$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Fairmont Newport Beach

4 stars
4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
236 reviews
Beautiful weekend at the fair not

We spent 3 days here and enjoyed each one. The room was adequately spacious and the beds very... See full review

  • Deerhaven
  • Sep 30, 2014
Would stay there again!

Loved my experience there. Super clean. You have to pay valet parking which Is 20 bucks a day. Food... See full review

  • Chelipink
  • Mar 18, 2014
Massive spa and pool beckon at this luxuriant Orange County hotel
Minutes away from sun-drenched beaches and world-class shopping and nightlife, this AAA Four Diamond hotel in Orange County is conveniently located near Los Angeles and San Diego. The emphasis is on luxury for both the business and leisure traveler. All rooms include marble entries and baths. The hotel offers a spacious, heated, year-round outdoor pool and an 8,000-square-foot spa with eight treatment rooms. The lobby-level Bambú restaurant and lounge provides creative California cuisine and an elegant space for cocktails with friends or business associates.  

 

Highlights
  • Luxury hotel in affluent Orange County near shopping and beaches
  • Massive spa with eight treatment rooms
  • Business center and Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms
Each of the hotel's 440 rooms, including 54 suites, feature lovely marble entries and bathrooms, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and DVD and CD players. Many rooms also include large soaking tubs, Miller Harris toiletries, luxury linens, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), and a large, ergonomic workspace. Rooms average 325 square feet, with suites ranging from 488 to 1,300 square feet.
Features
AAA awarded the Fairmont Newport Beach its prestigious Four Diamond Award.

 

The hotel's third floor includes a wealth of opportunity for luxury and relaxation. The Palms Pool, a large, heated, year-round outdoor pool, includes a sundeck and private cabanas, plus a spacious whirlpool area. The 8,000-square-foot Amadeus salon and spa features eight treatment rooms to pamper guests, including body massages and facial treatments. The adjacent fitness center, free to guests, and open 24 hours, is stocked with state-of-the-art Techno-Gym and Life Fitness equipment. 

 

Nestled in the palm-filled four-story atrium, the Bambú restaurant and lounge is perfect for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or a late evening drink. The menu offers eclectic, contemporary Californian cuisine with Asian, French and Italian influences. 

 

Transportation
  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (1 mile)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (45 miles)
  • Free shuttle to and from John Wayne Airport
  • Free shuttle to and from Fashion Island, South Coast, The District, and Balboa Island
Attractions
  • Fashion Island (3.6 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • South Coast (7.2 mi/ 11.5 km)
  • The District (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
  • Balboa Island (5.4 mi/ 8.6 km)
Business
  • 22,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Two large ballrooms can be divided into ten sections allowing for three boardrooms and seven meeting rooms
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Wireless internet is available in most meeting rooms
  • Business center offers three private offices, high-speed internet, fax machine and photocopying (fees apply)
Policies & fees
  • The property offers wireless Internet access available in most meeting rooms, as well high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Wi-Fi is available for $10.95 per day (this service is complimentary for our President Club Members) and premium Wi-Fi is available for $20.95 per day.
  • Valet parking is $30 USD Sunday through Thursday and $20 USD on Friday and Saturday. This is the only on-site parking option
  • The Fairmont Newport Beach is a pet-friendly hotel for dogs under 25 pounds. A daily $25 fee per pet applies.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Newport Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Fairmont Newport Beach Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior Suites are bright and airy, offer a marble entry and are oversized with a comfortable seating area with reading chair or chaise and a private balcony with patio furniture for two. The work desk is large and spacious with an ergonomic work chair, additional outlets and High-Speed Internet Access. The king sized bed features a pillow top mattress with 330-thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom is oversized featuring a separate vanity area, separate shower and oversized deep soaker tub.
Fairmont OC View King
325 SF, Views overlooking the city and the Santa Ana Mountains, top floors, large ergonomic work space with outlets/media hub and two tiered HSIA, Keurig coffee/tea with complimentary K-Cups, windows open, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, newspaper
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are luxurious, spacious and perfect for those requiring additional living space. Our Executive Suites suites feature a marble entry with powder room, into a living area with queen sized sofa sleeper and chair, and ergonomic work area with oversized chair, additional outlets and high-speed internet access. Both the living area and bedroom feature a 32-inch, flat panel high definition, digital TV with DVD player. The bedroom with its private balcony offers one king bed with pillow top mattress and 330-thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom is oversized featuring a separate shower and oversized deep soaker tub.
Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms feature various views with a marble entry. Fairmont Rooms offer pillow top mattresses and 330 thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom offers a shower/tub combination. Fairmont Rooms are also equipped with a large ergonomic work area with oversized chair, additional outlets and High-Speed Internet Access.
Fairmont View Room
Fairmont View Rooms feature a marble entry and overlook the sky pool deck, which is located on the third floor of our hotel. Fairmont View rooms offer pillow top mattresses and 330 thread count Egyptian Cotton Linens. The marble bathroom offers a shower/tub combination. Fairmont View rooms are also equipped with a large ergonomic work area with oversized chair, additional outlets and high speed internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

bambu Restaurant
Among the premier Newport Beach restaurants, bambu Restaurant offers fresh California cuisine, where the classic and creative dishes are presented with a bold combination of flavors that celebrate the very best of seasonal and local foods that Southern California has to offer. Located on the Lobby Level of Fairmont Newport Beach, bambu Restaurant is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
bambu Lounge
bambu Lounge is located adjacent to the bambu Restaurant, and offers light dining and cocktails; as well as, impeccable, genuine and friendly service in our elegant and relaxing lounge, the ideal Newport Beach dining destination any time of the day. Open for Lunch and Dinner. Also featuring Happy Hour from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Newport Beach has nearly 22,000 square feet of flexible and well-appointed meeting space. There are two luxurious ballrooms that can be divided into 10 sections, 3 boardrooms and 7 meeting rooms. Our large pool deck is also ideal for hosting outside receptions. The meeting and banquet area of Fairmont Hotel Newport Beach 1st floor is wire-less, with the 3rd floor meeting and banquet areas being wired. Ethernet connectivity, web casting and archiving capabilities are also available, as is cutting edge audiovisual technology and video conferencing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Newport Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sharon Heaps
Business
Oro Valley Arizona
Dec 28, 2013

Christmas family Holiday

It has lots of hidden expenses. They did allow us to keep our dog (for $25 a night plus taxes, worked out to be $29 nightly) We would have been happy to let him sleep in the car (we travel by car a lot!- the dog is happy in the car). We weren't allowed to park our own vehicle, so we tipped the valet attendants every time we came in and every time we left. When we received our bill, we discovered that we have been charged $28 a day for valet service plus tax, lets just say $30+ a day more. We could not use any of the facilities because we were not allowed to leave our dog in the room or in the car. The internet service was a $10.95 daily charge plus tax. Housekeeping did not exchange items on a one for one basis. We got 2 little bars of soap for the week and 2 washcloths for the week. We will use a Holiday Inn next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeremey Thomppson
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 6, 2014

Over priced with a rude staff.

I booked 3 nights at the Fairmont. When I arrived I was asked if I wanted to upgrade. I asked what the total for the stay would be and it was only a $20 or so dollars more than I had originally booked for. Turns out the clerk had lied to me and only gave me the total for upgrade fee so it was double. When I brought this to the attention of their accounting department I was treated very rudely, talked over and told flat out that I was wrong. Not to mention the stay its self was unpleasant and not worth the original amount I booked for. The Jacuzzi was broken and the pool area was a mess with left over towels and beer bottles everywhere. There was no fitted sheet on the bed they used a flat sheet in its place. So it would come undone and bundle up underneath in the night. And the water in the shower smelled of sulfur. In short there are many nicer places to stay in Newport Beach for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelling Aussie
Business
Queensland Australia
Jul 18, 2012

Old and tired

This property is in desperate need of a complete upgrade, it is very old and tired. Staff attitude was generally poor and some appeared to have limited area of local area and facilities. Returning around midnight we could not get coffee or a drink anywhere and garbage bins in hallways were overflowing with fast food containers, etc and looked and smelled dreadful. Very advertisement for the Fairmont name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Olik
Business
San Jose CA
Aug 28, 2012

Service & Room Comfort at Hotel 6 Level

Hotel mandates for visitors to use valet parking ($30/day) if they have a car; no self-parking is available. The only other option is to park on the street across an expressway several blocks away. We got to the room at midnight and it was 64F and the heater was broken (took an hour to fix). Despite the reservation note that the room was for 2 people, we got room amenities for 1. Shampoo came 1.5 hours after we placed a call for it in the morning. Hotel staff was very polite over the phone with room accommodation requests, but the people who came to the room to drop things off/fix heater spoke very little English, making communication difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sitdowncomedy
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jun 25, 2013

Disappointing

Room guarantee was not honored. Valet parking is the only option and the service is very slow. Too many pets are allowed that are out of control. Not close to the 4 star I was led to believe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 31, 2010

Disappointing [...] Experience

I booked with [...] on Friday, May 28th for a one night stay that same night. When I got to the hotel, they had no record of my reservation and couldn't check us in. I called and spoke to representive who had no idea why it wasn't there. He made three attempts to fax over our confirmation. I waited in the lobby for 45 minutes and my wife, 8 year old daughter, and 18 month old son waited in the car. It was about 9pm before the fax came through. And even when it came through, the front desk staff didn't get all the info they needed. So I waited another 15 minutes before they would check us in. The front desk staff told me that this happens all the time with [...], and that we were the 5th family who had the same issue that day. Finally, we got into our room at 9:25pm; over an hour to simply check into our room! What a terrible experience with [...]. I hope someone actually reads these comments and tries to figure out how to avoid this from happening to other families.~D. Jovanovic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cosmetic sales team
Business
Orange county, CA
Jul 11, 2010

not the best time

front desk was very unprofessional. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Been Around The World Tonight
Business
Chandler AZ
Mar 22, 2010

$28 a Night Mandatory Valet is a Scam

Before I gripe, I want to say that the staff professionalism and service were excellent, especially the valet staff. That being said, their pricing strategy of adding $28 a night for valet parking, which comes in addition (outside) to your [...] bill is a total scam. Why not build it right into your bill? Do travellers always have to read the fine print for additional mandatory costs? I suggest all travel sites such as [...] boycott this hotel OR include the TOTAL fees in your bill before the online checkout. If the industry continues to allow this kind of practice, what's next, $50 a night for your plastic room keys?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Costa Mesa Omlette Parlor rocks! Great ambiance, with sections of glass roof that let in natural light. Great variety of omlettes as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MITAMU
Business
LA HABRA, CA
Jan 4, 2013

disappointed

We were expecting a little bit more than what we got. We had to change our room 3 TIMES!!! Rooms were NOT ready... Dirty & and condition of the room was not kept well. Furniture broken & chipped. We might of as well stayed at a MOTEL 6!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley
Aug 31, 2009

$7 for a bottle of water explains it all

This hotel was nice, yes ~ that's for sure. But they nickle & dime you for everything. 28$ a day to park was our first bit of shock. $7 for water in the hotel. We got sick and asked for soup. $9 for a thimble-sized bowl of soup and $15 (+ tip) to take it to your room. Wifi is free at Motel 6 but this five star swanky joint charges you. If you've got money to burn then this place is for you. It's lovely but bring a fat wallet and be prepared to leave with it skinny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top