$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evv126
Business
Whittier california
Aug 29, 2012

Family vacation

I really was amazed at this hotel it was good a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant next to the hotel had great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Rob
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 8, 2012

"9YO says: wow.. it's much bigger than it looks at first!"

We were looking for a hotel to stay at while visiting San Francisco, and chose the "Inn at Jack London Square" because the Oakland location would avoid traffic and parking problems, be nearby the BART and hopefully a better value than a similar hotel near the tourist spots we knew we'd be visiting. Although we were a little nervous because of mixed reviews we saw online, as well as an aweful review (we heard after booking) from a friend who had stayed here years ago, we stuck it out -- and I'm glad we did. Here's what we found: - tiny check-in area.. no big deal, right? - ample parking (yay!) @ $12/day - coffee shop 1 block away (yay!) - attached restaurant provides room service, and it was pretty darned tasty with large variety, at below-average prices for a hotel (yay!) - although you can indeed hear train whistles coming from across the other side of the hotel it was really *NOT* a problem for us.. we stayed on the 3rd street side, facing in towards the pool, and unless you're used to the silence of country living, it really was no big deal. - we slept better here than anywhere along our travels this trip so far.. two double-beds were clean (as was the rest of the room) and comfy. WiFi worked great (if you're reading this :-) ) and all was in working order. (our tub did drip slightly, but that didn't cause a problem for us). Windows open and A/C / heating was newer and quiet. - Free shuttle took us to the BART which took us to San Francisco for $3.15, and coming back we just walked from the BART to the hotel.. an easy walk - Tomorrow we check out the good-sized pool which upon my initial toe-dip yesterday felt to be about 65 degrees (maybe warmer.. my toe-mometer isn't 100% accurate ;-) Overall: this place was an OK value for the $$$. We paid about $110/night... I think it's probably closer to a $89/night hotel, but I'm unfamiliar with this market so can't really say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoDono
Business
New York, NY
Aug 7, 2012

Great Oakland stay

Last year we needed somewhere for my parents to stay for a last minute situation. We enjoyed the location and pool, so this year when we needed somewhere to go with them and some nephews, we opted to come back. A couple breakfasts at the Buttercup Grill, delicious dinner across the street at Everett and Jones BBQ, Jack London Sq., Old Oakland, Chinatown (Mom's favorite), running to and around Lake Merritt! All wonderful. The cleaning staff where very helpful and friendly. We used the exercise room quite a bit too. Great value. Last year we had free parking though - otherwise would have given it a 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown! Old Oakland Farmer's Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lzrchk
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Could've been better

Was glad to get a room in the Bay Area this weekend as all my usual hotel choices were sold out. We were greeted by the smell of urine in the lobby, not sure what that was about. The gal at check-in wasn't friendly and when I asked her about the waivers I was signing she wasn't helpful or informed. The room was basic and clean. A plus was the free wi-fi. This hotel is a Motel 6 in disguise. Won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zachary's Pizza! Be prepared to wait 30 minutes or more, but definitely wirth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MissMarni
Business
South of San Jose
Jul 27, 2012

Icy cold pool & parking not included

We went with this hotel instead of the nearby, and slightly more expensive, other hotel. Why? Because this site noted a heated pool and parking fee included in the price. Neither was true. In June, the pool was too cold to use. Parking cost $12 per day. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica335
Business
Fort Bragg, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Great but hiking involved.

Awesome but 3rd floor was hot and our room was the hardest to get to. We loved the cleanliness, the pool, the locale. Might not go back again but that doesn't mean you shouldn't!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Starshine712
Business
Cheektowaga, NY
Jul 6, 2012

Great location for a overnight stay

We stayed at the Inn overnight so that we can tour San Francisco the next day. The room was very clean and the staff were great. The room was a little dated and the train ran about every five minutes during the night. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buttercup Inn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kawther
Business
oakland, california
Jun 1, 2012

hotel revie

it was great. didn't like the surroundings very much but the hotel itself was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother in law 1
Business
Oakland, California
May 22, 2012

Family Getaway

The hotel was good location for my son to pick me up he lives close by. The person at the desk did not have the information about room service. The price was less than the hotel I stayed at last time. Went to a my daughtes in-laws commencement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GH travels
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2012

DON'T STAY HERE IF YOU WANT SLEEP!

My husband and I arrived Saturday afternoon, and it took ten minutes AND our printed confirmation email for the front desk to find the reservation. The room looked nice enough, although there was some mildew in the bathroom, and by the end of our stay the shower had stopped draining completely. We went out to dinner, and when we returned there was a motorcycle gang taking up half of the parking lot that leads into the garage. They soon left the parking lot, but we continued to hear VERY loud motorcycles at least once every three or four minutes (theirs and also the motorcycle cops patrolling the streets) all the way up until 2:30AM. There were also many cars blasting their stereos and people yelling up and down the street. It was IMPOSSIBLE to get any sleep until all the bars had closed for the night, and I was so frustrated that I literally went online at 1:30AM to look at other hotels (even though our reservation was nonrefundable by that point). We stuck it out. Sunday night there were no motorcycles, but the trains proved to be a nuisance. (The station is just a couple blocks away.) By Monday night there were even more, and much louder trains. While not as maddening as the motorcycles, it still had us regretting our decision to book here. Overall, I can say we got almost no sleep the entire time we were there. I would not stay there again, and would not recommend it to my worst enemy. If you decide not to heed the warning, earplugs are an absolute must--although I doubt they would help very much with the motorcycle noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top