$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSWT
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Great leisurely getaway

I booked this hotel because of the close proximity to a business venue that I was attending, and because of the fine dining area near the port and view of the bay. The room was very quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very curteous and the ease of parking for patrons made so simple to come and go as necessary. I definitelyplan to return for a weekend of pure leisure and dining devoid of business. Thanks to the staff for all you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kerry McG
Couples
Yucaipa, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Scary and noisy!

Area is scary at night. Train doesn't run at night but starts at 6 am and goes off and on all day only a block away. The police and ambulance sirens are even noisier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kraftygram
Family
Sacramento, California
Dec 29, 2012

Oakland Experience

Good location right at Jack London Square and near great restaurants. Rooms were clean and comfortable. A short, easy drive to BART or take the shuttle. $14.00/day parking fee is not mentioned on the website!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom of nine.
Family
oakland ca
Oct 16, 2012

leasure

Room was small and smelled of cigarettes. Sheets did not have a fresh clean smell. Location was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sling4ever
Single
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 15, 2012

Good for Location in Oakland, but...

The Inn itself was between Jack London Square, downtown Oakland and Old Oakland. It was great as far as the location goes. A little bit of a ways from the BART, but there was a shuttle along the main road. The room itself was middle of the road, just enough to have clean set of sheets, quiet time and a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evv126
Family
Whittier california
Aug 29, 2012

Family vacation

I really was amazed at this hotel it was good a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant next to the hotel had great service.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Rob
Family
Buffalo, NY
Aug 8, 2012

"9YO says: wow.. it's much bigger than it looks at first!"

We were looking for a hotel to stay at while visiting San Francisco, and chose the "Inn at Jack London Square" because the Oakland location would avoid traffic and parking problems, be nearby the BART and hopefully a better value than a similar hotel near the tourist spots we knew we'd be visiting. Although we were a little nervous because of mixed reviews we saw online, as well as an aweful review (we heard after booking) from a friend who had stayed here years ago, we stuck it out -- and I'm glad we did. Here's what we found: - tiny check-in area.. no big deal, right? - ample parking (yay!) @ $12/day - coffee shop 1 block away (yay!) - attached restaurant provides room service, and it was pretty darned tasty with large variety, at below-average prices for a hotel (yay!) - although you can indeed hear train whistles coming from across the other side of the hotel it was really *NOT* a problem for us.. we stayed on the 3rd street side, facing in towards the pool, and unless you're used to the silence of country living, it really was no big deal. - we slept better here than anywhere along our travels this trip so far.. two double-beds were clean (as was the rest of the room) and comfy. WiFi worked great (if you're reading this :-) ) and all was in working order. (our tub did drip slightly, but that didn't cause a problem for us). Windows open and A/C / heating was newer and quiet. - Free shuttle took us to the BART which took us to San Francisco for $3.15, and coming back we just walked from the BART to the hotel.. an easy walk - Tomorrow we check out the good-sized pool which upon my initial toe-dip yesterday felt to be about 65 degrees (maybe warmer.. my toe-mometer isn't 100% accurate ;-) Overall: this place was an OK value for the $$$. We paid about $110/night... I think it's probably closer to a $89/night hotel, but I'm unfamiliar with this market so can't really say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoDono
Family
New York, NY
Aug 7, 2012

Great Oakland stay

Last year we needed somewhere for my parents to stay for a last minute situation. We enjoyed the location and pool, so this year when we needed somewhere to go with them and some nephews, we opted to come back. A couple breakfasts at the Buttercup Grill, delicious dinner across the street at Everett and Jones BBQ, Jack London Sq., Old Oakland, Chinatown (Mom's favorite), running to and around Lake Merritt! All wonderful. The cleaning staff where very helpful and friendly. We used the exercise room quite a bit too. Great value. Last year we had free parking though - otherwise would have given it a 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown! Old Oakland Farmer's Market.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lzrchk
Family
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Could've been better

Was glad to get a room in the Bay Area this weekend as all my usual hotel choices were sold out. We were greeted by the smell of urine in the lobby, not sure what that was about. The gal at check-in wasn't friendly and when I asked her about the waivers I was signing she wasn't helpful or informed. The room was basic and clean. A plus was the free wi-fi. This hotel is a Motel 6 in disguise. Won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zachary's Pizza! Be prepared to wait 30 minutes or more, but definitely wirth it.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MissMarni
Family
South of San Jose
Jul 27, 2012

Icy cold pool & parking not included

We went with this hotel instead of the nearby, and slightly more expensive, other hotel. Why? Because this site noted a heated pool and parking fee included in the price. Neither was true. In June, the pool was too cold to use. Parking cost $12 per day. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top