$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 900 Newport Center Drive, 900 Newport Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Readit
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Newport Beach

Fairly nice with clean rooms and a nice view! Staff was helpful and pool area is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pawse
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Apr 30, 2012

review

rooms look much bigger on the website than they are. water pressure was poor. beds could be updated. excellent service at check in, valet, concierge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

fashion island mall is right across the street. great for dining and shopping and people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Readit
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Newport Beach

Fairly nice with clean rooms and a nice view! Staff was helpful and pool area is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicci b
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

STUNNING VIEW

I took a friend who was visiting the area here for a real CA experience. I would recommend booking an ocean view room in the main hotel-the view is amazing ( I did have to wait over an hour and a half to get this room though b/c of my request to be in the main hotel). Compared to other Marriott's I've been to - the pool area could be more resort like. The pool was also freezing cold & no one swam because of it. The indoor Starbucks & easy access to Fashion Island make it very convenient for shopping & dining. I would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to & take a stroll in Balboa Island for lunch & shops or a great sunset walk (but be prepared to parallel park).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bionic
Business
La Quinta, CA, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Good hotel.

Very helpful staff. Great restaurant. Room and view were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEWPORT BEACH
Apr 19, 2011

UNHAPPY GUEST

Our recent experience here was horrible!! [...] (senior group housing coordinator) has a problem with communication. He consistently told our Wedding group one thing, but meant another. Only to apologize for his error later, at expense to us. The hotel had a PLANNED Edison blackout that he choose not to tell our 20 guests. He then to expected us to believe that the Hotel only knew about it within 24 hours. We verified this not to be the case with Edison personnel. He apologized numerous times for his and the hotels "miscommunications"...promising issues to be resolved, and they were not. He even told me and my fiancee that our room was to be comped, when it was not. He then said it was a miscommunication. No, that is simply a lie. He was conveniently not available when paying for so called comped services. Overall, the Hotel handled this power outage horribly, thinking handing out flashlights would suffice. It was an embarrassing issue that could have been avoided had [...]and the hotel advised our wedding party of the Power outage beforehand. We would have had time to book another hotel. [...]at the front desk was the only professional we dealt with, he was a blessing. Turned our wedding into a very expensive, embarrassing event for our guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Apr 11, 2011

Like you see in a movie

This hotel was magnificent. The staff was extremely polite, there were always people in the lobby to assist you, including assisting with your travel plans and talking with airlines. They have an excellent gym for a hotel. The hot tube was the nicest I had ever been in, not to hot where you need to get out to take a break. The pool was a decent size, however it did attract a lot of sand in it and could have been cleaned maybe twice a day, that was my only dislike about the hotel. There were fire pits where you could make smores, and plenty of lounge areas with wait staff. It is also right next to a big golf course if you're in to that. The restaurant inside is very nice, and if you do breakfast, its a great quality as well. It is also right across the street from a nice outdoor mall. Overall, this was a great hotel and much like a resort you could never leave. My only negatives, the sand in the pool, and the expensive internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Big outdoor mall (fashion mall)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 7, 2011

Nice hotel, but nickel and dimed us

Nice place -- very good location, nice pool area and friendly staff. I was a little annoyed that they charge $18/night for parking (you can avoid the charge by parking on the street on the wknds) and they charge for internet access too. In my opinion, that's just chincy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 10, 2010

Great location

I continue to stay at this hotel because of its location. I will do differently next trip. Service at check in not friendly. Hold times for room service lengthly. There is a $12.95 per day charge for wifi and it did not work well, no wireless. Had to stay plugged in with cable. Hotel TV services menu for folio review and check out did not work. Had to wait in line to checkout. No free parking. $4.00 per hour or $18.00 per day. I was allowed 20 minutes to get checked in and then charges applied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great mall across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 23, 2010

Location great if you want to shop

Very clean,good location for shopping, rooms are really small, paid extra for ocean view but was in closed in corner with more of air conditioning roof top view. Needed more towels by the time we received them we were ready to leave. To much money for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Fashion Island, Newport Ca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mega Shopper
Business
Oklahoma City, Ok
Jul 29, 2010

Newport Beach Shopping trip and vacation

The staff was helpful, the flowers were beautiful, the location was the best, the view of the ocean was great, the parking was good, and it is walking distance to the shopping area Fashion Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top