$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
128 reviews
One night only

I had a nice stay. In the photos, there are pictures of the pool. While I was there it was being... See full review

  • Hope
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great pool area, comfortable room

The pool area was a nice oasis in the heart of Jack London Square (though the pool water... See full review

  • L. Lentilson
  • Sep 25, 2014
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 128
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GH travels
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2012

DON'T STAY HERE IF YOU WANT SLEEP!

My husband and I arrived Saturday afternoon, and it took ten minutes AND our printed confirmation email for the front desk to find the reservation. The room looked nice enough, although there was some mildew in the bathroom, and by the end of our stay the shower had stopped draining completely. We went out to dinner, and when we returned there was a motorcycle gang taking up half of the parking lot that leads into the garage. They soon left the parking lot, but we continued to hear VERY loud motorcycles at least once every three or four minutes (theirs and also the motorcycle cops patrolling the streets) all the way up until 2:30AM. There were also many cars blasting their stereos and people yelling up and down the street. It was IMPOSSIBLE to get any sleep until all the bars had closed for the night, and I was so frustrated that I literally went online at 1:30AM to look at other hotels (even though our reservation was nonrefundable by that point). We stuck it out. Sunday night there were no motorcycles, but the trains proved to be a nuisance. (The station is just a couple blocks away.) By Monday night there were even more, and much louder trains. While not as maddening as the motorcycles, it still had us regretting our decision to book here. Overall, I can say we got almost no sleep the entire time we were there. I would not stay there again, and would not recommend it to my worst enemy. If you decide not to heed the warning, earplugs are an absolute must--although I doubt they would help very much with the motorcycle noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 30, 2007

Untrustworthy, Undesirable & Unsafe

Either cleaning or maintenance staff left our door room open during the day and the door opens out to the outside pool area. Hotel staff was not apologetic. We required security to check it out and were treated as if we were overly afraid and nitpickya. The neighborhood was not desirable. There is a adult theatre on the corner. We called the hotel ahead of time to check if there was a shuttle to the airport in the area or to the BART transit station and was assured there was. When we checked into the hotel they said there was no shuttle to anywhere we wanted to go, including the airport, and that they didn't have a shuttle. I mentioned I had called ahead of time and was informed they did have a shuttle. They then said they had a shuttle but cuoldn't take us to the BART station(6 blocks away), so we asked where it went and then were told there was no shuttle. We couldn't get a straight answer. We were EXTREMELY dissatisfied. The rooms need refurbishing as they are very worn, old and outdated. The only positive thing was that the room was relatively clean, a little dusty around the edges but the bathroom was clean even if some of the fixtures were broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Swoozie
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Basic and satisfactory

This is a no frills hotel a few blocks from Jack London Square. It is an older motel type building which surrounds a nice pool and deck. Thankfully, the windows face the pool and not the street as there were very loud motorcycles that seemed to circe the building into the wee hours of the night. Bonus: Unsecured, free parking is available on a first come, first served basis in the lower level of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the ferry to San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ingeneyes
Business
NYC
Jan 18, 2012

Will someday get it right!

Although neat and clean, the hotel lacked the extra's that would make it special. We had reservations for a week. The only good things are the secured parking lot and attached diner. Maybe we expected more; waited a day for an extra blanket that was requested earlier 2X, didn't get conditioner and had to ask for another tiny shampoo and shower gel. One day the bath mat was there, the next day it wasn't. One day, extra towels, the next only 2. Weekend staff needs training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfasts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
14ffc
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Not up to par

Bathroom dirty, no cups, in room phone would not call out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kerry McG
Business
Yucaipa, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Scary and noisy!

Area is scary at night. Train doesn't run at night but starts at 6 am and goes off and on all day only a block away. The police and ambulance sirens are even noisier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RolMe
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
May 23, 2014

Motel Where you pay for parking

Expensive for location. My wife would not walk around at night. A glorified motel where you pay for parking. Felt like locked in fortress in bad neighborhood. A good value at half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Overnight Experiment

We have family in Alameda and visit often, we thought about trying a different hotel. The room was nice, but the street noise terrible. The guests returning were rude and loud too. It is unfortunate because overall the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 25, 2010

not so nice

I was a bit dissappointed in hotel. The pictures shown on this website were taken quite a while ago. It is a bit rundown for $100 a nite. The picture shown with the boats is no where near the hotel. The add makes it seem like it is right on the water. Also not such a great neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 5, 2009

I'll pass

Sure, the hotel is in a great location (right in Jack London Square) but it was not very clean, quite loud, had mold in the bathroom and was just as expensive as staying in larger, more well-known hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The only good thing about the hotel is it is adjacent to the Buttercup Diner and a short walk from The Fat Lady which are two, great Oakland dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top