$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Washington Inn

3 stars
495 10th st., Oakland, CA 94607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
19 reviews
WAshington Inn

Very good. Stayed two nights. Old hotel, but just fine. Comfortable. First (Saturday) night noisy,... See full review

  • angry nickname lady
  • Sep 9, 2014
Perfect location

I stayed here the last week of February, 2014 while I took the California Bar Exam. The exam is... See full review

  • Bar Taker Ryan
  • Mar 1, 2014
The Washington Inn, a historic landmark in the center of Old Oakland, is a boutique hotel, centrally situated in downtown, across the street from Oakland Convention Center. This charming boutique hotel has been renovated with European inspired architecture and sensual dcor. We will surely pamper your every need with our attentive and personalized service. This hotel has an aura of sophistication and style, which also creates an exciting atmosphere for today's business or leisure traveler who wants something more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Washington Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Washington Inn Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Room with one double bed includes with separate bathroom, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.3 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.3 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Washington Inn Hotel offers 1,600 square feet of space for meetings and receptions. We can also customize your events by tailoring our space and food service menus to your needs. We have the perfect setting for business meetings and private events. Please contact Raj for pricing and availability.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for The Washington Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
angry nickname lady
Business
Poway, CA
Sep 9, 2014

WAshington Inn

Very good. Stayed two nights. Old hotel, but just fine. Comfortable. First (Saturday) night noisy, as hallway noise comes right into your room. Second night just fine. Would stay again with no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Chatel restaurant on the next street over was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katspur
Business
Bay Area , ca
May 7, 2014

So-so

Staff is extremely rude. Walls are thin. Rooms are tiny....etc... But the room was clean and comfortable. Worthy of considering if you get a cheap rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bar Taker Ryan
Business
Dover, NJ
Mar 1, 2014

Perfect location

I stayed here the last week of February, 2014 while I took the California Bar Exam. The exam is administered right across the street so you couldn't ask for a better location. Also, it's substantially more affordable than the other hotels in downtown Oakland, making it a perfect choice for anyone attending an event at the convention center. The rooms are small and there are really no extra amenities, but it gives you everything you need at the most reasonable price in the area. Staff was friendly, no complaints in that department. Overall, this hotel is a great value and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Gabriella's is a block away and a great option for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bchall
Business
montgomery, al
Oct 2, 2013

Washington Inn is Awesome

I stayed at the Washington Inn for three nights from September 28 thru Oct 1, 2013. The hotel is quaint, clean, and stylish. The counter persons, were kind, courteous, helpful, and genuinely pleasant. Thomas went out of his way to address my concerns, ensured my reservation, and held a parking pass for me. Taran was equally as attentive and helpful as was the young man on the evening crew. Even the cleaning staff was overly accommodating. The suite(#406/nice view) was immaculate, reasonably priced at $114, and the air conditioner was full blast cold. The shower, toilet, and the carpet had no visible stains and the bed and bath linen were pristine and clean. There was a minifrig, a microwave, an iron and ironing board, a sofa, and desk and chair. As for the cable lineup, it was more than adequate and the internet worked fine (could be a little faster, but hey, it was free). The continental breakfast (muffins, cereal, orange juice, coffee, toast) was tasty and fresh, each day. For some of the bad reviews I've read on the hotel, nothing could be further from the truth. The staff obviously takes pride in the hotel and it shows. Take it from me....this place is centrally located, professionally staffed, reasonably priced, and exudes a certain charm that put me in the mind of an old Parisian hotel. I simply can't say enough. I will stay here ever time I visit the Bay Area and recommend it to friends and family, for both business and pleasure. As for the neighborhood area, its no more the Washington Inn's problem than it is the Marriott, which is on the same street. Be smart, attentive, and safe whatever city you're visiting, and you'll enjoy your stay. Oakland is no different from San Francisco, New York, Los Angeles, or Atlanta, it's full of people and characters of every type and not without its problems or unique charm. The Washington Inn is a gem, don't miss out by staying at the larger hotel chains.....you simply would have paid too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lake Merritt Bakery. The food is always great, the prices reasonable, and the service with a smile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DDDH
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 24, 2012

DEAFENING music until 2am

Our stay was a Saturday night. There was a big, crowded party in the lobby with deafening techno music. We asked for a quiet room and the guy at front desk gave us a second floor room, whose floor was shaking. There was a stair immediately next to the door from inside and I almost fell to the ground when I first stepped into the room. We asked to switch room, and was sent to a third floor one and we could still feel the floor vibrating and hear the heavy beats of the music. We were told that's the quietest room we could get "because you arrived late." That's ridiculous. Our hotel room floor was shaking not because we arrived late, but because you guys took money to turn the lobby into a mad house, completely ignoring the benefits of the other hotel guests. When I asked when the music would stop, the guys simply said "2am" with a blank face. During the entire encounter with the front desk staff, I didn't heard a single "sorry" about the loud music. That's the worst experience I've had with a hotel stay and we will NEVER consider staying there again. Other aspects: Elevator smells terrible and looks antique and seems to be ready to break down any moment. The room itself is in ok condition, though definitely not kept up well. Linens are clean though. The room smelled badly when we first entered (the AC was off. ) . There was no parking for guests. We had to first park on the parking lot for Smart & Final, which was full of waste papers, plastic bags and other, to the left side of the hotel, and then moved to street parking before 8am so that it wouldn't be towed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Spring, TX
Jun 4, 2011

A very pleasant surprise

Very nice hotel in the middle of Oakland, walking distance to most activities in the inner city. The price was great and the room was clean and nice. Try to stay in 309, a corner room with great views, breeze, and bright! Across the street from expensive hotels so we felt special. Good continental breakfast and very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A Cote was a very nice bar/restaurant that we enjoyed. Eat at the bar and be entertained...it was like being in your neighborhood bar but fabulous wines and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
One
Business
Seattle
May 29, 2011

Needs some repairs

Internet not working and toilet didn't flush, refrigerator not working. Manager argues about my request for an equivalent room. Won't see me again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
May 26, 2011

Great Service, Great Value

Conveniently located. Good value for price. Quiet, clean rooms. Staff was very polite and personable. Basic necessities though -- no pool, no workout facilitiy, no airport shuttle, and the restaurant/lounge had very limited hours. Limited cable channels. Free wireless Internet. Grocery store right next door! Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to BART (subway system) and other means of public transportation. Absolutely no need for a rental car -- none! Easy access to San Francisco area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch,ca
May 13, 2011

Nice getaway

I was getting away for the night to visit with friends in Oakland.The rooms are nice but could have been clean better in the bathroom, there was still hair in bath tub and on the floor looked like some was cutting their hair before my safe there. I really like the location found a lot of places to walk and really enjoyed my getaway visiting friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Washington Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearlake CA
Apr 2, 2011

Nice place

I stayed at this hotel the night before a contractors exam at the federal building. It was quiet and clean. Room service was quick and the food was good. Parking was cheap and I was able to leave my car and walk to my test and get back in time for noon checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top