$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
View map of 10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roslyn H.
Couples
Bay Point
Dec 16, 2014

Nice overnight in Jack London Square

I was able to check in online and my room was available after noon. The woman who checked me in was kind and gave me great directions to find my room. Upon walking into my room, I was in awe. A fire place... In my room? Definitely a nice added bonus to my stay. Clean, comfortable, updated, and comfortable beds. Would surely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cherylinornage
Family
Orange, CA
Dec 3, 2014

The Staff Makes This Place!!!

The staff here is friendly, helpful and just all around delightful. We had a very nice room, very clean and well appointed. We were there 5 days and had a wonderful stay. Just wish their internet would have been a bit more reliable. That being said, we will definitely return. Thank you .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Besides the Lungomare café and restaurant, there is a great coffee shop/diner called Buttercup. We thoroughly enjoyed a very hearty breakfast there.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dexterb
Couples
Fair Oaks, CA
Nov 23, 2014

Great room, location,

Although rooms can be a little pricey, the hotel is in a great location with many restaurants and clubs within a short walk. Excellent place to stay when going to Yoshis. We had a water view in a large modern room. Also free internet and Keruig coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geo G P
Couples
West Yorkshire, England
Sep 30, 2014

Very good alternative to San Francisco

Good situation, valet parking can be a bit of a problem as you must hand over your car keys. Bit of a pest putting things in or taking from the car if you use the trunk for a basic store. Entrance door was at the opposite end of the building to the valet reception.No pool or hot tub. Noisy trains frequently throughout the day and night. All the staff very very helpful. Coffee and water freely available. Ferry trip from close to the hotel to San Francisco was delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take earplugs to cut the train noise and take a drive around beautiful Merritt Lake.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwein
Business
pecos, tx
Sep 28, 2014

Everything you expect

Didn't have one issue here. Paid a reasonable amount. Surrounded by amenities and entertainment. I will return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great bar and restaurant.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlgayton
Couples
Warner Robins, GA
Sep 18, 2014

Ideal Location

We attended a couple of concerts at Yoshi's and ould not have been more pleased with the location. The view from our window was beautiful. The bathroom was a bit small with the shower door hitting the toilet, but the room itself was very comfortable with a Keurig, microwave, and refrig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay for premium seating at Yoshi's that way you do not have to eat in their overpriced, loud rest.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timth
Family
ny, ny
Aug 29, 2014

Oakland by the bay

wonderful experience - wedding was just a block away - so that was the driver - but it turns out the ferry to SF was right there, too - which wasn't quite clear while planning. so it was super easy to get into SF and a good bay trip was a bonus - then switching for another ferry to Sausalito - again bonus - much easier than anti pated. the hotel staff was friendly and helpful - while their knowledge of the Oakland area and making it easier to understand what oakland has to offer for a few hours was sketchy - they tried - - the hotel even shuttled us over to an area to get a feel for Oakland - but we stumbled on the museum by Lake Merritt by accident - there was no mention of it at the hotel and there isn't a lot of simple information online - it just becomes a massive jumble - nonetheless - the hotel is very pleasant, the rooms comfortable - the bathrooms seem dated or sparse or empty or something - while clean and functional - not the same as appealing as the room itself. we would stay here AGAIN for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Lady is a great restaurant a block away - there is a movie theater a block away - - - and a Ben&Jerry's, too - in the other direction - only three blocks away are two other easy local restaurants - Oakland Grill and the Buttercup.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmajb
Family
Southern California
Aug 19, 2014

Family friendly

Heated outdoor pool was exceptional and cafe with delicious gluten-free options an unexpected bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel Cafe had delicious gluten-free options.

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsugar
Couples
Grass Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Close to Jack London

Very nice staff & helpful. Close to the A's coliseum, Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

To the baseball game, but BART is a little confusing to an out-of-towner

Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QOSB
Family
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 11, 2014

Lovely spot in Oakland

We were in Oakland in order to look for housing for our daughter. That process involved driving all over the East Bay area. Each evening we looked forward to returning to our room facing the water and a balcony to catch the sun and fresh air. Being in the heart of Jack London square meant nice walks and convenient restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top