$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

3 stars
170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
49 reviews
oaklannd

Good place to stay clean and close to san francisco See full review

  • felinipr
  • Aug 22, 2014
Family gataway

Staff was very nice and responding our request promptly. Great breakfast room was nice and comfortable See full review

  • Bhojani
  • Jul 18, 2014
Cozy Oakland accommodations near the airport and McAfee Stadium
Flying in to Oakland International Airport? The Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites is just a short drive or shuttle ride away. In addition to standard quality amenities and plenty of parking, there is indoor pool and spa, exercise room, and business center for guests to enjoy. There is also a 24-hour complimentary beverage bar where guests can grab a quick cup of coffee. Guests begin their day with a free newspaper and a complimentary hot continental breakfast. There is an on-site laundry room available as well. The Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites is a short distance from McAfee Stadium where the Oakland A's baseball team and the Raiders football team play. In addition to being in the vicinity of San Francisco and Berkley, the hotel is close to Alameda's sandy beaches, and the Sonoma and Napa Valleys are just a day trip away.
Reasons to stay
  • Close to Fisherman's Wharf, Sausalito, Six Flags Marina World and Great America Theme Park
  • High speed internet and computer access in the Business Center plus free Wi-Fi in the lobby
  • Friendly customer service and great amenities at reasonable rates
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites Rooms
The well-kept rooms at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites have two queen beds or one king bed. There are also suites with one king bed. All rooms are air conditioned and have free high speed internet, voicemail and cable satellite television. There is an iron and ironing board plus coffee maker in all rooms. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator, and a morning wakeup call is available if required. Some rooms are designated for smokers.
Things to do nearby
  • Dunsmuir House & Gardens Historic Estate (4.0 mi/6.0 km)
  • Cohen Bray House (4.2 mi/7.0 km)
  • Chinatown (6.3 mi/10/0 km)
  • City Center (6.8 mi/10.0 km)
  • USS Potomac (6.9 mi/10.0 km)
  • Cathedral Building (7.1 mi/ 10.0 km)
  • Camron-Stanford House (7.1 mi/ 10.0 km)
  • Children's Fairyland (8.6 mi/10.0 km)
  • Chabot Space & Science Center (8.8 mi/10.0 km)
  • Old Oakland Historic District (11.9 mi/.20.0 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,WHIRLPOOL,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oracle Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Oakland Arena: 1.1 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 1.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

Home Room
10.6 mile(s) from Home Room, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Wingstop
2.00 mile(s) from Wingstop, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
El Torrito
7.00 mile(s) from El Torrito, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Mua Lounge
8.5 mile(s) from Mua Lounge, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Horatio's
2.60 mile(s) from Horatio's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Panda Express
0.6 mile(s) from Panda Express, fast food, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Shan Dong Restaurant
6.7 mile(s) from Shan Dong Restaurant, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Chipotle
0.2 mile(s) from Chipotle, bar/lounge, Tex-Mex, open for: lunch, dinner
Carrows
0.50 mile(s) from Carrows, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Brown Sugar Kitchen
10.1 mile(s) from Brown Sugar Kitchen, cafe, American, open for: breakfast

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyHawaiian
Business
Hawaii
Jun 1, 2013

Not as good as my last visit. . .

Have stayed here before - "full" breakfast not so much; room looked clean, but things like bandaid wrappers in drawers and counters not clean (probably not totally their fault - very hard to tell if clean on that pattern). Room large and comfortable; amenities book out of date - the internet much better than what was described in book. No restaurant or bar very close and open; WONDROUS staff though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJGIII
Business
Oakland, CA
May 26, 2013

Perfect for college graduation

Great hotel as far as location. Close to Oakland airport and car rental. Room was very clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff!!! Breakfast was very good. Hot and cold dishes. Great coffee and free newspaper. We loved the pool and the hot tub. The area is a bordering the industrial area and close to the Oakland Coliseum,however, it was not really a problem. They have a shuttle available as well. Our second stay and we will probably go there in the future. Thanks for a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C. Dawn
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 22, 2013

Family Time

Nice experience.... great breakfast!! Somewhat hidden, but close to Oakland Coliseum, Walmart, and other stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired from long flights
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 25, 2013

Didn't go above & beyond

The hotel itself was fine & clean. The only reason I marked it down was because they offered "vending machines on 1st & 2nd levels". After arriving from a long flight in the middle of the night, this would have been just what we needed to take the edge off. However, the soda machine on level 2 was out of water, delivered 7up when Sierra mist was selected (which has a totally different taste), the snack machine was out of order which we determined only because it wouldn't take our money & the only machine on the 1st level was drinks & also out of water. Only compensation offered from front desk was a room temp bottle of water & a bag of Doritos. No thanks for the chips. She didnt seem overly concerned nor apologetic. They do however have a 24 hour shuttle that runs every 1/2 hour if needed to/from airport which wasn't in their overview. The bed was comfortable. The only closet was an armoire so don't expect to hang a lot of clothes. We were only there as a stop over to catch another flight but probably wouldn't be my choice for anything other than quick stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duckjibe
Business
Eugene, OR
Feb 19, 2013

Decent place to crash for an early plane outa OAK

Rented this place cause my girlfriend had a 7 am plane and I didn't want to make a 5 am trip over the Bay Bridge and a 6 am trip back over to SF. It was clean, convenient in location, reasonably priced ($89 a night for a king suite), and had an excellent hot breakfast and shuttle service. The shuttle driver picked us up at the train station and drove me over to my long-term parked car, which was, IMHO, above and beyond the call of duty...a nice guy! I will stay there again, especially now that there nonstop flights into Oakland from my home city. This site helped out with a 15% discount code.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for deals on this hotel! I saw rooms in the $150 range at various sites, which would be too costly for a crash pad. The reduced rate put me over the line in choosing this hotel over others nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frauline
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 18, 2013

Decent Hotel, Bad Location

Hegenberger Loop is off of Hegenberger Road. The Loop had quite a bit of garbage on the curbs. Also, it seemed to be a location for homeless people. It is close to the airport and restaurants but not safe for a single person to walk. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister M.E.
Business
Grass Valley, Ca
Feb 18, 2013

Wont stay here again!

This hotel is in a very bad area of Oakland! A gang of 4 juveniles was loitering in the parking lot and hotel and the hotel called the police. We returned to our room after being away for 5 hours and the room smelled like someone had been smoking in it! Very strange since the whole hotel is supposedly non-smoking!! We told the desk and they handed us a can of Lysol! We told the desk again the next morning and they acted almost disinterested. As we walked to our car to leave, 3 girls were standing in the parking lot smoking pot! Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BTraveler2
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Pleasantly surprised

I wanted an inexpensive room near the airport. Being used to staying in such "cookie cutter" hotels near airports, I was beyond pleasantly surprised by the Best Western near the Oakland Airport. It's location is just that, near the airport, but off on a side street so that it is quiet. Enough said. And the lobby is the lobby. But the room blew me away. Not only was it huge with two queen beds, it had the feel, comfort, and amenities of a 4-star hotel. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. The comforter and pillows were soft and new. The bathroom was really clean and had no sense of being worn out. I give this 5 stars solely because of the quality of the experience in the room. It was like an oasis amidst an industrialized area. All in all, it was a great place to get a great night's sleep before the next day's adventures began.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHP320
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 13, 2013

Great value and superb service

This was our third trip to East Bay area in the past year and we have at last found the hotel we will stick with for future trips. Other reviewers have remarked on the location, and true, the hotel's surroundings are rather rundown, but the hotel itself is clean, inviting, with well-appointed rooms and an excellent staff. The young man at the front desk went above and beyond to provide us with advice and assistance. Even the shuttle driver was similarly friendly and helpful. And I've yet to mention the substantial hot breakfasts ...... As a result of this vist we will be looking for this chain in other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting to the Golden Gate Park Park by public transport seemed impossible from this location. Not so ..... Take the hotel shuttle to the BART, then to Civic Center, then Muni N line to 7th Ave. You're there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tree III
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 5, 2013

It Worked Fine!

The site location could be enhanced. It is around several warehouses and does not look very pleasant when driving to hotel. Otherwise, I needed a room for relaxation and rest and it was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oakland Harley Davidson facility is an easy walk away. And, a couple of banks and restaurants if needed, especially after visiting the HD shop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top