$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Little Inn by the Bay

2 stars
View map of 2627 Newport Blvd., Newport Beach, CA 92663

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
1.6
out of 5
9 reviews
Great Location, friendly staff

We had a fantastic time in Newport Beach riding our bikes along the boardwalk and sportsfishing. ... See full review

  • Stellan
  • Feb 16, 2010
Newport Beach R&R

I picked this hotel for its location and price - and those needs were met. That being said, the... See full review

  • gedIII
  • Mar 28, 2013
The Little Inn By The Bay is located on the Balboa Peninsula in Newport Beach, just steps from its world famous sandy beaches, pier, and a variety of renowned restaurants, pubs and shops. Situated in the heart of Old Newport Boulevard among a delightful collage of architecture ranging from Cape Cod to Tudor, this charming 18-room Inn retains the old fashioned charm of its surrounding neighborhood. With over thirty fine waterfront restaurants, hundreds of boutique shops, abundant nightlife, and miles of Southern California's best beaches, our location offers something for everyone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Little Inn by the Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Little Inn by the Bay Rooms

Two Queens
Guest room with two queen beds, table for four, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, premium cable television with HBO and clock radio with a CD player.
Single Queen
Guest room with one queen bed, table for two, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, premium cable television with HBO and clock radio with CD player.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Little Inn by the Bay

Overall score

1.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
1.6
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kinibikini
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 11, 2013

Suspicious, Skinflint Ownership

Friendly staff, but get ready...when you check into the Smallest-motel-6-ish room ever, a damage deposit is taken Immediately off of your credit card! Does that remind anyone of renting their first apartment during college days? A crazy way to treat seasoned travelers paying over $200/night! But thats not where the penury stops....any items that you might need to borrow from the front desk are 'tagged' to your room! Yes! "Tagged!" The bathroom in our room (number 2) had such a sewage stench...we had to keep the exhaust running as much as possible! The air conditioning unit is so noisy...wish I could attach a sound clip of it to give everyone a good laugh! Location, however, is outstanding! If you are the type of traveler that just wants to be in a certain location, then you will be satisfied despite minor grievances. If you like a spacious room with resort-type amenities (pool/tennis/golf/restaurant/lounge,etc) I'd recommend the Hyatt or some other place that will make you feel that you are 'on vacation!' We are mixing both into this trip for those reasons...several nights here, then several nights at the Hyatt! Travel safe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JSB1
Business
Redlands, Ca.
Aug 19, 2013

SO SO AT THE BEACH

It is a VERY BASIC room with not much inside. The air conditioning did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gedIII
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Mar 28, 2013

Newport Beach R&R

I picked this hotel for its location and price - and those needs were met. That being said, the room we had was very small - about 2 ft around the queen bed was it, plus the bathroom and a small closet. But, all the room amenities promised were there - fridge, microwave, nice flat panel TV, etc. The decor was was very nice - recently remodeled. The location was great. Beach, harbor, and restaurants nearby, and an easy route off the Newport Peninsula. The main issue was noise. The hotel sits between the north and south-bound sections of Newport Blvd, the main street of town. Our room was 12 ft from traffic lanes. Our visit had us in town for Spring Break - lots of partys and loud talking late into the night. A good nights sleep was difficult. Recommendation with caveats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants nearby - but the staff is not real knowledgeable about them, so do some research in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Wizard 2
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA
Jul 13, 2012

We fell for hotel's Web site - stay here for many disappointments!

My husband and I stayed at The Little Inn by the Bay in Newport Beach for one night. I chose this hotel because of it's location (good location; however, VERY noisy - it is located in between heavily traveled streets) and the description on the Web: "Little Inn has recently renovated its entire property to provide the utmost comfort to its guests..... Little Inn by the Bay is always one step ahead in satisfying its visitors, by offering them best accommodations in Newport Beach....." The pictures on the Web site of the rooms are not like the room we stayed in - it looked like the Web photo but it was not like the photo. We stayed in a better hotel in Pakistan. Here are is some "food for thought" if you are thinking about staying there: - towels were like Motel 6 rejects - there was a partially used small bottle of hand lotion and an old shower cap in plastic bag (these were the amenities) - dead bolt for the door did not work - had to put suitcases, etc. at the door for the security that night - wimpy TV with remote that did not work - stain on wall inside the door that looked like blood, maid removed right away when we showed it to her - minimal lighting - bathroom spa tub had no soap except for soap that was in a dispenser high on the wall for shower takers - they talk about the renovation - well, the slider to the patio was hard to even open along with the screen door - VERY noisey - no noise abatement at this place - the hotel outside "security" lights were right outside the room on the patio that it was hard to sleep as window coverings did not keep light out - the comforter and short blanket on the bed were wrinkled all over - if the price for this room was like a Motel 6 would be one thing; however, we paid $274 (no AAA or AARP or Senior discounts) and this was worse than any low-budget hotel - the mattress was SO hard, we could hardly roll out of bed the next morning - the carpet going up the stairs was stained; that carpet had a different pattern than what was on the 2nd floor (looked like they did a patch carpet job) I could go on and one - I think you got my "drift" - stay AWAY - I'm surprised Newport Beach officials have not closed in on this hotel - giving the city a bad name with false advertising (my perception). I read the positive reviews and these people must have never stayed in a quality hotel - must be used to camping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This property is located in a great spot - too bad that the hotel doesn't match the location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bobg99
Business
Spokane, WA
Dec 12, 2010

OK for the younger set...

They are going through a major renovation. The place is NOT where like a Hilton, it is basic a very soft bed, nice bathroom, without hanging facilities for clothes! They went out of their way to helpake the trip comfortable for us. Forget the newspaper or breakfast, it might as well have been non existant.I would place this hotel a step above a motel 6 but not by much. Close to everything and the room we had was quiet. If you are looking for a place with the basics, then this is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out mama D's or the early bird dinner at Sol Grill ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2010

The Worst EVER!

It was awful. The staff was unfriendly. We stayed in a first floor unit. The person who checked us in came to our room just as we were going to get dinner to try and fix tubing for the freestanding HVAC Unit in the room. He was using cheap tape and asked me to help him. I asked if we could just be moved upstairs and was denied. He then said he would move us up the next day which he didn't. The whole Inn was noise every night until 3am. The person upstairs sounded like they were moving furniture and kept the TV up as loud as possible. Also, the the second night there was some sort of fight in which I was almost compelled to call the police. There was no parking the 2nd night on the property and after searching for street parking at 11 pm, I just parked in a metered spot which I later got at $53 ticket for. The experience was awful and I would never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stellan
Business
San Jacinto, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Great Location, friendly staff

We had a fantastic time in Newport Beach riding our bikes along the boardwalk and sportsfishing. We loved this hotel because of its great location mainly and the service was also friendly with a nice continental breakfast. The rooms were a little outdated but we like the fact that it had some character and didn't look every place we've stayed in. We do recommend staying here but not if your looking for a five star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Newport Landing restaurant has great food, excellent service at a reasonable price with an amazing view. We rode our bikes from the Inn but its only two miles away if you drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
riverside ca
Feb 8, 2010

very dirty

It was so dirty that we did not stay. [...] It doeshave a very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Little Inn by the Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visiting family in So. California
Business
Alameda, California
Jan 25, 2010

This was a poor experience

We had difficulty sleeping Thurs. night when we were in a tiny room near the stairs, traffic, etc. We could hear people talking outside our door way past 10 p.m. and traffic sounds. The room looked worn out and dingy. Better on Friday night. Moved by nice staff to bigger room. Saturday night was horrible, as far as sound. There is a liquor store next door and people yelling until 2a.m. The walls are so thin we could hear too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Islands restaurant in Huntington Beach was excellent! We also loved sailing in the Newport Harbor with Marina Rentals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top