$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
125 reviews
Great pool area, comfortable room

The pool area was a nice oasis in the heart of Jack London Square (though the pool water... See full review

  • L. Lentilson
  • Sep 25, 2014
Fun vacation!

The hotel was great! We couldn't stay in SF due to several conferences booking up all affordable... See full review

  • Meatball Mpls
  • Dec 30, 2014
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgeroge
YC
Feb 15, 2013

Concert

Good price. second stay here. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Bay
Oct 13, 2010

Convenient location!

Efficient, friendly staff. All was ready when we arrived. Only drawback was noise from room directly above us (someone was walking with a heavy gait back and forth frequently for most of the evening). Once we fell into our slumber, we slept comfortably until the morning. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the amenities: fitness center and pool. Great that the nearby restaurant opens early (6 am) and closes later than most (11 pm).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We like to be able to walk for meals. Once the car is parked, we leave it until our departure. This hotel's location accommodates in many ways as there are several restaurants nearby from which to choose (even vegan right across the street, although it was closed during our overnight stay).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Oct 11, 2010

Inn at Jack London Square

Needed a place to stay before flying. Room was old and not ready when i checked in which was late. Works if you absolutely just need a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

First and last chance saloon, HEINHOLDS. History, great beer, awesome service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liljol
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 5, 2010

Good value and location

While I didn't spend that much time in my room, it was worth every cent. Complimentary WiFi was a big reason for my choosing The Inn at Jack London Square and it worked well. The co-located Buttercup Grill has a wide selection of offerings at good prices. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Jack London Square and the surrounding area up and down Broadway provided enough dining options to satisfy most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean Shores, WA
Oct 3, 2010

Good for the price

We were happy with the little hotel near Jack London Square. The desk clerk, Barbara, was especially helpful with reservations that had gone awry. A free bus across the street took us to BART. Then it was a short ride into San Francisco. There is a great restaurant, the Buttercup, right next door. Good food and reasonable prices. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 1, 2010

Great value, good location

This hotel was clean and comfortable; the staff was very friendly. We had only one "swimming" day and we had the large pool all to ourselves. Parking spaces are tight and you won't find one when you come back late when the hotel is booked full up. It was a short walk to the ferry and only a 10-minute walk to the BART station. I felt very comfortable walking from the BART station at night with my wife and 9-year old. The restaurant next door was great for breakfast (good service and very tasty) and there was a decent barbecue restaurant a block away. I recommend staying here and I would definitely stay here again when I visit the area. Getting on and off the freeways is nasty! Signage is terrible! Traffic is heavy and backed up during all rush hours. The HOV lane is much faster. Bring lots of small bills for bridge tolls; the actual and posted price isn't always the same, or what you'd expect. Also FYI, you can only use your credit card once in 24 hours to purchase BART tickets (a security thing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teryjaki
Business
Inland Empire, CA
Sep 7, 2010

Inn at Jack London Square Review

We were looking for a clean, modest, quiet room that was nearby labor day activities in the S.F. bay area. It is an older inn that has been renovated and is comfortable.I asked for a rollaway bed for my child and the room was too small for it to fold out. I told the staff and the first night they put my child in a vacant room. The next day they did nothing to solve the problem and we just shared a bed. I was a bit disappointed about that but otherwise it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt from Sac
Business
Sacramento CA
Aug 31, 2010

Great Room, Great Location, Great Price

We stayed here to attend the Eat Real Festival in Jack London Square. Gourmet Food Trucks and tons of resraunts showing what they can do, both in creativity and more importantly, sustainable and healthy green alternitives. Grass Feed Beef, bio-degradable serving dishes and utensils, Great food, great learning and great BEER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are into BBQ Everett and Jones is less than a block away, and if your into the southern comfort food scene the Home of Chicken and Waffles is less than two blocks. Great micro Brew beer at Beer Revolution across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
prego couple
Business
santa rosa, ca
Aug 30, 2010

great beds

wish i could have stayed another night.. got in late and had to leave early next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San leandro, ca
Aug 25, 2010

nice inn for economic traveler.

I think the price for the confirtable and location is very idea place have a night rest, starts another new day. personal recommend this inn for traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Aug 23, 2010

good for the price...

It is a perfectly good low cost hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top