$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Bay Breeze Inn

2 stars
4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
65 reviews
Quick Business trip

For the price and quality of the place, I considerate it fair. See full review

  • mr travel
  • Oct 27, 2014
Good value

Bay Breeze was very clean and comfortable. Amenities were lacking- no shampoo, conditioner,... See full review

  • Adventure single
  • Oct 15, 2014
The Motel is centered in the sixth Largest Metropolitan area in the United States: the San Francisco Bay Area. Bay Breeze Inn is just a short walk to Oracle Arena and McAfee Coliseum - home to the Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders and Golden State Warriors as well as a host of other sporting events, concerts and family shows. The Oakland International Airport is a short four mile drive from the Bay Breeze Inn. The motel are conveniently located off interstate highway 880 - only a 20 minute drive to downtown San Francisco, 30 minute drive to San Jose and 45 minute drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. The Bay Breeze Inn is near some of the best dining, shopping and entertainment the Bay Area has to offer in historic Jack London Square.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Breeze Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Bay Breeze Inn Rooms

2-Star Queen
2-Star Queen offers one queen bed with basic amenities. This 1 queen bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people with no roll-away bed. This nonsmoking room includes complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TV with three HBO and ESPN channels, microwave and fridge, iron, ironing board and hairdryer.
2-Star King
2-Star King offers one king bed with basic amenities. This 1 King bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people with no roll-away bed. This nonsmoking room includes complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TV with three HBO and ESPN channels, microwave and fridge, iron, ironing board and hairdryer
2-Star Double
2-Star Double offers two double size beds with basic amenities. This 2 double beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people with no roll-away bed. This nonsmoking room includes complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TV with three HBO and ESPN channels, microwave and fridge, iron, ironing board and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 1.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 1.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 1.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Breeze Inn

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
2.4
Value:
2.8

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J Rivera
Business
Riverside, ca
May 7, 2013

Nasty, high crime area

This place is located in a high crime area, this place is mostly used for hourly activities. I stayed here about 15min, and ran out feeling sick.. I looked for bed bugs and found a cover full of nasty hairs, blankets and towels are stained, and the last straw was when I found a used condom In the corner of the room..look at the pic.. luckily I had just booked the room and so I canceled it online and gave me a full refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looking around
Business
Colorado
Mar 14, 2013

Business trip

For the price I paid it was an amazing stay there clean easy access. Staff was polite and friendly. The room served its purpose and excelled passed what I expected especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SldgXXDz
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 16, 2013

Not what I expected

While I was not expecting anything great for the low price, this motel experience was worse than I expected. Pros: -Price, it was cheap. I paid $45/ per night -Location: while the neighborhood was industrial and rough with no public transportation, it was only 4 miles to downtown Oakland and just off the freeway. Having a car, this made it incredibly convenient to experience some of the nicest parts of Oakland and San Fransisco in just a 10 minute drive. Cons: -The mini fridge in my room did not work well, barely kept food cool. -Room service arrived between 2-4 pm each day, which meant sometimes I was out in the AM for job interviews and came back to an uncleaned room. Often they cleaned while I was there. -There was no iron, although I was able to borrow one from the front desk with a deposit. -You had to pay to use the ice vending machine (25 cents) -Internet wifi was VERY spotty and often did not work at all. -Exterior of motel was unclean, lots of empty beer bottles and trash outside of the rooms, which made it feel unsafe. -Cable only had about 6 working channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to downtown Oakland, about 4 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Po PO
Business
Oakland
Feb 5, 2013

Needed a space quick

I was glad to get the hotel so fast on such a short notice. I was able to finish watching the superbowl!! Used their vending machine and snack got stuck hotel stated that they were not responsible for the loss that was a bummer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleeping well in the bay
Business
SF Bay Area
Nov 23, 2012

Do NOT stay here... EVER.

Any travel website should be ashamed to do business with this hotel. This is the dirtiest, most poorly managed, unwelcoming accommodation I have ever seen in the bay area. Before the laundry list of issues; I should state that the service there was passive aggressive. I put my ID thru the bullet proof glass and was issued a room keycard without my signature or any further info given. When I returned to the lobby to collect an extra towel and an ashtray I was interrogated as to the occupants of the room and was threatened with eviction if I were "partying". There is a sign posted in the lobby that any unregistered inhabitants are considered trespassing and may be removed by police, so how do I register my guest if there is no registration process? A misunderstanding with the police evicting my girlfriend would have led to a major lawsuit. I stated to the clerk it was only my girlfriend and I in the room tonight, but had they suddenly had the urgency to question me about my entourage, my activities, my troupe of Circus midgets wearing lederhosen, my pair of pink Llamas and the case of limes in my luggage, they really should have asked when they issued me a key for the premises. This was a BAD neighbourhood, bars on MOST of the windows (but not on my room which was not comforting). Go up Coliseum way to the next hotel, it's far better and actually HAS the amenities as promised. This is what we got: No microwave or hairdryer Sub-par very very old refrigerator 25 cents for the ice machine, but no buckets Two dilapidated pillows Two scratchy towels HORRENDOUSLY soiled carpeting Two friendly roaches in the restroom No clock No phone No deadbolt on rickety door in a hazardous area Sub-par heating and cooling (30+ years old) ROUGH toilet paper If you want to feel safe or even relatively clean when staying in a hotel, DO NOT book BBI. They would need to burn it down and rebuild it before I ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your self time & frustration and DO NOT book a room here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ally3223
Business
SLC, Utah
Oct 22, 2012

Well.....the freeway is close....

When we first found the hotel we ended up driving through a neighborhood and there is a reason why Oakland has a tough reputation. I wouldn't recomend staying in this hotel unless you are comfortable staying in a tough part of town. It is also right next to the freeway so it's pretty loud. It also seemed like people were coming and going through all hours of the night. I don't think I'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of restaurants in Alameda which is fairly close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad nyny
Business
new york
Jul 29, 2012

near to sf

The place is near to San f. However little noisy because of train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Agaudi
Business
Katy, Texas
Jul 26, 2012

One of the worst!

This is what I found: no complimentary soup, nor shampoo. * just one towel no hand towels at all. * fridge didn't work at all Mosquitoes and bugs inside. Small room , beds were against the wall an d window hence my feet were cold all night long due to AC unit against my feet. Few tv channels. Awful management, I asked for extra towels and i was told to wait for the cleaning lady to put some more after 9 am. First hotel motel or that i have stayed at where i'm charged for ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
matt1204
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Extremely POOR experience

I went to this hotel and the management intentionally misrepresented themselves. I trusted this site to at least check out the hotels they have listed. I am extremely disappointed, I am on a fixed income. The reason for this trip was so that I could spend Christmas with my daughter and my grandchildren. The management was not only rude but insensitive as well. I had to do some laundry and I went to the pay machines that the hotel had for guests. When there was a problem and I explained it to management, I was told, "Never do your laundry here again." Pictures of the rooms and premises were misleading. I was also told that my room would not get cleaned, nor were my linens changed every day. The cleanliness of the hotel was an issue for me. When I walked across the carpet, my feet were black from all the ground in dirt. In no way would I recommend this hotel to any traveler. *Note: The woman who is reviewing this is legally blind. The writer (me), trusted the site I bought the package from , I was extremely horrified at Her experience. The flights were wonderful. She had nothing but praise for the airlines and their staff. Her trouble was only at the hotel. I specifically stated that She needed a handicapped accessible room on the first floor. What She received was on the first floor but was not acceptable in any way.*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Breeze Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cheapo 2
Business
Winnemucca, NV 89445, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Ear Plugs Needed

Street is under demolition, cannot access hotel easily. Trains passing by all night, freeway on the other side, BART in the middle & air traffic overhead. WOW

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top