$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
132 reviews
Trip to San Francisco

My sister and I stayed at this hotel while were checking a school out in San Francisco. The room... See full review

  • Sarah B.
  • May 6, 2015
One night only

I had a nice stay. In the photos, there are pictures of the pool. While I was there it was being... See full review

  • Hope
  • Apr 6, 2015
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 132
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Don't Believe The Pictures

I was traveling with 3 other adults and we choose this hotel due to the impressive pictures and location to the Oakland airport. However, I will NEVER stay here again. The hotel was nothing great and was poorly located - with a train constantly coming through at all hours and blowing the horn we were all able to get little rest. It became a joke the rest of the weekend how bad of a place this was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wish big
Business
Fremont, California
Nov 26, 2014

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at! Motel 6 is nicer than this place!

I believe it was a towel rack that was missing and we could see the holes in the wall where the rack used to hang. Caulking in bathtub was dirty. They had bell boy racks and the hotel staff just watched as my mom and I struggled to get our luggage to and from the room. Tiny elevator that only the rack would fit in and 1 person. This hotel deserves no stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only plus about our stay was The Fat Lady dining. Great service and excellent food & drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shocked and disappointed
Business
CA
Nov 27, 2011

Bad experience

Hotel staff is friendly and the Inn basic, but clean. However, we had neighbors who left a ringing alarm on starting at 2:30 am. Despite repeated requests from hotel security/front desk, the guests resumed playing the alarm from their occupied room. At 4 am, they woke us by pounding on our hotel room door, frightening us, and impersonating the police. This experience was so bad that we checked out early, losing our prepaid reservation. Despite a call to the manager two days ago, we have yet to hear back-- or receive a refund from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Starshine712
Business
Cheektowaga, NY
Jul 6, 2012

Great location for a overnight stay

We stayed at the Inn overnight so that we can tour San Francisco the next day. The room was very clean and the staff were great. The room was a little dated and the train ran about every five minutes during the night. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buttercup Inn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lzrchk
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Could've been better

Was glad to get a room in the Bay Area this weekend as all my usual hotel choices were sold out. We were greeted by the smell of urine in the lobby, not sure what that was about. The gal at check-in wasn't friendly and when I asked her about the waivers I was signing she wasn't helpful or informed. The room was basic and clean. A plus was the free wi-fi. This hotel is a Motel 6 in disguise. Won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zachary's Pizza! Be prepared to wait 30 minutes or more, but definitely wirth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MissMarni
Business
South of San Jose
Jul 27, 2012

Icy cold pool & parking not included

We went with this hotel instead of the nearby, and slightly more expensive, other hotel. Why? Because this site noted a heated pool and parking fee included in the price. Neither was true. In June, the pool was too cold to use. Parking cost $12 per day. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom of nine.
Business
oakland ca
Oct 16, 2012

leasure

Room was small and smelled of cigarettes. Sheets did not have a fresh clean smell. Location was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BayAreaSurvivor
Business
Fresno CA
May 4, 2009

The picture is better than the experienc

My trip was not the greatest but the Inn was okay - the deal was two nights with an extra night free. You should call the hotel directly and make a deal rather than use Orbitz. Staff was very Friendly and Helpful Room was clean but there was an old whiskey bottle left under one bed. ****IMPORTANT*** I booked this hotel specifically because of the heated pool in the courtyard only to find it was closed all four days we spent there. My kids were disappointed as the Bay Area was too cool for them to swim. I thought about making a complaint with Orbitz but good luck finding a way to make complaints -- furthermore there are some $1 charges from Orbitz to my Credit Card... I'm thinking another well known booking company next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a cafe on the same property that the hotel shares parking with. Your car might get a bump or scratch from others during breakfast or lunch. The cafe is priced a little on the high side - two adults, two children $35. Service was slow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clovis Giants fan
Business
Clovis, Ca
Jun 29, 2014

good location but hotel old

Great location for ferry ride to Giants game, but not very nice accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
noose
Business
Northbrook
May 17, 2015

it hurts

The staff was so nice it hurts to write this. My wife nicknamed me Vinny from movie my cousin Vinny because of train whistles. On line info stated free parking, which was true unless you parked overnight duh, which cost $18. Of course, was told I could park on street overnight and came out to a $66 ticket. The hot water took about 2-3 minutes at least to turn from cold. Not enough and inconveniently located electric outlets. toilet paper was like sandpaper. Threw out wife's almost full bottle of water. Needless to say there were 16.9 oz of water in room for sale $2.75.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top