$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oaklander
Couples
East Bay, Ca
Jun 6, 2014

simple comfort

This is the right place to stay if you want a comfortable, clean experience without having to pay a couple hundred dollars to stay at the Waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

I suggest getting some pie from Buttercup Grill, which is adjacent to the hotel. Their coconut creme pie is to die for.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RolMe
Couples
Santa Barbara, CA
May 23, 2014

Motel Where you pay for parking

Expensive for location. My wife would not walk around at night. A glorified motel where you pay for parking. Felt like locked in fortress in bad neighborhood. A good value at half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FKKoe
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2014

Good for the Price

We had a one night stay at the hotel. The location is good, being near Jack London Square. The hotel is nothing fancy, but we found it clean and quiet. An overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buttercup

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay from Illinois
Business
Oakland, Calif
Mar 29, 2014

Wonderful Experience

Recently my job re located me to the Oakland area. While seeking permanent living quarters I stayed in this hotel for over a month and loved every moment. The hotel housekeeping was excellent! Management and the staff was absolutely wonderful. The price is very reasonable. The hotel is centrally located to all types of very nice restaurants, theatres, clubs, waterfront, shopping, etc. I felt safe and secured. Close to rapid transit systems, freeways, etc. The restaurant next to the hotel was ideal as well (i.e., good tasty food, variety menu & reasonably priced). I highly recommend the hotel to anyone that's seeking a hotel to stay inn while visiting the bay area. By the way, I must admit I'm a very picky individual when it comes to where I stay and the food I choose to eat!!l

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G2MM
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 15, 2014

Quick Trip

This hotel was fine for my needs. Rooms are clean and fine. Free shuttle on Broadway really helps getting around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattbreso123
Couples
san rafael
Feb 13, 2014

need to fix the tvr

Pool sucks, TV sucks, service is ok. They really need to fix these things. The location is convenient though. Also, the buttercup cafe needs to offer. Ore health conscious fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the waterfront hotel instead if you can

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oaklander
Couples
East Bay, Ca
Jan 30, 2014

nice place to stay in downtown Oakland

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and there is a decent restaurant attached. The grounds are nice and Ive never had any issues with safety. My only issue is with the hotel staff--very hot and cold. Some folks are lovely and sweet, others rude, short tempered, or simply slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orbitzer kibitzer
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Dec 20, 2013

Good affordable choice

The Inn at Jack London Square is a perfectly good place for an overnight stop: clean, comfortable room, stable free wireless, safe parking, and right on the Square with walking distance to restaurants. There's a hotel with a similar name nearby which apparently is not a good place to stay. But this place -- The Inn at JLS -- is fine. Most of the rooms on the second floor were undergoing renovation while I was there, so the hotel is clearly investing in itself. The rooms surround a very large pool deck and a nice-sized pool that kids would love (though I was there on a mid-week overnight in December and there were no families that day). There's a restaurant in the same parking lot -- the Buttercup -- with a diner-style menu. My corned beef hash breakfast was good and the service was friendly. Honestly, if you need a no-frills but comfortable room for the night, you can't go wrong here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetgrl
Family
Riverside, CA
Oct 8, 2013

Fun weekend!

For the price the room was great, very clean, staff was very friendly. Lots to do at Jack London Square, and lots of places to eat also.. They have the Farmer's Market on Sunday's, lots of great things to get buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Boyfriend
Couples
Oregon
Sep 9, 2013

Just fine, good central location

A little bit shabby, but functional (except when the fuses blew while I was ironing). Helpful staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top