$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
181 reviews
Good for the Price

We had a one night stay at the hotel. The location is good, being near Jack London Square. The... See full review

  • FKKoe
  • Apr 27, 2014
nice place to stay in downtown Oakland

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and there... See full review

  • Oaklander
  • Jan 30, 2014
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7965 -122.2762
Area served
Oakland
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport
Area description
Just outside our door step we are nestled in the middle of a mix of restaurants and specialty stores, local farmers market, and the world renowned Yoshi's Jazz Club. For the business traveler, our hotel is just minutes from the newly renovated City Hall, Federal and General Services Administration buildings and the downtown Oakland financial district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 181
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sangiovese9
Norman, OK
Jun 26, 2014

Good value near downtown

The reception at midnight was very pleasant and helpful. For its age and use, the hotel has been adequately updated. I thought the $15 8-hour parking was a bit steep especially since the garage was not nearly full. This hotel served its purpose for good value so near downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oaklander
East Bay, Ca
Jun 6, 2014

simple comfort

This is the right place to stay if you want a comfortable, clean experience without having to pay a couple hundred dollars to stay at the Waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

I suggest getting some pie from Buttercup Grill, which is adjacent to the hotel. Their coconut creme pie is to die for.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RolMe
Santa Barbara, CA
May 23, 2014

Motel Where you pay for parking

Expensive for location. My wife would not walk around at night. A glorified motel where you pay for parking. Felt like locked in fortress in bad neighborhood. A good value at half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FKKoe
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2014

Good for the Price

We had a one night stay at the hotel. The location is good, being near Jack London Square. The hotel is nothing fancy, but we found it clean and quiet. An overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buttercup

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattbreso123
san rafael
Feb 13, 2014

need to fix the tvr

Pool sucks, TV sucks, service is ok. They really need to fix these things. The location is convenient though. Also, the buttercup cafe needs to offer. Ore health conscious fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the waterfront hotel instead if you can

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oaklander
East Bay, Ca
Jan 30, 2014

nice place to stay in downtown Oakland

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and there is a decent restaurant attached. The grounds are nice and Ive never had any issues with safety. My only issue is with the hotel staff--very hot and cold. Some folks are lovely and sweet, others rude, short tempered, or simply slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Boyfriend
Oregon
Sep 9, 2013

Just fine, good central location

A little bit shabby, but functional (except when the fuses blew while I was ironing). Helpful staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Juice
oakland
Aug 12, 2013

Hidden tresure

It is in a great location. I was able to book a room last minute with no problems. There was a little eerie feel walking through the parking lot. Maybe some more lights, signs, or staff to give more of a welcoming environment. I was also very fustrated with the shower head. Overall I slept well and had a decent room. The staff was polite and quickly to sum up any questions. I will be going back. It is truely a oakland treasure that needs a little dusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tuesday and Sunday are 5 dollar movie nights at the Jack London movie theater

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kerry McG
Yucaipa, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Scary and noisy!

Area is scary at night. Train doesn't run at night but starts at 6 am and goes off and on all day only a block away. The police and ambulance sirens are even noisier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GH travels
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2012

DON'T STAY HERE IF YOU WANT SLEEP!

My husband and I arrived Saturday afternoon, and it took ten minutes AND our printed confirmation email for the front desk to find the reservation. The room looked nice enough, although there was some mildew in the bathroom, and by the end of our stay the shower had stopped draining completely. We went out to dinner, and when we returned there was a motorcycle gang taking up half of the parking lot that leads into the garage. They soon left the parking lot, but we continued to hear VERY loud motorcycles at least once every three or four minutes (theirs and also the motorcycle cops patrolling the streets) all the way up until 2:30AM. There were also many cars blasting their stereos and people yelling up and down the street. It was IMPOSSIBLE to get any sleep until all the bars had closed for the night, and I was so frustrated that I literally went online at 1:30AM to look at other hotels (even though our reservation was nonrefundable by that point). We stuck it out. Sunday night there were no motorcycles, but the trains proved to be a nuisance. (The station is just a couple blocks away.) By Monday night there were even more, and much louder trains. While not as maddening as the motorcycles, it still had us regretting our decision to book here. Overall, I can say we got almost no sleep the entire time we were there. I would not stay there again, and would not recommend it to my worst enemy. If you decide not to heed the warning, earplugs are an absolute must--although I doubt they would help very much with the motorcycle noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top