$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

4 stars
900 Newport Center Drive, 900 Newport Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
37 reviews
Great place to stay

If you're looking for a great place to stay when shopping at Fashion Island, look no further! The... See full review

  • Gainesy
  • Jul 2, 2014
fashion island trip

We had a great time at the hotel. Location was perfect for shopping and dining. We really liked the... See full review

  • cincin67
  • Aug 5, 2013
Newport’s newest magnificence now open

The Newport Beach Marriot Hotel and Spa has recently enjoyed a $70 million facelift making it a new and luxurious addition to the hotel options. Close to an inviting stretch of coastline, guests can unwind and feel delightfully pampered at the hotel's Pure Blue spa where pampering treatments take place in private cabanas. This is the perfect activity after working up a sweat in the hotel's state-of-the-art high tech fitness center. Event staff can arrange any type of event, catering, or service. The concierge is a resource for local knowledge and is available to help guests find attractions. There is a Hertz car rental office located within the hotel and ample car parking is available at a fee.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Sophisticated design, décor and furnishings

  • Beautiful new California style spa for ultimate pampering

  • Underwent $70 million recent renovation

Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa Rooms

Newly refurbished rooms offer upscale tasteful and modern California style décor that is generously sized and inviting. Rooms at the Newport Beach Hotel and Spa offer spectacular views of the coast and surrounding sites and amenities. The energizing décor is a fusion between condominium and coastal living. Amenities in the rooms include alarm clock, air conditioning, iron with ironing board, hairdryer and a color TV with cable or satellite channels. For guests travelling in groups, connecting rooms are available upon request. Families can reserve cribs or rollaway beds prior to arrival.

Things to Do:
  • Fashion Island (0.25 mi/0.4 km)

  • Orange County Museum of Art (0.31 mi/0.5 km)

  • Balboa Island (1.12 mi/1.8 km)

  • Balboa Pavilion (1.5 mi/2.5 km)

  • University of California-Irvine (1.06 mi/4.7 km)

Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee: $21 USD per day

  • Valet parking fee: $28 USD per day

  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: $9.95 USD per day (rates may vary)

  • Fee for in-room high-speed Internet (wired): $12.95 USD per day (rates may vary)

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: $12.95 USD per day (rates may vary)

  • Buffet breakfast fee: $22 USD per person (approximate amount)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6165 -117.8797
Area served
Irvine
Nearby airports
John Wayne Airport-Orange County, (SNA), 5.00, MI, SW; Long Beach Airport, (LGB), 25.00, MI, SE; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 44.00, MI, SE; LA/Ontario International Airport, (ONT), 49.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Sam & Harry's
Discover our Newport Beach restaurant's USDA prime steaks, fresh seafood and extensive wine list. Served inside or on our outdoor dining terrace with fire pits, you can enjoy a delicious experience and breathtaking views in a casual SoCal setting.
The Lounge at Sam & Harry's
Featuring a small plates, cocktails and extensive wine list, this lounge and restaurant in Newport Beach, California, offers a great place to relax and socialize with friends and colleagues.
Starbucks®
Enjoy coffee drinks, salads and grab-and-go sandwiches at the Starbucks Marketplace located just steps from your door.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alessandras
el salvador
Jul 23, 2013

family

Enjoyed our stay... especially having shopping mall right next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right next door to great shopping mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, MN
Aug 16, 2009

Enjoyable stay

Excellent bed and bedding, very clean. Housekeeping came a little later than I'm used to ~3:15 pm or so when I was trying to get ready to go to a wedding. Great location. Room was a good size, furnishings seemed fairly new. I didn't get to check out the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorknPlay Traveler
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 14, 2013

Great location. Ocean view and walking distance to Fashion Island mall

Staff was friendly and helpful but hotel is looking a bit 'tired'. Towels were thin and the bathroom tiles had a bit of mildew -- surprising for a Marriott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicci b
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

STUNNING VIEW

I took a friend who was visiting the area here for a real CA experience. I would recommend booking an ocean view room in the main hotel-the view is amazing ( I did have to wait over an hour and a half to get this room though b/c of my request to be in the main hotel). Compared to other Marriott's I've been to - the pool area could be more resort like. The pool was also freezing cold & no one swam because of it. The indoor Starbucks & easy access to Fashion Island make it very convenient for shopping & dining. I would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to & take a stroll in Balboa Island for lunch & shops or a great sunset walk (but be prepared to parallel park).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chillin1587
iowa
Jul 27, 2014

newport beach marriot

The hotel is clean as were the rooms. I was suprised that internet was extra. Walking to the beach takes a good 45 minutes because you have to go around the golf course. A free shuttle between the hotel and airport would have been nice also. The "mall" called fashion island was very nice and open to the air. It is literally right across the street from the marriot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fashion Island is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bre
Colorado
Aug 6, 2009

Weekend away

Everything about our stay was pleasant except for when we checked in. I had booked and paid for a full ocean view and the person at the registration desk put me in a partial view room and when I asked to be placed in the full ocean view room, what I had paid for, she then said they only had king beds available for that evening and we had to order a roll-away. Otherwise everything else was okay. The rooms are small but clean. And all the staff greeted you daily. It was nice being close to Fashion Island and if you plan to stay at this hotel for the beach, you will have to drive to the beach. A lot of kids stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside CA
Aug 10, 2009

Not a good experience.

28 Dlls a day Vallet parking, 18 Dlls a day Self parking this is ridicules and very expensive only in this Hotel you have to pay to park your car, nothing to offer they care more about weddings because they make more money with this events, I stayed 4 days and it was over 6 weddings. The beds are like a hole, I slept in the floor 1 day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yeti347
Southern California
Nov 19, 2012

Above Average

Well maintained hotel, helpful staff, excellent bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stuck in '85
Wildomar, CA
Sep 6, 2009

small room

I loved the location - Close to the beaches, shopping and really good food - Loved Roy's - highly recommended. As for the room it was small - incredibly, a view of the roof and there was not a small refrig. in the room. So much for leftovers! I really felt like this room was for "cheap" rates but at $175 per night, it wasn't cheap - then add on a $14 per day parking fee. I said I would recommend this hotel to a friend but it would be with caution to ask a few questions at check in and such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Roy's Hawaiian Fusion was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUPTravler
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 2, 2013

close to shopping and beach

the hotel is clean and in a good location. it feels older, but was good to go shopping and out to dinner. it's all in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk right accrossed the street and shop, dine and go to a great movie theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search