$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Starshine712
Business
Cheektowaga, NY
Jul 6, 2012

Great location for a overnight stay

We stayed at the Inn overnight so that we can tour San Francisco the next day. The room was very clean and the staff were great. The room was a little dated and the train ran about every five minutes during the night. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buttercup Inn

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lzrchk
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Could've been better

Was glad to get a room in the Bay Area this weekend as all my usual hotel choices were sold out. We were greeted by the smell of urine in the lobby, not sure what that was about. The gal at check-in wasn't friendly and when I asked her about the waivers I was signing she wasn't helpful or informed. The room was basic and clean. A plus was the free wi-fi. This hotel is a Motel 6 in disguise. Won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zachary's Pizza! Be prepared to wait 30 minutes or more, but definitely wirth it.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MissMarni
Business
South of San Jose
Jul 27, 2012

Icy cold pool & parking not included

We went with this hotel instead of the nearby, and slightly more expensive, other hotel. Why? Because this site noted a heated pool and parking fee included in the price. Neither was true. In June, the pool was too cold to use. Parking cost $12 per day. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom of nine.
Business
oakland ca
Oct 16, 2012

leasure

Room was small and smelled of cigarettes. Sheets did not have a fresh clean smell. Location was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kerry McG
Business
Yucaipa, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Scary and noisy!

Area is scary at night. Train doesn't run at night but starts at 6 am and goes off and on all day only a block away. The police and ambulance sirens are even noisier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Portland gal
Business
Portland OR
Jan 21, 2013

Past it's prime

Staff friendly; shower worn (sliding glass door fell off track, shower head looks like it used to have variable stream but adjuster broke off, soap holder so tilted that can't hold soap); safety chain on door inoperable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super GDO
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 11, 2013

Trains, trains, trains

Take your ear plugs. There are trains that run continuously just one block so take your ear plugs! Also, the king size mattress needs to be replaced as both sides of the bed have a HUGE indentation where your butt goes; you can only sleep in the middle of the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5-6 restaurants. New pizza joint called the Forge, GREAT pizza!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RolMe
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
May 23, 2014

Motel Where you pay for parking

Expensive for location. My wife would not walk around at night. A glorified motel where you pay for parking. Felt like locked in fortress in bad neighborhood. A good value at half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Overnight Experiment

We have family in Alameda and visit often, we thought about trying a different hotel. The room was nice, but the street noise terrible. The guests returning were rude and loud too. It is unfortunate because overall the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 25, 2010

not so nice

I was a bit dissappointed in hotel. The pictures shown on this website were taken quite a while ago. It is a bit rundown for $100 a nite. The picture shown with the boats is no where near the hotel. The add makes it seem like it is right on the water. Also not such a great neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top