$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

3 stars
170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
50 reviews
Pleasantly surprised

I wanted an inexpensive room near the airport. Being used to staying in such "cookie cutter" hotels... See full review

  • BTraveler2
  • Feb 15, 2013
Great place

Room was clean. Good breakfast. Good location and good for the price. Near all highways See full review

  • judy77
  • Jun 30, 2014
Cozy Oakland accommodations near the airport and McAfee Stadium
Flying in to Oakland International Airport? The Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites is just a short drive or shuttle ride away. In addition to standard quality amenities and plenty of parking, there is indoor pool and spa, exercise room, and business center for guests to enjoy. There is also a 24-hour complimentary beverage bar where guests can grab a quick cup of coffee. Guests begin their day with a free newspaper and a complimentary hot continental breakfast. There is an on-site laundry room available as well. The Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites is a short distance from McAfee Stadium where the Oakland A's baseball team and the Raiders football team play. In addition to being in the vicinity of San Francisco and Berkley, the hotel is close to Alameda's sandy beaches, and the Sonoma and Napa Valleys are just a day trip away.
Reasons to stay
  • Close to Fisherman's Wharf, Sausalito, Six Flags Marina World and Great America Theme Park
  • High speed internet and computer access in the Business Center plus free Wi-Fi in the lobby
  • Friendly customer service and great amenities at reasonable rates
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites Rooms
The well-kept rooms at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites have two queen beds or one king bed. There are also suites with one king bed. All rooms are air conditioned and have free high speed internet, voicemail and cable satellite television. There is an iron and ironing board plus coffee maker in all rooms. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator, and a morning wakeup call is available if required. Some rooms are designated for smokers.
Things to do nearby
  • Dunsmuir House & Gardens Historic Estate (4.0 mi/6.0 km)
  • Cohen Bray House (4.2 mi/7.0 km)
  • Chinatown (6.3 mi/10/0 km)
  • City Center (6.8 mi/10.0 km)
  • USS Potomac (6.9 mi/10.0 km)
  • Cathedral Building (7.1 mi/ 10.0 km)
  • Camron-Stanford House (7.1 mi/ 10.0 km)
  • Children's Fairyland (8.6 mi/10.0 km)
  • Chabot Space & Science Center (8.8 mi/10.0 km)
  • Old Oakland Historic District (11.9 mi/.20.0 km)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HAIRDRYR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,WHIRLPOOL,NSMK,MICRFRG,COF MKR,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7357 -122.1948
Area served
Silicon Valley, San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley, San Jose
Nearby airports
(OAK), 1.00, MI, W;
Area description
Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Oracle Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Oakland Arena: 1.1 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 1.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

Burma Superstar
10 mile(s) from Burma Superstar, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Yoshinos
2.00 mile(s) from Yoshinos, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, American steakhouse
Shan Dong Restaurant
6.7 mile(s) from Shan Dong Restaurant, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Home Room
10.6 mile(s) from Home Room, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Chipotle
0.2 mile(s) from Chipotle, bar/lounge, Tex-Mex, open for: lunch, dinner
Souley Vegan
6.8 mile(s) from Souley Vegan, full service, Vegetarian, open for: lunch, dinner
Organic Choice
5.00 mile(s) from Organic Choice, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Mua Lounge
8.5 mile(s) from Mua Lounge, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Panda Express
0.6 mile(s) from Panda Express, fast food, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Scott's Seafood
7.00 mile(s) from Scott's Seafood, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duckjibe
Eugene, OR
Feb 19, 2013

Decent place to crash for an early plane outa OAK

Rented this place cause my girlfriend had a 7 am plane and I didn't want to make a 5 am trip over the Bay Bridge and a 6 am trip back over to SF. It was clean, convenient in location, reasonably priced ($89 a night for a king suite), and had an excellent hot breakfast and shuttle service. The shuttle driver picked us up at the train station and drove me over to my long-term parked car, which was, IMHO, above and beyond the call of duty...a nice guy! I will stay there again, especially now that there nonstop flights into Oakland from my home city. This site helped out with a 15% discount code.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for deals on this hotel! I saw rooms in the $150 range at various sites, which would be too costly for a crash pad. The reduced rate put me over the line in choosing this hotel over others nearby.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister M.E.
Grass Valley, Ca
Feb 18, 2013

Wont stay here again!

This hotel is in a very bad area of Oakland! A gang of 4 juveniles was loitering in the parking lot and hotel and the hotel called the police. We returned to our room after being away for 5 hours and the room smelled like someone had been smoking in it! Very strange since the whole hotel is supposedly non-smoking!! We told the desk and they handed us a can of Lysol! We told the desk again the next morning and they acted almost disinterested. As we walked to our car to leave, 3 girls were standing in the parking lot smoking pot! Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frauline
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 18, 2013

Decent Hotel, Bad Location

Hegenberger Loop is off of Hegenberger Road. The Loop had quite a bit of garbage on the curbs. Also, it seemed to be a location for homeless people. It is close to the airport and restaurants but not safe for a single person to walk. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BTraveler2
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Pleasantly surprised

I wanted an inexpensive room near the airport. Being used to staying in such "cookie cutter" hotels near airports, I was beyond pleasantly surprised by the Best Western near the Oakland Airport. It's location is just that, near the airport, but off on a side street so that it is quiet. Enough said. And the lobby is the lobby. But the room blew me away. Not only was it huge with two queen beds, it had the feel, comfort, and amenities of a 4-star hotel. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. The comforter and pillows were soft and new. The bathroom was really clean and had no sense of being worn out. I give this 5 stars solely because of the quality of the experience in the room. It was like an oasis amidst an industrialized area. All in all, it was a great place to get a great night's sleep before the next day's adventures began.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHP320
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 13, 2013

Great value and superb service

This was our third trip to East Bay area in the past year and we have at last found the hotel we will stick with for future trips. Other reviewers have remarked on the location, and true, the hotel's surroundings are rather rundown, but the hotel itself is clean, inviting, with well-appointed rooms and an excellent staff. The young man at the front desk went above and beyond to provide us with advice and assistance. Even the shuttle driver was similarly friendly and helpful. And I've yet to mention the substantial hot breakfasts ...... As a result of this vist we will be looking for this chain in other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting to the Golden Gate Park Park by public transport seemed impossible from this location. Not so ..... Take the hotel shuttle to the BART, then to Civic Center, then Muni N line to 7th Ave. You're there!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tree III
Sacramento, CA
Feb 5, 2013

It Worked Fine!

The site location could be enhanced. It is around several warehouses and does not look very pleasant when driving to hotel. Otherwise, I needed a room for relaxation and rest and it was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oakland Harley Davidson facility is an easy walk away. And, a couple of banks and restaurants if needed, especially after visiting the HD shop!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamaw from Indy
Indiana
Jan 8, 2013

Great accomodations and staff but neighborhood was scarey.

Homeless village in the same block and homeless person going through your trash can when we were going to the car. The thought was scarey but then my son started talking to him and found him quit nice. It seems he was trying to watch the football game through the window. I think you need to figure out how to help them but at the same time shelter the quests from them as some do have some mental illness. It was January 2013 when we stayed with your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Not safe to walk around hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle P
San Bernardino, Ca
Dec 18, 2012

More than expected

Although the location is iffy, the prices are unbeatable for the local amenities, friendly staff, and delicious hot breakfast. I've stayed at multiple best western's and they are consistent all throughout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
print man
Business
Portland
Dec 14, 2012

Great Business Hotel.

Great experience. Friendly staff. Great complementary breakfast and evening meals. Clean rooms. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.Char
Business
Sonora, CA
Nov 22, 2012

Easy access

It is so nice to be close to the airport in a clean and safe hotel. The shuttle got us to the airport easily. They provided a delicious dinner....everything was clean. We missed breakfast but that too was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were there just the night and had to get up at 4:30am to get to the airport...however, there were other things around us to visit should you be in the hotel earlier. Oakland has all sorts of wonderful sights and restaurants...a short drive away.

Back to menu Return to top