$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 5, 2009

I'll pass

Sure, the hotel is in a great location (right in Jack London Square) but it was not very clean, quite loud, had mold in the bathroom and was just as expensive as staying in larger, more well-known hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The only good thing about the hotel is it is adjacent to the Buttercup Diner and a short walk from The Fat Lady which are two, great Oakland dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BayAreaSurvivor
Business
Fresno CA
May 4, 2009

The picture is better than the experienc

My trip was not the greatest but the Inn was okay - the deal was two nights with an extra night free. You should call the hotel directly and make a deal rather than use Orbitz. Staff was very Friendly and Helpful Room was clean but there was an old whiskey bottle left under one bed. ****IMPORTANT*** I booked this hotel specifically because of the heated pool in the courtyard only to find it was closed all four days we spent there. My kids were disappointed as the Bay Area was too cool for them to swim. I thought about making a complaint with Orbitz but good luck finding a way to make complaints -- furthermore there are some $1 charges from Orbitz to my Credit Card... I'm thinking another well known booking company next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a cafe on the same property that the hotel shares parking with. Your car might get a bump or scratch from others during breakfast or lunch. The cafe is priced a little on the high side - two adults, two children $35. Service was slow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tommy1235
Business
Fresno, California, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Not a good place if you want to sleep

This is a horrible place to stay if you plan to sleep. The railraod tracks are right outside the window. The entire night the train horn was blowing. Shower head is made for people less that 5'5. I'm 5'11 and had to crouch down to wash my hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hiking david
Business
Salinas, Ca
Aug 1, 2010

lackluster, for a big price

Upon arrival, the desk person acted as if my being there were a huge inconvience for her. Why do people who dislike people get these kinds of jobs? There didn't seem to be anyone around and it was VERY quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Five blocks from AMTRAK station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clovis Giants fan
Business
Clovis, Ca
Jun 29, 2014

good location but hotel old

Great location for ferry ride to Giants game, but not very nice accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattbreso123
Business
san rafael
Feb 13, 2014

need to fix the tvr

Pool sucks, TV sucks, service is ok. They really need to fix these things. The location is convenient though. Also, the buttercup cafe needs to offer. Ore health conscious fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the waterfront hotel instead if you can

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G2MM
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 15, 2014

Quick Trip

This hotel was fine for my needs. Rooms are clean and fine. Free shuttle on Broadway really helps getting around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family event
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Met our needs

It was close to all venues for our family oriented trip and has easy access to the freeways. This is the second time we've used this hotel and will likely use it again. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. The room was basic but comfortable. We had a problem with plumbing but notified the desk and it was promptly seen to and the carpet in our room was dingy. The room itself was well kept. The hotel has features that we did not explore, ie., pool & fitness center but we don't spend a lot of time in our hotel room when we travel. The covered, well lighted parking is a plus as well as a security door from the garage into the hotel proper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is next door to the Buttercup Restaurant, an easy choice for breakfast on the way out to do other things. There are some great restaurants, bakery, music etc., in Jack London Square just 2 short blocks from the hotel--that close to the waterfront!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother in law 1
Business
Oakland, California
May 22, 2012

Family Getaway

The hotel was good location for my son to pick me up he lives close by. The person at the desk did not have the information about room service. The price was less than the hotel I stayed at last time. Went to a my daughtes in-laws commencement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Rob
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 8, 2012

"9YO says: wow.. it's much bigger than it looks at first!"

We were looking for a hotel to stay at while visiting San Francisco, and chose the "Inn at Jack London Square" because the Oakland location would avoid traffic and parking problems, be nearby the BART and hopefully a better value than a similar hotel near the tourist spots we knew we'd be visiting. Although we were a little nervous because of mixed reviews we saw online, as well as an aweful review (we heard after booking) from a friend who had stayed here years ago, we stuck it out -- and I'm glad we did. Here's what we found: - tiny check-in area.. no big deal, right? - ample parking (yay!) @ $12/day - coffee shop 1 block away (yay!) - attached restaurant provides room service, and it was pretty darned tasty with large variety, at below-average prices for a hotel (yay!) - although you can indeed hear train whistles coming from across the other side of the hotel it was really *NOT* a problem for us.. we stayed on the 3rd street side, facing in towards the pool, and unless you're used to the silence of country living, it really was no big deal. - we slept better here than anywhere along our travels this trip so far.. two double-beds were clean (as was the rest of the room) and comfy. WiFi worked great (if you're reading this :-) ) and all was in working order. (our tub did drip slightly, but that didn't cause a problem for us). Windows open and A/C / heating was newer and quiet. - Free shuttle took us to the BART which took us to San Francisco for $3.15, and coming back we just walked from the BART to the hotel.. an easy walk - Tomorrow we check out the good-sized pool which upon my initial toe-dip yesterday felt to be about 65 degrees (maybe warmer.. my toe-mometer isn't 100% accurate ;-) Overall: this place was an OK value for the $$$. We paid about $110/night... I think it's probably closer to a $89/night hotel, but I'm unfamiliar with this market so can't really say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top