$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother in law 1
Business
Oakland, California
May 22, 2012

Family Getaway

The hotel was good location for my son to pick me up he lives close by. The person at the desk did not have the information about room service. The price was less than the hotel I stayed at last time. Went to a my daughtes in-laws commencement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Rob
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 8, 2012

"9YO says: wow.. it's much bigger than it looks at first!"

We were looking for a hotel to stay at while visiting San Francisco, and chose the "Inn at Jack London Square" because the Oakland location would avoid traffic and parking problems, be nearby the BART and hopefully a better value than a similar hotel near the tourist spots we knew we'd be visiting. Although we were a little nervous because of mixed reviews we saw online, as well as an aweful review (we heard after booking) from a friend who had stayed here years ago, we stuck it out -- and I'm glad we did. Here's what we found: - tiny check-in area.. no big deal, right? - ample parking (yay!) @ $12/day - coffee shop 1 block away (yay!) - attached restaurant provides room service, and it was pretty darned tasty with large variety, at below-average prices for a hotel (yay!) - although you can indeed hear train whistles coming from across the other side of the hotel it was really *NOT* a problem for us.. we stayed on the 3rd street side, facing in towards the pool, and unless you're used to the silence of country living, it really was no big deal. - we slept better here than anywhere along our travels this trip so far.. two double-beds were clean (as was the rest of the room) and comfy. WiFi worked great (if you're reading this :-) ) and all was in working order. (our tub did drip slightly, but that didn't cause a problem for us). Windows open and A/C / heating was newer and quiet. - Free shuttle took us to the BART which took us to San Francisco for $3.15, and coming back we just walked from the BART to the hotel.. an easy walk - Tomorrow we check out the good-sized pool which upon my initial toe-dip yesterday felt to be about 65 degrees (maybe warmer.. my toe-mometer isn't 100% accurate ;-) Overall: this place was an OK value for the $$$. We paid about $110/night... I think it's probably closer to a $89/night hotel, but I'm unfamiliar with this market so can't really say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sling4ever
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 15, 2012

Good for Location in Oakland, but...

The Inn itself was between Jack London Square, downtown Oakland and Old Oakland. It was great as far as the location goes. A little bit of a ways from the BART, but there was a shuttle along the main road. The room itself was middle of the road, just enough to have clean set of sheets, quiet time and a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
widj
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 17, 2013

OK business trip

Overall it is a pleasant stay. I may come back for my business trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
banshee123
Business
DC
Jan 26, 2013

business trip

decent hotel with good diner/restaurant connected. Downside: far away from BART station and 20 minute wait for a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mack54
Business
Sacramento
Feb 22, 2013

Not the greatest but not the worst

The walls are little thin and the staff are a little too lethargic it seems like. But the hotel is comfortable for the most part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lina B.
Business
California
Jul 8, 2013

Ordinary hotel

Clean, although small and quite old, room, Nice pool and gym. Unattentive front desk personnel. Close to Bay Bridge. Buttercup café next to the hotel. Expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Francisco and Berkeley

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Boyfriend
Business
Oregon
Sep 9, 2013

Just fine, good central location

A little bit shabby, but functional (except when the fuses blew while I was ironing). Helpful staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orbitzer kibitzer
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Dec 20, 2013

Good affordable choice

The Inn at Jack London Square is a perfectly good place for an overnight stop: clean, comfortable room, stable free wireless, safe parking, and right on the Square with walking distance to restaurants. There's a hotel with a similar name nearby which apparently is not a good place to stay. But this place -- The Inn at JLS -- is fine. Most of the rooms on the second floor were undergoing renovation while I was there, so the hotel is clearly investing in itself. The rooms surround a very large pool deck and a nice-sized pool that kids would love (though I was there on a mid-week overnight in December and there were no families that day). There's a restaurant in the same parking lot -- the Buttercup -- with a diner-style menu. My corned beef hash breakfast was good and the service was friendly. Honestly, if you need a no-frills but comfortable room for the night, you can't go wrong here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oaklander
Business
East Bay, Ca
Jun 6, 2014

simple comfort

This is the right place to stay if you want a comfortable, clean experience without having to pay a couple hundred dollars to stay at the Waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I suggest getting some pie from Buttercup Grill, which is adjacent to the hotel. Their coconut creme pie is to die for.

Back to menu Return to top