great location!

Friendly and very helpful, flexible staff. Great location,...perfect access to Ferry and SF Embarcadero area, as well as fun Farmer's Market on Sunday right next to the hotel. I would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top