$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Fairmont Newport Beach

4 stars
4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
230 reviews
Beautiful weekend at the fair not

We spent 3 days here and enjoyed each one. The room was adequately spacious and the beds very... See full review

  • Deerhaven
  • Sep 30, 2014
Would stay there again!

Loved my experience there. Super clean. You have to pay valet parking which Is 20 bucks a day. Food... See full review

  • Chelipink
  • Mar 18, 2014
Massive spa and pool beckon at this luxuriant Orange County hotel
Minutes away from sun-drenched beaches and world-class shopping and nightlife, this AAA Four Diamond hotel in Orange County is conveniently located near Los Angeles and San Diego. The emphasis is on luxury for both the business and leisure traveler. All rooms include marble entries and baths. The hotel offers a spacious, heated, year-round outdoor pool and an 8,000-square-foot spa with eight treatment rooms. The lobby-level Bambú restaurant and lounge provides creative California cuisine and an elegant space for cocktails with friends or business associates.  

 

Highlights
  • Luxury hotel in affluent Orange County near shopping and beaches
  • Massive spa with eight treatment rooms
  • Business center and Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms
Each of the hotel's 440 rooms, including 54 suites, feature lovely marble entries and bathrooms, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and DVD and CD players. Many rooms also include large soaking tubs, Miller Harris toiletries, luxury linens, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), and a large, ergonomic workspace. Rooms average 325 square feet, with suites ranging from 488 to 1,300 square feet.
Features
AAA awarded the Fairmont Newport Beach its prestigious Four Diamond Award.

 

The hotel's third floor includes a wealth of opportunity for luxury and relaxation. The Palms Pool, a large, heated, year-round outdoor pool, includes a sundeck and private cabanas, plus a spacious whirlpool area. The 8,000-square-foot Amadeus salon and spa features eight treatment rooms to pamper guests, including body massages and facial treatments. The adjacent fitness center, free to guests, and open 24 hours, is stocked with state-of-the-art Techno-Gym and Life Fitness equipment. 

 

Nestled in the palm-filled four-story atrium, the Bambú restaurant and lounge is perfect for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or a late evening drink. The menu offers eclectic, contemporary Californian cuisine with Asian, French and Italian influences. 

 

Transportation
  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (1 mile)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (45 miles)
  • Free shuttle to and from John Wayne Airport
  • Free shuttle to and from Fashion Island, South Coast, The District, and Balboa Island
Attractions
  • Fashion Island (3.6 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • South Coast (7.2 mi/ 11.5 km)
  • The District (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
  • Balboa Island (5.4 mi/ 8.6 km)
Business
  • 22,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Two large ballrooms can be divided into ten sections allowing for three boardrooms and seven meeting rooms
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Wireless internet is available in most meeting rooms
  • Business center offers three private offices, high-speed internet, fax machine and photocopying (fees apply)
Policies & fees
  • The property offers wireless Internet access available in most meeting rooms, as well high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Wi-Fi is available for $10.95 per day (this service is complimentary for our President Club Members) and premium Wi-Fi is available for $20.95 per day.
  • Valet parking is $30 USD Sunday through Thursday and $20 USD on Friday and Saturday. This is the only on-site parking option
  • The Fairmont Newport Beach is a pet-friendly hotel for dogs under 25 pounds. A daily $25 fee per pet applies.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6673 -117.8624
Area served
Orange County, Newport Beach, Los Angeles, Southern California
Nearby airports
John Wayne/Orange County Airport (SNA), Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Area description
1 mile from John Wayne/Orange County Airport,45 miles from Los Angeles International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Newport Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Fairmont Newport Beach Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior Suites are bright and airy, offer a marble entry and are oversized with a comfortable seating area with reading chair or chaise and a private balcony with patio furniture for two. The work desk is large and spacious with an ergonomic work chair, additional outlets and High-Speed Internet Access. The king sized bed features a pillow top mattress with 330-thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom is oversized featuring a separate vanity area, separate shower and oversized deep soaker tub.
Fairmont OC View King
325 SF, Views overlooking the city and the Santa Ana Mountains, top floors, large ergonomic work space with outlets/media hub and two tiered HSIA, Keurig coffee/tea with complimentary K-Cups, windows open, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, newspaper
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are luxurious, spacious and perfect for those requiring additional living space. Our Executive Suites suites feature a marble entry with powder room, into a living area with queen sized sofa sleeper and chair, and ergonomic work area with oversized chair, additional outlets and high-speed internet access. Both the living area and bedroom feature a 32-inch, flat panel high definition, digital TV with DVD player. The bedroom with its private balcony offers one king bed with pillow top mattress and 330-thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom is oversized featuring a separate shower and oversized deep soaker tub.
Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms feature various views with a marble entry. Fairmont Rooms offer pillow top mattresses and 330 thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom offers a shower/tub combination. Fairmont Rooms are also equipped with a large ergonomic work area with oversized chair, additional outlets and High-Speed Internet Access.
Fairmont View Room
Fairmont View Rooms feature a marble entry and overlook the sky pool deck, which is located on the third floor of our hotel. Fairmont View rooms offer pillow top mattresses and 330 thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom offers a shower/tub combination. Fairmont View rooms are also equipped with a large ergonomic work area with oversized chair, additional outlets and high speed internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

bambu Restaurant
Among the premier Newport Beach restaurants, bambu Restaurant offers fresh California cuisine, where the classic and creative dishes are presented with a bold combination of flavors that celebrate the very best of seasonal and local foods that Southern California has to offer. Located on the Lobby Level of Fairmont Newport Beach, bambu Restaurant is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
bambu Lounge
bambu Lounge is located adjacent to the bambu Restaurant, and offers light dining and cocktails; as well as, impeccable, genuine and friendly service in our elegant and relaxing lounge, the ideal Newport Beach dining destination any time of the day. Open for Lunch and Dinner. Also featuring Happy Hour from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Newport Beach has nearly 22,000 square feet of flexible and well-appointed meeting space. There are two luxurious ballrooms that can be divided into 10 sections, 3 boardrooms and 7 meeting rooms. Our large pool deck is also ideal for hosting outside receptions. The meeting and banquet area of Fairmont Hotel Newport Beach 1st floor is wire-less, with the 3rd floor meeting and banquet areas being wired. Ethernet connectivity, web casting and archiving capabilities are also available, as is cutting edge audiovisual technology and video conferencing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Newport Beach

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 230
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deerhaven
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 30, 2014

Beautiful weekend at the fair not

We spent 3 days here and enjoyed each one. The room was adequately spacious and the beds very comfortable. The pool, spa and fitness center were all first class. The location is airport adjacent and near many restaurants at all price levels. Caveats- this is not a close to the beach location and a substantial and unexpected mandatory valet charge (required due to the location) were only disappointments. The staff were very professional throughout our time and always provided anything we requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No places to walk to but numerous restaurants are within 1-2 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
felisaaero
Business
moving from out of state
Sep 3, 2014

Elegant Comfort

Fairmont always has a way to make you feel at home. We enjoyed stay at every Fairmont, including this one where our room was excellet. However, the crazy $30 parking fee per night (only valet available), the $28 midnight chicken wrap room service, and the lack of a good weekday rate made us switch the Radisson across the street. There's no comparison between the two. You pay what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park across the street overnight to save yourself $30 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tictar21
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 4, 2014

Good for price, needs refurbishment

Hotel staff was very friendly. The room was clean, but a bit dated. Especially the bathroom, the tub was not up to snuff for a Fairmont hotel (and certainly did NOT match the hotel's pictures). The bed was comfortable but had some sand in it :( Location was OK, close to airport which is good for business travelers, but a good 20min (especially in summer traffic) from the desirable beach areas. Not walkable to anything of note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sol Cocina was a great/fun mexican joint with excellent drinks and inventive guacamole.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Moose family
Business
Las Vegas NV
Jul 28, 2014

THE NOT SO FAIRMONT NEWPORT BEACH

Good stuff- Room was very clean, plenty of room to move about. Lobby was pretty. Bad stuff - The air conditioner was horrible.- we were hot all night. Didn't realize we were right across the st from the airport-plane lights through the curtains all night long . When we went to bed at 11 pm we realized that they had feather pillows which my husband is allergic to. Called and asked for 4 non feather pillows to replace them, took an hour and she brought 2 - one was still a feather pillow- took another 30 minutes to get the correct pillows. Not fun after a long tiring drive in. Staff were rude and condescending, especially when we were checking in. She tried to upswell our room to a jr suite for an additional $120/night, and when we said no thanks they kept dropping the rate to 100 then 80 then 60.....if you can do it got 60/night offer it at that rate to begin with- it made us feel like we were being taken advantage of. At checkout time my husband went to get a luggage cart- was chased down the hallway by a bellman who said we could not use it unless we used a bellman- we had purchased some very expensive artwork and items and did not want anyone handling them, so my husband had to make 3 trips down up and down from our room and carry all our stuff while I stood in the heat outside watching our items and waiting for our car. We were not aware before booking that only valet parking was offered. We didn't like not being able to self park, because you don't have easy access to our vehicle if we had forgotten something - just not convenient if you are in and out of the room frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great little restaurant - Gullivers prime ribs only about a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
piper lea
Business
palm springs ca.
Apr 27, 2014

great shuttle service

The room needs updating. Friendly staff. We needed the shuttle to go for dinner, so they rolled out a very nice top of the line BMW to take us there and back. Very special indeed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chelipink
Business
Heber City , Utah
Mar 18, 2014

Would stay there again!

Loved my experience there. Super clean. You have to pay valet parking which Is 20 bucks a day. Food is pricey but delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeremey Thomppson
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 6, 2014

Over priced with a rude staff.

I booked 3 nights at the Fairmont. When I arrived I was asked if I wanted to upgrade. I asked what the total for the stay would be and it was only a $20 or so dollars more than I had originally booked for. Turns out the clerk had lied to me and only gave me the total for upgrade fee so it was double. When I brought this to the attention of their accounting department I was treated very rudely, talked over and told flat out that I was wrong. Not to mention the stay its self was unpleasant and not worth the original amount I booked for. The Jacuzzi was broken and the pool area was a mess with left over towels and beer bottles everywhere. There was no fitted sheet on the bed they used a flat sheet in its place. So it would come undone and bundle up underneath in the night. And the water in the shower smelled of sulfur. In short there are many nicer places to stay in Newport Beach for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jordan
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 10, 2014

restful and relaxing!

unbelievable value for such a wonderful hotel! My husband and I only spent one night there for a quick getaway (we live locally). Rooms were spacious and very clean. Bed very comfortable. Super quiet. Loved the pool area (reason for booking!). We did not make it to the restaurant or bar, but seemed very nice. Bar staff was happy to uncork a bottle of wine that we had purchased outside of the hotel for us so we could enjoy by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the John Wayne airport in Santa Ana, ca. Hotel has shuttle to airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boogie Bill
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Jan 21, 2014

Visiting Daughters Performance at UC Irvine

My wife and I were visiting a four night performance run of our daughter at U.C. Irvine. The Fairmont, just a couple of miles from campus, was a really nice hotel to stay in for this purpose. I used the pool everyday. It was a bit small for laps but I made it work. It is hard to complain about the Southern Cal weather. Hanging out by the pool was very enjoyable. The room was great. We joined the Fairmont President's Club which gives complimentary internet access. I didn't like that the only option for parking was $28/day valet. It seems that there should be a more economical option. All else was A+ especially the price for weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrenchieFromCo
Business
Denver
Jan 19, 2014

Short but good stay

We stayed at the hotel to catch our 7am flight from SNA. The staff was really nice and the bed comfy. The hotel is a few minutes away from the airport so it basically took us exactly 30 min from to moment we left the hotel to the time we got to our gate. I would say pretty efficient if you ask me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top