$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Bay Breeze Inn

2 stars
4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
65 reviews
Quick Business trip

For the price and quality of the place, I considerate it fair. See full review

  • mr travel
  • Oct 27, 2014
Good value

Bay Breeze was very clean and comfortable. Amenities were lacking- no shampoo, conditioner,... See full review

  • Adventure single
  • Oct 15, 2014
The Motel is centered in the sixth Largest Metropolitan area in the United States: the San Francisco Bay Area. Bay Breeze Inn is just a short walk to Oracle Arena and McAfee Coliseum - home to the Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders and Golden State Warriors as well as a host of other sporting events, concerts and family shows. The Oakland International Airport is a short four mile drive from the Bay Breeze Inn. The motel are conveniently located off interstate highway 880 - only a 20 minute drive to downtown San Francisco, 30 minute drive to San Jose and 45 minute drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. The Bay Breeze Inn is near some of the best dining, shopping and entertainment the Bay Area has to offer in historic Jack London Square.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Breeze Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Bay Breeze Inn Rooms

2-Star Queen
2-Star Queen offers one queen bed with basic amenities. This 1 queen bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people with no roll-away bed. This nonsmoking room includes complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TV with three HBO and ESPN channels, microwave and fridge, iron, ironing board and hairdryer.
2-Star King
2-Star King offers one king bed with basic amenities. This 1 King bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people with no roll-away bed. This nonsmoking room includes complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TV with three HBO and ESPN channels, microwave and fridge, iron, ironing board and hairdryer
2-Star Double
2-Star Double offers two double size beds with basic amenities. This 2 double beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people with no roll-away bed. This nonsmoking room includes complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TV with three HBO and ESPN channels, microwave and fridge, iron, ironing board and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 1.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 1.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 1.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Breeze Inn

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
2.4
Value:
2.8

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seattleite Sarah
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 25, 2010

AWFUL!!!!!!!!

This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Granted, the rates are cheap, so we definitely weren't expecting much, but this hotel was just awful. First, when we got there, they didn't even have our reservation, even though we'd paid ahead of time and I had my confirmation number. When they finally gave us our room key, we went to our room, and there was no remote for the television. There was also no phone, and there were only two pillows in the room. When I went down to get the remote, she handed it to me, but we had to program it ourselves. She would not give me any pillows because she said that she was the only employee there and she had to stay at the office. Another guest in line ahead of me practically had to beg her for a towel. All in all, the stay here was absolutely AWFUL. I would certainly not recommend staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Metreon in San Francisco is not a mall. It has a theater, but very few shops that I hadn't heard of before. Your best bet is the Westfield Mall, but like all of San Fran, the parking is really expensive and hard to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deilly
Business
Washington
Nov 7, 2011

Bay Breeze Inn

I would not recommend this hotel. Noisy. No amenities other than a small refrigerator. Charge for ice. You have request an ice bucket (tiny). While the bed linens looked neat and clean, I discover tiny bugs (hopefully ants) crawling over the floors and furniture. When I went to the airport these same bugs were in my luggage. I had to spray the bags with insecticide and wash all my belongs. No place close for dining of any kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anthonys
Business
Elk Grove, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Poor place to stay

I knew I was getting an inexpensive place but have never seen anything this bad. The door does not close very good and there is a dead bolt in the door but the hole for the pin is about 2" off. the middle dresser drawer face was broken and leaning against the wall, it seamed like the shower was plumbed backwards, there was no hair shampoo, and I had trouble communicating with the front desk. I didn't stay the night because I was not comfortable with the security of the hotel room or leaving my car parked downstairs so I drove home. When I was talking with the lady at the front desk she said "we will look at it in the morning" that was unacceptible for me. By far the worst place I have ever seen!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Spend a little more and stay away from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cheapo 2
Business
Winnemucca, NV 89445, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Ear Plugs Needed

Street is under demolition, cannot access hotel easily. Trains passing by all night, freeway on the other side, BART in the middle & air traffic overhead. WOW

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
matt1204
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Extremely POOR experience

I went to this hotel and the management intentionally misrepresented themselves. I trusted this site to at least check out the hotels they have listed. I am extremely disappointed, I am on a fixed income. The reason for this trip was so that I could spend Christmas with my daughter and my grandchildren. The management was not only rude but insensitive as well. I had to do some laundry and I went to the pay machines that the hotel had for guests. When there was a problem and I explained it to management, I was told, "Never do your laundry here again." Pictures of the rooms and premises were misleading. I was also told that my room would not get cleaned, nor were my linens changed every day. The cleanliness of the hotel was an issue for me. When I walked across the carpet, my feet were black from all the ground in dirt. In no way would I recommend this hotel to any traveler. *Note: The woman who is reviewing this is legally blind. The writer (me), trusted the site I bought the package from , I was extremely horrified at Her experience. The flights were wonderful. She had nothing but praise for the airlines and their staff. Her trouble was only at the hotel. I specifically stated that She needed a handicapped accessible room on the first floor. What She received was on the first floor but was not acceptable in any way.*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Agaudi
Business
Katy, Texas
Jul 26, 2012

One of the worst!

This is what I found: no complimentary soup, nor shampoo. * just one towel no hand towels at all. * fridge didn't work at all Mosquitoes and bugs inside. Small room , beds were against the wall an d window hence my feet were cold all night long due to AC unit against my feet. Few tv channels. Awful management, I asked for extra towels and i was told to wait for the cleaning lady to put some more after 9 am. First hotel motel or that i have stayed at where i'm charged for ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleeping well in the bay
Business
SF Bay Area
Nov 23, 2012

Do NOT stay here... EVER.

Any travel website should be ashamed to do business with this hotel. This is the dirtiest, most poorly managed, unwelcoming accommodation I have ever seen in the bay area. Before the laundry list of issues; I should state that the service there was passive aggressive. I put my ID thru the bullet proof glass and was issued a room keycard without my signature or any further info given. When I returned to the lobby to collect an extra towel and an ashtray I was interrogated as to the occupants of the room and was threatened with eviction if I were "partying". There is a sign posted in the lobby that any unregistered inhabitants are considered trespassing and may be removed by police, so how do I register my guest if there is no registration process? A misunderstanding with the police evicting my girlfriend would have led to a major lawsuit. I stated to the clerk it was only my girlfriend and I in the room tonight, but had they suddenly had the urgency to question me about my entourage, my activities, my troupe of Circus midgets wearing lederhosen, my pair of pink Llamas and the case of limes in my luggage, they really should have asked when they issued me a key for the premises. This was a BAD neighbourhood, bars on MOST of the windows (but not on my room which was not comforting). Go up Coliseum way to the next hotel, it's far better and actually HAS the amenities as promised. This is what we got: No microwave or hairdryer Sub-par very very old refrigerator 25 cents for the ice machine, but no buckets Two dilapidated pillows Two scratchy towels HORRENDOUSLY soiled carpeting Two friendly roaches in the restroom No clock No phone No deadbolt on rickety door in a hazardous area Sub-par heating and cooling (30+ years old) ROUGH toilet paper If you want to feel safe or even relatively clean when staying in a hotel, DO NOT book BBI. They would need to burn it down and rebuild it before I ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your self time & frustration and DO NOT book a room here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SldgXXDz
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 16, 2013

Not what I expected

While I was not expecting anything great for the low price, this motel experience was worse than I expected. Pros: -Price, it was cheap. I paid $45/ per night -Location: while the neighborhood was industrial and rough with no public transportation, it was only 4 miles to downtown Oakland and just off the freeway. Having a car, this made it incredibly convenient to experience some of the nicest parts of Oakland and San Fransisco in just a 10 minute drive. Cons: -The mini fridge in my room did not work well, barely kept food cool. -Room service arrived between 2-4 pm each day, which meant sometimes I was out in the AM for job interviews and came back to an uncleaned room. Often they cleaned while I was there. -There was no iron, although I was able to borrow one from the front desk with a deposit. -You had to pay to use the ice vending machine (25 cents) -Internet wifi was VERY spotty and often did not work at all. -Exterior of motel was unclean, lots of empty beer bottles and trash outside of the rooms, which made it feel unsafe. -Cable only had about 6 working channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to downtown Oakland, about 4 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J Rivera
Business
Riverside, ca
May 7, 2013

Nasty, high crime area

This place is located in a high crime area, this place is mostly used for hourly activities. I stayed here about 15min, and ran out feeling sick.. I looked for bed bugs and found a cover full of nasty hairs, blankets and towels are stained, and the last straw was when I found a used condom In the corner of the room..look at the pic.. luckily I had just booked the room and so I canceled it online and gave me a full refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GuyM
Business
Spokane, WA
Sep 16, 2013

Don't Stay If You Can Afford Better!

Nothing much good, Staff is rude, room is small, and barely passable from a health standpoint. Only the price and the location merit a thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top