$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

3 stars
170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
49 reviews
oaklannd

Good place to stay clean and close to san francisco See full review

  • felinipr
  • Aug 22, 2014
Family gataway

Staff was very nice and responding our request promptly. Great breakfast room was nice and comfortable See full review

  • Bhojani
  • Jul 18, 2014
Cozy Oakland accommodations near the airport and McAfee Stadium
Flying in to Oakland International Airport? The Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites is just a short drive or shuttle ride away. In addition to standard quality amenities and plenty of parking, there is indoor pool and spa, exercise room, and business center for guests to enjoy. There is also a 24-hour complimentary beverage bar where guests can grab a quick cup of coffee. Guests begin their day with a free newspaper and a complimentary hot continental breakfast. There is an on-site laundry room available as well. The Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites is a short distance from McAfee Stadium where the Oakland A's baseball team and the Raiders football team play. In addition to being in the vicinity of San Francisco and Berkley, the hotel is close to Alameda's sandy beaches, and the Sonoma and Napa Valleys are just a day trip away.
Reasons to stay
  • Close to Fisherman's Wharf, Sausalito, Six Flags Marina World and Great America Theme Park
  • High speed internet and computer access in the Business Center plus free Wi-Fi in the lobby
  • Friendly customer service and great amenities at reasonable rates
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites Rooms
The well-kept rooms at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites have two queen beds or one king bed. There are also suites with one king bed. All rooms are air conditioned and have free high speed internet, voicemail and cable satellite television. There is an iron and ironing board plus coffee maker in all rooms. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator, and a morning wakeup call is available if required. Some rooms are designated for smokers.
Things to do nearby
  • Dunsmuir House & Gardens Historic Estate (4.0 mi/6.0 km)
  • Cohen Bray House (4.2 mi/7.0 km)
  • Chinatown (6.3 mi/10/0 km)
  • City Center (6.8 mi/10.0 km)
  • USS Potomac (6.9 mi/10.0 km)
  • Cathedral Building (7.1 mi/ 10.0 km)
  • Camron-Stanford House (7.1 mi/ 10.0 km)
  • Children's Fairyland (8.6 mi/10.0 km)
  • Chabot Space & Science Center (8.8 mi/10.0 km)
  • Old Oakland Historic District (11.9 mi/.20.0 km)

Hotel Map

37.7357 -122.1948
Area served
San Jose, Silicon Valley, San Francisco, Berkeley, Alameda
Nearby airports
(OAK), 1.00, MI, W;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,WHIRLPOOL,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oracle Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Oakland Arena: 1.1 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 1.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

Organic Choice
5.00 mile(s) from Organic Choice, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Everett & Jones Barbeque
6.10 mile(s) from Everett & Jones Barbeque, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Burma Superstar
10 mile(s) from Burma Superstar, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Carrows
0.50 mile(s) from Carrows, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Horatio's
2.60 mile(s) from Horatio's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Panda Express
0.6 mile(s) from Panda Express, fast food, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Prime Spot Bar & Grill
6.00 mile(s) from Prime Spot Bar & Grill, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Souley Vegan
6.8 mile(s) from Souley Vegan, full service, Vegetarian, open for: lunch, dinner
In n Out
3.00 mile(s) from In n Out, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Kincaids
12.80 mile(s) from Kincaids, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister M.E.
Grass Valley, Ca
Feb 18, 2013

Wont stay here again!

This hotel is in a very bad area of Oakland! A gang of 4 juveniles was loitering in the parking lot and hotel and the hotel called the police. We returned to our room after being away for 5 hours and the room smelled like someone had been smoking in it! Very strange since the whole hotel is supposedly non-smoking!! We told the desk and they handed us a can of Lysol! We told the desk again the next morning and they acted almost disinterested. As we walked to our car to leave, 3 girls were standing in the parking lot smoking pot! Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sara I
San Diego CA
Nov 30, 2013

horrible hotel and service

My son and I stayed two nights at this hotel. Do not stay there - The location is in an industrial area. Thursday am I called the front desk to say the hair dryer didn't work well. They said they would send someone up to check it. No one came. Thursday night we both could not sleep due to excessive heat in the room. We had turned the heat off. We slept without blankets and still had trouble sleeping. No one came to check it out that time either. When I checked out the front desk said there was no record of my having called to request assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bpriest58
Business
Philadelphia
May 4, 2012

Bad choice for business travel

Construction horns going off at 6 AM. Needed to leave a day early. Was told that manager would have to OK it. Manager said that since this was already paid in full viaOrbitz that they would not agree to one day refund. Arranging business travel this way is totally inflexible and not a very wise way to book business travel beyond one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Perry I
Business
Florida
Aug 12, 2014

truck driver

Regular hotel room. Nothing special about the hotel. Days Inn is just as good as this Best Western.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frauline
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 18, 2013

Decent Hotel, Bad Location

Hegenberger Loop is off of Hegenberger Road. The Loop had quite a bit of garbage on the curbs. Also, it seemed to be a location for homeless people. It is close to the airport and restaurants but not safe for a single person to walk. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired from long flights
Seattle, WA
Mar 25, 2013

Didn't go above & beyond

The hotel itself was fine & clean. The only reason I marked it down was because they offered "vending machines on 1st & 2nd levels". After arriving from a long flight in the middle of the night, this would have been just what we needed to take the edge off. However, the soda machine on level 2 was out of water, delivered 7up when Sierra mist was selected (which has a totally different taste), the snack machine was out of order which we determined only because it wouldn't take our money & the only machine on the 1st level was drinks & also out of water. Only compensation offered from front desk was a room temp bottle of water & a bag of Doritos. No thanks for the chips. She didnt seem overly concerned nor apologetic. They do however have a 24 hour shuttle that runs every 1/2 hour if needed to/from airport which wasn't in their overview. The bed was comfortable. The only closet was an armoire so don't expect to hang a lot of clothes. We were only there as a stop over to catch another flight but probably wouldn't be my choice for anything other than quick stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamaw from Indy
Indiana
Jan 8, 2013

Great accomodations and staff but neighborhood was scarey.

Homeless village in the same block and homeless person going through your trash can when we were going to the car. The thought was scarey but then my son started talking to him and found him quit nice. It seems he was trying to watch the football game through the window. I think you need to figure out how to help them but at the same time shelter the quests from them as some do have some mental illness. It was January 2013 when we stayed with your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Not safe to walk around hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Palama
Business
Honolulu
Sep 25, 2013

Good location for airport connection

Fair hotel, excellent for short stay proximity to airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
daMann
Kalispell, Mt
Aug 2, 2013

Serves a purpose

Decent enough hotel I booked as a convenience to catch an early flight out of OAK. Located in a scruffy neighborhood I didn't feel comfortable walking outside the property!! Staff was very nice, room was adequate, good breakfast, shuttle to airport, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frances P
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 30, 2014

Convenient Overnight for an Early Morning Flight

While I live in the Bay Area, I had an early morning flight out of the Oakland Airport, so I stayed the night before at the Best Western. The surroundings are not very attractive, but the hotel suited my needs very well. The staff was pleasant and efficient, my room was clean, and amenities were fine. I read online that the breakfast was great, but I left too early to take advantage of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Other hotels are slightly closer, but it's a quick drive from the Best Western to the Oakland Airport and the price is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top