$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
10 Washington St., Oakland, CA 94610
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
106 reviews
Everything you expect

Didn't have one issue here. Paid a reasonable amount. Surrounded by amenities and entertainment. I... See full review

  • mwein
  • Sep 28, 2014
Close to Jack London

Very nice staff & helpful. Close to the A's coliseum, Thanks! See full review

  • jsugar
  • Aug 10, 2014
Luxurious waterfront hotel in Oakland's Jack London Square

The Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre property, sits in the heart of Oakland's Jack London Square, offering guests breathtaking views of the water as well as access to the best of the Bay Area. Guests at the Waterfront Hotel enjoy a private fitness center, valet parking, a heated pool and guest rooms with maritime themes and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The ferry is just outside the Waterfront Hotel, delivering guests to San Francisco in 20 minutes. Rooms have plasma TVs and iPod docks.

Highlights
  • 2008 multimillion-dollar renovation
  • Ferry service out the back door, taking guests to San Francisco (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle to downtown Oakland
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

The Waterfront Hotel provides guests with 143 recently renovated rooms and suites, many with furnished balconies, fireplaces and views of the San Francisco Bay. Nautical themes permeate the guest rooms, which include either 37- or 42-inch plasma flat-screen TVs with On Demand movies and Nintendo, iPod docking stations with alarms and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply). The non-smoking rooms at the Waterfront Hotel have in-room coffee and tea makers, hair dryers, lighted mirrors in the bathrooms and Lather's Bamboo Collection of upscale bath products.

Features

Sitting right on the water at Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel provides upscale luxury in the center of the action. Guests enjoy a private fitness center, heated pool and sauna. Shuttle service to downtown Oakland and nearby businesses is available during peak morning and evening work hours. The Waterfront Hotel has a 24-hour concierge and is a pet-friendly property. The ferry to San Francisco sits just outside the hotel's doors. Valet Parking surcharge applies.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Nearest Train: BART 12th Street Station (hotel provides free shuttle)
Attractions
  • Jack London Square (adjacent)
  • Oakland Chinatown (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • UC Berkeley (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Ghirardelli Square (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • 16 unique and flexible meeting spaces
  • High-speed Wi-Fi throughout
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • Free local and long distance (US only) calls to all guests starting January 2013.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.795 -122.2786
Area served
Oakland.
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport.
Area description
Twenty-minute ferry ride to San Francisco from hotel back door, Ten blocks from the Oakland Convention Center, Three-minute ride to downtown Oakland (including BART) with our complimentary daily shuttle service.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Deluxe City
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.
Deluxe Water
Room with king or 2 queen beds include In-room hairdryers and lighted vanity mirrors, Irons and full-size ironing boards, "On demand" movies and Nintendo, Non-smoking rooms, Twice-daily housekeeping, Complimentary in-room coffee and tea, Valet laundry six days a week, High speed Internet access, Two phones with data port and voicemail, In-room honor bars, safes and VCR capabilities. There will be no smoking allowed in any of the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Dining

Lungmare Restaurant
Full service Italian inspired restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamilavender
Coarsegold, CA
Oct 27, 2012

Great place, but messed up our reservation...

This was my second stay at this hotel. First let me say, it is adorable, well-priced, and a great location. The Bay Ferry is right outside the door, so for extra fun and convenience, you can hop on the ferry,take a scenic cruise across the bay, and enjoy the day in San Francisco without the hassle of traffic and high-priced parking. My family really enjoyed doing that. Especially consider this hotel if you are attending a pro game in Oakland or SF, as it is convenient to all stadiums by public transportation. We are frequent weekend travelers to SF, and I will definitely stay here whenever possible, as it is well-priced, and valet parking is only $20/day, which is cheap in the bay area. Also, I feel safe walking the street at night, even though you have the feeling they are trying to revitalize this neighborhood, but it hasn't quite caught on yet. Additionally, local perks are a movie theater, jazz club and B & J ice cream shop right across the street: a New Orleans style restaurant called The Fat Lady one block up, which is sooooo fun and yummy for any meal, including breakfast; and a farmer's market on Sunday Morning right outside the hotel. My only complaint was that this trip I had booked 2 ocean front rooms, and when we arrived, the hotel had only saved us 1 room. They of course, blamed it on O___z, but I don't know whose fault it was. They really did not comp us for the mistake. There were no more ocean front rooms (which we paid extra for) so we ended up on the backside. They tried to tell us the "suite" they gave us was equal to the extra paid for oceanfront. However, it was not a suite. It was just slightly larger than a normal room, and had a sofa we did not need. That was extremely disappointing, as we paid an extra $40.00 per night for oceanfront, and received nothing for that money. My advice: Call and confirm your reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Fat Lady. It is adorable by itself, but for Halloween and Christmas it is outrageously decorated, never the same look twice. New Orleans style decor and fare. Reasonably priced, good food, and excellent service. There is also a Subway sandwich shop, BevMo, and Ben and Jerry's around the corner. The hotel has a restaurant which has good reviews but is pricey. We didn't try it as we love The Fat Lady.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geo G P
Business
West Yorkshire, England
Sep 30, 2014

Very good alternative to San Francisco

Good situation, valet parking can be a bit of a problem as you must hand over your car keys. Bit of a pest putting things in or taking from the car if you use the trunk for a basic store. Entrance door was at the opposite end of the building to the valet reception.No pool or hot tub. Noisy trains frequently throughout the day and night. All the staff very very helpful. Coffee and water freely available. Ferry trip from close to the hotel to San Francisco was delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take earplugs to cut the train noise and take a drive around beautiful Merritt Lake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwein
Business
pecos, tx
Sep 28, 2014

Everything you expect

Didn't have one issue here. Paid a reasonable amount. Surrounded by amenities and entertainment. I will return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great bar and restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlgayton
Business
Warner Robins, GA
Sep 18, 2014

Ideal Location

We attended a couple of concerts at Yoshi's and ould not have been more pleased with the location. The view from our window was beautiful. The bathroom was a bit small with the shower door hitting the toilet, but the room itself was very comfortable with a Keurig, microwave, and refrig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay for premium seating at Yoshi's that way you do not have to eat in their overpriced, loud rest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timth
Business
ny, ny
Aug 29, 2014

Oakland by the bay

wonderful experience - wedding was just a block away - so that was the driver - but it turns out the ferry to SF was right there, too - which wasn't quite clear while planning. so it was super easy to get into SF and a good bay trip was a bonus - then switching for another ferry to Sausalito - again bonus - much easier than anti pated. the hotel staff was friendly and helpful - while their knowledge of the Oakland area and making it easier to understand what oakland has to offer for a few hours was sketchy - they tried - - the hotel even shuttled us over to an area to get a feel for Oakland - but we stumbled on the museum by Lake Merritt by accident - there was no mention of it at the hotel and there isn't a lot of simple information online - it just becomes a massive jumble - nonetheless - the hotel is very pleasant, the rooms comfortable - the bathrooms seem dated or sparse or empty or something - while clean and functional - not the same as appealing as the room itself. we would stay here AGAIN for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Lady is a great restaurant a block away - there is a movie theater a block away - - - and a Ben&Jerry's, too - in the other direction - only three blocks away are two other easy local restaurants - Oakland Grill and the Buttercup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmajb
Business
Southern California
Aug 19, 2014

Family friendly

Heated outdoor pool was exceptional and cafe with delicious gluten-free options an unexpected bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel Cafe had delicious gluten-free options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsugar
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Close to Jack London

Very nice staff & helpful. Close to the A's coliseum, Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

To the baseball game, but BART is a little confusing to an out-of-towner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QOSB
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 11, 2014

Lovely spot in Oakland

We were in Oakland in order to look for housing for our daughter. That process involved driving all over the East Bay area. Each evening we looked forward to returning to our room facing the water and a balcony to catch the sun and fresh air. Being in the heart of Jack London square meant nice walks and convenient restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. EMD
Business
Queens, NY
Jun 23, 2014

Wonderful hotel in Oakand

We had a great stay at this hotel located at Oakland's Jack London Square. The area has a bit more going on compared to when I lived in Oakland back in the 1990s. But there are still a few vacant properties in the pedestrian walkway along the waterfront. Across the street from Yoshi's if you like jazz, a few blocks from Merchant's if you like punk, and a short walk to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paco001
Business
san jose, ca
Jun 9, 2014

Convenient Excellent staff

Hotel is walking distance to Great restaurants and night clubs, Police and security presence is excellent. Yoshi's, Kincaids, and Scotts seafood just to name a few restaurants. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jepper
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 9, 2014

What A Find

The recently completed renovation was very well done. Customer service was A+ and location can't be beat. One of the best quick getaway locations we have found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Jack London Square is full of day and evening activities. Ferry to San Francisco is next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top