$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Fairmont Newport Beach

4 stars
View map of 4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Newport Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the groom's mom
Couples
Kansas
Jul 23, 2012

Nice Clean Rooms but . . .

Our group had ~ 60 rooms booked for 3-5 days for wedding party as everyone had to travel to attend this couples wedding. Rooms were nice and very clean; front desk, housekeeping and restaurant / bar staff was extremely courteous. Shuttle service pulls this hotel down to the pits though. 2 mile maximum service. One driver likes to text and drive! (Had 2 near misses going to the beach with children on board! That was addressed with the manager when we returned to hotel.) Also, driver let everyone off on street level instead of driving down this long steep hill and letting us off at beach area in the bus drop off turn-around. (That steep hill was not fun!) Hotel charges ~$28 a day for valet parking - self parking is not an option nor abundant which could be a deterent for getting a rental car. Pool area is very nice with plenty of cabanas for shade and nice fire pit. Costs for pre-wedding party the night before were outrageous! One cheese tray the size of a dinner plate cost $480 (It was single layer and never refilled). There was about 75 in attendance so that didn't go far. Overall the hotel itself is good and well maintained. Management and staff very accomodating. Need to look at the whole picture if planning for party, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach(s) and shopping within 15 minutes of hotel. Parking is not abundant anywhere in this area so think before getting a rental car.

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelling Aussie
Couples
Queensland Australia
Jul 18, 2012

Old and tired

This property is in desperate need of a complete upgrade, it is very old and tired. Staff attitude was generally poor and some appeared to have limited area of local area and facilities. Returning around midnight we could not get coffee or a drink anywhere and garbage bins in hallways were overflowing with fast food containers, etc and looked and smelled dreadful. Very advertisement for the Fairmont name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bballinbobby87
Couples
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2012

Great room with great staff

The room was excellent and the staff extraordinary! Very friendly. Good deal over all. I thought I would get a better view, but that's alright. The beach was about 7 miles away. Not too far. Pool was awesome and just a beautiful hotel! Wish I could have checked out more of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It's not far to drive to entertainment, dining, everything

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wei Zheng
Single
Wexford, PA
Jun 1, 2012

4 star price and 5 star experienec!

I enjoyed my experience in the Fairmont Newport beach. I used to stay in Westin Newport beach when I visit Orange County. This time I got a very good deal in Fairmont Newport beach. It has a great location and price was great too. The room is very clean, comparable to Westin. In future, I will alway stay in Fairmount Newport Beach when I visit Orange County.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a very beautiful area. The hotel has a decent amenities that are comparable to the Westin Newport beach. The price is very good

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly Kay
Family
Las Vegas
May 30, 2012

Family time

Had a great time at the hotel, the staff were magnificent; if we ever travel outside US, I would definately stay at a Fairmont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Mom Lil
Family
Livonia, MI
May 16, 2012

Hotel close to the airport.

Nice hotel, just disappointed about only Valet only parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arabrab
Family
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Short visit

Great experience...the pull out couch was uncomfortable but staff was efficient and friendly about moving to a new room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

R&D Restaurant

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
megadoodle
Couples
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

last minute christmas

we booked this hotel because it was the best value between good reviews from users and price, and we were NOT disappointed. It may not be super high end luxury penthouse sort of stuff, but for the price of a 'valu' type place you get an absolutely fabulous stay. And getting discounts on the valet and food through this site made it even better. Bed was comfy, room was nice, staff were awesome. We didn't try any of the hotels other amenities as we were spending most of our time with family, but I"m sure they were nice. Overall, good stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arabrab
Family
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Personal trip

Location fantastic, staff excellent. The junior suite pull-out couch is very uncomfortable, but they moved us quickly and easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A must eat - R&D Kitchen at Fashion Island

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Safin2004
Couples
Lansing, MI, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Fall Getaway

This hotel is very nice, the location is great and the staff was very friendly. The valet parking fee is a little steep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food in the restaurant, especially for breakfast is very pricey......Jamba Juice across the street and an Ihop near the airport.

Back to menu Return to top