$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 5, 2009

I'll pass

Sure, the hotel is in a great location (right in Jack London Square) but it was not very clean, quite loud, had mold in the bathroom and was just as expensive as staying in larger, more well-known hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The only good thing about the hotel is it is adjacent to the Buttercup Diner and a short walk from The Fat Lady which are two, great Oakland dining options.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BayAreaSurvivor
Business
Fresno CA
May 4, 2009

The picture is better than the experienc

My trip was not the greatest but the Inn was okay - the deal was two nights with an extra night free. You should call the hotel directly and make a deal rather than use Orbitz. Staff was very Friendly and Helpful Room was clean but there was an old whiskey bottle left under one bed. ****IMPORTANT*** I booked this hotel specifically because of the heated pool in the courtyard only to find it was closed all four days we spent there. My kids were disappointed as the Bay Area was too cool for them to swim. I thought about making a complaint with Orbitz but good luck finding a way to make complaints -- furthermore there are some $1 charges from Orbitz to my Credit Card... I'm thinking another well known booking company next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a cafe on the same property that the hotel shares parking with. Your car might get a bump or scratch from others during breakfast or lunch. The cafe is priced a little on the high side - two adults, two children $35. Service was slow.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tommy1235
Business
Fresno, California, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Not a good place if you want to sleep

This is a horrible place to stay if you plan to sleep. The railraod tracks are right outside the window. The entire night the train horn was blowing. Shower head is made for people less that 5'5. I'm 5'11 and had to crouch down to wash my hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hiking david
Business
Salinas, Ca
Aug 1, 2010

lackluster, for a big price

Upon arrival, the desk person acted as if my being there were a huge inconvience for her. Why do people who dislike people get these kinds of jobs? There didn't seem to be anyone around and it was VERY quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Five blocks from AMTRAK station.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clovis Giants fan
Business
Clovis, Ca
Jun 29, 2014

good location but hotel old

Great location for ferry ride to Giants game, but not very nice accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
noose
Business
Northbrook
May 17, 2015

it hurts

The staff was so nice it hurts to write this. My wife nicknamed me Vinny from movie my cousin Vinny because of train whistles. On line info stated free parking, which was true unless you parked overnight duh, which cost $18. Of course, was told I could park on street overnight and came out to a $66 ticket. The hot water took about 2-3 minutes at least to turn from cold. Not enough and inconveniently located electric outlets. toilet paper was like sandpaper. Threw out wife's almost full bottle of water. Needless to say there were 16.9 oz of water in room for sale $2.75.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattbreso123
Business
san rafael
Feb 13, 2014

need to fix the tvr

Pool sucks, TV sucks, service is ok. They really need to fix these things. The location is convenient though. Also, the buttercup cafe needs to offer. Ore health conscious fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the waterfront hotel instead if you can

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G2MM
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 15, 2014

Quick Trip

This hotel was fine for my needs. Rooms are clean and fine. Free shuttle on Broadway really helps getting around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family event
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Met our needs

It was close to all venues for our family oriented trip and has easy access to the freeways. This is the second time we've used this hotel and will likely use it again. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. The room was basic but comfortable. We had a problem with plumbing but notified the desk and it was promptly seen to and the carpet in our room was dingy. The room itself was well kept. The hotel has features that we did not explore, ie., pool & fitness center but we don't spend a lot of time in our hotel room when we travel. The covered, well lighted parking is a plus as well as a security door from the garage into the hotel proper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is next door to the Buttercup Restaurant, an easy choice for breakfast on the way out to do other things. There are some great restaurants, bakery, music etc., in Jack London Square just 2 short blocks from the hotel--that close to the waterfront!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother in law 1
Business
Oakland, California
May 22, 2012

Family Getaway

The hotel was good location for my son to pick me up he lives close by. The person at the desk did not have the information about room service. The price was less than the hotel I stayed at last time. Went to a my daughtes in-laws commencement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top