The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
121 reviews
Great pool area, comfortable room

The pool area was a nice oasis in the heart of Jack London Square (though the pool water... See full review

  • L. Lentilson
  • Sep 25, 2014
Easy access to Jack London Square

We had wonderful experience. Pool area was well kept. Everything was clean and the service top notch. See full review

  • Hammer55
  • Jul 30, 2014
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.7965 -122.2762
Area served
Oakland
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport
Area description
Just outside our door step we are nestled in the middle of a mix of restaurants and specialty stores, local farmers market, and the world renowned Yoshi's Jazz Club. For the business traveler, our hotel is just minutes from the newly renovated City Hall, Federal and General Services Administration buildings and the downtown Oakland financial district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GH travels
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2012

DON'T STAY HERE IF YOU WANT SLEEP!

My husband and I arrived Saturday afternoon, and it took ten minutes AND our printed confirmation email for the front desk to find the reservation. The room looked nice enough, although there was some mildew in the bathroom, and by the end of our stay the shower had stopped draining completely. We went out to dinner, and when we returned there was a motorcycle gang taking up half of the parking lot that leads into the garage. They soon left the parking lot, but we continued to hear VERY loud motorcycles at least once every three or four minutes (theirs and also the motorcycle cops patrolling the streets) all the way up until 2:30AM. There were also many cars blasting their stereos and people yelling up and down the street. It was IMPOSSIBLE to get any sleep until all the bars had closed for the night, and I was so frustrated that I literally went online at 1:30AM to look at other hotels (even though our reservation was nonrefundable by that point). We stuck it out. Sunday night there were no motorcycles, but the trains proved to be a nuisance. (The station is just a couple blocks away.) By Monday night there were even more, and much louder trains. While not as maddening as the motorcycles, it still had us regretting our decision to book here. Overall, I can say we got almost no sleep the entire time we were there. I would not stay there again, and would not recommend it to my worst enemy. If you decide not to heed the warning, earplugs are an absolute must--although I doubt they would help very much with the motorcycle noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 30, 2007

Untrustworthy, Undesirable & Unsafe

Either cleaning or maintenance staff left our door room open during the day and the door opens out to the outside pool area. Hotel staff was not apologetic. We required security to check it out and were treated as if we were overly afraid and nitpickya. The neighborhood was not desirable. There is a adult theatre on the corner. We called the hotel ahead of time to check if there was a shuttle to the airport in the area or to the BART transit station and was assured there was. When we checked into the hotel they said there was no shuttle to anywhere we wanted to go, including the airport, and that they didn't have a shuttle. I mentioned I had called ahead of time and was informed they did have a shuttle. They then said they had a shuttle but cuoldn't take us to the BART station(6 blocks away), so we asked where it went and then were told there was no shuttle. We couldn't get a straight answer. We were EXTREMELY dissatisfied. The rooms need refurbishing as they are very worn, old and outdated. The only positive thing was that the room was relatively clean, a little dusty around the edges but the bathroom was clean even if some of the fixtures were broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Don't Believe The Pictures

I was traveling with 3 other adults and we choose this hotel due to the impressive pictures and location to the Oakland airport. However, I will NEVER stay here again. The hotel was nothing great and was poorly located - with a train constantly coming through at all hours and blowing the horn we were all able to get little rest. It became a joke the rest of the weekend how bad of a place this was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent road warrier for business
Business
Minneapolis
Feb 26, 2011

Not so good

Hotel has seen better days and was a bit creepy; somewhat smelly; and cheap. I had flight problems and ended up paying for a night i didn't stay, yet when i called to tell them i'd be late, they were just rude--place had that desserted past prime feel. Room itself was mostly clean, although the carpet was scary to walk barefoot on, towels and sheets seemed good. Very cheap on the incidentals--despite asking for extra coffeee (they provide ONE cup!), it was never provided; etc. would not stay here again. Internet did NOT work and that is a main reason for picking hotels for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VALLEJO CALIFORNIA
Aug 10, 2010

JUST PLAIN UGLY!!!

THE FIRST ROOM HAD WET CARPET AND SMELL LIKE WET A WET DOG. THE NEXT ROOM HAD FILTHY CARPET AND A CHAIR THAT LOOKED AS IF SOMEONE HAD URINATED ON IT. THERE WAS A WATER LOGGED PORTION OF THE WALL IN THE BATHROOM AND PIECES OF PAINT AND WOOD CHIPS WERE FALLING OFF OF IT. THE STAFF NEVER CALLED ME BACK WHEN I ASKED FOR ANOTHER ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wish big
Business
Fremont, California
Nov 26, 2014

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at! Motel 6 is nicer than this place!

I believe it was a towel rack that was missing and we could see the holes in the wall where the rack used to hang. Caulking in bathtub was dirty. They had bell boy racks and the hotel staff just watched as my mom and I struggled to get our luggage to and from the room. Tiny elevator that only the rack would fit in and 1 person. This hotel deserves no stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only plus about our stay was The Fat Lady dining. Great service and excellent food & drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Swoozie
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Basic and satisfactory

This is a no frills hotel a few blocks from Jack London Square. It is an older motel type building which surrounds a nice pool and deck. Thankfully, the windows face the pool and not the street as there were very loud motorcycles that seemed to circe the building into the wee hours of the night. Bonus: Unsecured, free parking is available on a first come, first served basis in the lower level of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the ferry to San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shocked and disappointed
Business
CA
Nov 27, 2011

Bad experience

Hotel staff is friendly and the Inn basic, but clean. However, we had neighbors who left a ringing alarm on starting at 2:30 am. Despite repeated requests from hotel security/front desk, the guests resumed playing the alarm from their occupied room. At 4 am, they woke us by pounding on our hotel room door, frightening us, and impersonating the police. This experience was so bad that we checked out early, losing our prepaid reservation. Despite a call to the manager two days ago, we have yet to hear back-- or receive a refund from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ingeneyes
Business
NYC
Jan 18, 2012

Will someday get it right!

Although neat and clean, the hotel lacked the extra's that would make it special. We had reservations for a week. The only good things are the secured parking lot and attached diner. Maybe we expected more; waited a day for an extra blanket that was requested earlier 2X, didn't get conditioner and had to ask for another tiny shampoo and shower gel. One day the bath mat was there, the next day it wasn't. One day, extra towels, the next only 2. Weekend staff needs training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfasts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
14ffc
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Not up to par

Bathroom dirty, no cups, in room phone would not call out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top