$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Oakland Marriott City Center

4 stars
1001 Broadway, 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
35 reviews
Great location!

We enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff was exceptional, the room was very comfortable, and... See full review

  • Leslee's on the road
  • Aug 6, 2013
wonderful spring break

Really good good location super clean good stuff Good value See full review

  • Andrea monita
  • Apr 1, 2013
Upscale hotel with modern appointments in downtown Oakland

The Oakland Marriott City Center, a AAA three diamond-rated property, sits in the heart of downtown Oakland near Jack London Square, Chinatown and Lake Merritt with BART directly across the street for easy travel into San Francisco. The Oakland Marriott City Center offers on-site parking (fees apply) and offers a fitness center and outdoor heated pool. With 89,000 square feet of meeting space, the Oakland Marriott City Center offers upscale accommodations perfect for any conference setting.

Highlights
  • AAA three diamond rating
  • Downtown Oakland location
  • Level Two restaurant for contemporary sharable plates
  • 89,000 square feet of meeting space and 37 meeting rooms
  • Fitness room and outdoor heated pool
Rooms

With 476 rooms (eight of which are suites), the Oakland Marriott City Center offers guests comfortable, upscale lodging in the heart of downtown Oakland. All rooms, featuring whitewashed walls with splashes of orange and red, have views of Lake Merritt or the San Francisco Bay. Guests sleep comfortably in the plush bedding with luxe linens and cozy duvets. Rooms feature 27-inch TVs with premium cable and pay-per-view movies. Connect wirelessly to the Internet (fees apply) while sitting in an oversized workstation with ergonomic chair. Guests on the concierge level enjoy free snacks between 6:30 a.m. and 10 p.m. on weekdays.

Features

The Oakland Marriott City Center sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering easy access to great attractions like Lake Merritt, Jack London Square, Berkeley and San Francisco. Dine at Level Two, a contemporary eatery featuring sharable small plates and an extensive wine list or have cocktails in Twelve Bars Lounge, where guests can also enjoy dinner. Swim in the heated outdoor pool or work out in the on-site fitness center. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and the hotel has 89,000 square feet of conference space.

Transportation
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street Oakland BART (across street)
  • Oakland International Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Oakland Chinatown (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Jack London Square (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Chez Panisse (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • UC Berkeley (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • 89,000 square feet of business space with 37 meeting rooms
  • Full-service business center
  • 5 concierge levels

Hotel Map

37.8016 -122.273
Area served
Oakland City Center
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 8.00, MI, N; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 26.00, MI, NE; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 43.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakland Marriott City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Level Two
Level Two, our on-site restaurant in downtown Oakland, features a fresh take on shareable dishes, a comprehensive wine menu and delectable new menu options.
Twelve Bar Lounge
Unwind at this stunning lounge with flat screen televisions, serving dinner with light menu options, beverages and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Oakland Marriott City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KJ Robinson
Business
Gardnerville, NV, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Business Trip

This was a great hotel, right across the street from BART to take you straight into the city. A few blocks away from Jack London Square. Beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
collegetrip
Orange County, CA
Aug 20, 2012

great deal for nice hotel

The room was huge and faced the bay! very nice and convenient location- excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Traveling w/ Special Needs....

On a weekend get-away w/ a client, who is autistic, the hotel staff was instantly understanding and accommodating . The genuine friendliness and easy access throughout the hotel, along w/ easy access to transportation, made for a doubly good time, both in OakLand and San Francisco, CA! As I've said upon a past visit, we'll be back! T-travels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea monita
Anaheim California
Apr 1, 2013

wonderful spring break

Really good good location super clean good stuff Good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leslee's on the road
Mission Viejo, CA
Aug 6, 2013

Great location!

We enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff was exceptional, the room was very comfortable, and we were steps away from the BART station. If there was a down side it would be that the facility does not have a spa - they do have a nice pool though. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LeCheval Vietnamese Cuisine.....the meal we shared the LeCheval was excellent, one of the highlights of our trip!

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 24, 2007

Fix your elevators

Had a great time for the most part but wasted a lot of time waiting for the elevators. The system was either not working correctly or inadequate for such a large hotel. In addition, no convenient paid or validated parking which ultimitly added 30% to my total cost of stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iSnack
Sacramento, CA
Aug 9, 2011

Clean, modern

I was apprehensive about this hotel because I have been to this area of Oakland but hadn't seen very nice hotels. The outside is nothing to write home about. Stone everything, although the exterior seemed to be undergoing construction as well. The interior of the hotel was very nice. Colorful, inviting, and very clean. The hotel staff was great, and extremely accommodating. Although check-in is at 3 pm, they were happy to provide a room to us when we arrived at the painfully early time of 7:45 am. The rooms were clean and relaxing. Our room (with two double beds) even had a mini-refrigerator, which our friends (staying in the same hotel, but with one king bed) did not have in theirs. The location is also very convenient, as it is close to the highway (but you cannot hear the highway from the room), and literally across the street from BART. I would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krazy Mom
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 1, 2010

Oakland Marriott City Center

Our workshop was being held right across the street. So at lunch we ran back to the room to get something that we needed for the workshop. They were cleaning it so we were just going to walk in and get our stuff however we were politely asked for our key so that they could verify that this was our room. We smiled at each other and then commented after that we liked that. Good security meant that our laptops and other valuable were safe in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In a strange city it's easier to walk than drive. For us it was less stressful that we knew everything was around the hotel. When we did take the car the valet asked us if he could help us with directions like returning to the airport. He gave us simple directions and we were much more confident.

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NEWD1
Stamford CT
Sep 22, 2009

Further

Great Phantastic weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Court1
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Good location in Oakland!

I booked this hotel at the last minute for a holiday weekend stay. The hotel was in a great location (downtown Oakland and across the street from a BART station). I also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and modern. I found it to be good value for the price I paid (~130/night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search