$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Fairmont Newport Beach

4 stars
View map of 4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Newport Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAMAN
Business
Visalia, CA
Oct 26, 2014

My Stay

Room was very nice and the hotel was well kept. The exercise room and outdoor area were great too. The only annoying thing was the required valet parking at $30 a night plus tips, There is no other place to park. This detail is not disclosed when booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CA Bass Traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 22, 2014

5 star name, 3 star quality

Outdated property in serious need of a refresh. Not a true Fairmont experience. Worn out furniture and fixtures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deerhaven
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 30, 2014

Beautiful weekend at the fair not

We spent 3 days here and enjoyed each one. The room was adequately spacious and the beds very comfortable. The pool, spa and fitness center were all first class. The location is airport adjacent and near many restaurants at all price levels. Caveats- this is not a close to the beach location and a substantial and unexpected mandatory valet charge (required due to the location) were only disappointments. The staff were very professional throughout our time and always provided anything we requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No places to walk to but numerous restaurants are within 1-2 miles.

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
felisaaero
Business
moving from out of state
Sep 3, 2014

Elegant Comfort

Fairmont always has a way to make you feel at home. We enjoyed stay at every Fairmont, including this one where our room was excellet. However, the crazy $30 parking fee per night (only valet available), the $28 midnight chicken wrap room service, and the lack of a good weekday rate made us switch the Radisson across the street. There's no comparison between the two. You pay what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park across the street overnight to save yourself $30 a night.

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen Sween
Business
San Diego
Aug 5, 2014

Great spot

I was just there for a night but the room was so nice and the bed was comfortable! The valet staff worked really hard and the front desk/housekeeping staff were very friendly and efficient. Getting to the beach was simple too, about 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tictar21
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 4, 2014

Good for price, needs refurbishment

Hotel staff was very friendly. The room was clean, but a bit dated. Especially the bathroom, the tub was not up to snuff for a Fairmont hotel (and certainly did NOT match the hotel's pictures). The bed was comfortable but had some sand in it :( Location was OK, close to airport which is good for business travelers, but a good 20min (especially in summer traffic) from the desirable beach areas. Not walkable to anything of note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sol Cocina was a great/fun mexican joint with excellent drinks and inventive guacamole.

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Moose family
Business
Las Vegas NV
Jul 28, 2014

THE NOT SO FAIRMONT NEWPORT BEACH

Good stuff- Room was very clean, plenty of room to move about. Lobby was pretty. Bad stuff - The air conditioner was horrible.- we were hot all night. Didn't realize we were right across the st from the airport-plane lights through the curtains all night long . When we went to bed at 11 pm we realized that they had feather pillows which my husband is allergic to. Called and asked for 4 non feather pillows to replace them, took an hour and she brought 2 - one was still a feather pillow- took another 30 minutes to get the correct pillows. Not fun after a long tiring drive in. Staff were rude and condescending, especially when we were checking in. She tried to upswell our room to a jr suite for an additional $120/night, and when we said no thanks they kept dropping the rate to 100 then 80 then 60.....if you can do it got 60/night offer it at that rate to begin with- it made us feel like we were being taken advantage of. At checkout time my husband went to get a luggage cart- was chased down the hallway by a bellman who said we could not use it unless we used a bellman- we had purchased some very expensive artwork and items and did not want anyone handling them, so my husband had to make 3 trips down up and down from our room and carry all our stuff while I stood in the heat outside watching our items and waiting for our car. We were not aware before booking that only valet parking was offered. We didn't like not being able to self park, because you don't have easy access to our vehicle if we had forgotten something - just not convenient if you are in and out of the room frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great little restaurant - Gullivers prime ribs only about a mile away.

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claykeeper
Business
Newport Beach
Jul 25, 2014

Close, convenient and comfortable

Great experience, lovely spa, best staff ever ! Close to beaches, shopping, theme parks. Staff very helpful with directions, friendly and quick. Shuttle available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Spa....massages, facials, full salon.

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yamo
Business
La Mirada CA
Jul 24, 2014

Fairmont Hotel

Good Price/restauarnt has delicous food. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is good but pricey

Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Good times 4th of july
Business
Newport dunes
Jul 7, 2014

4th of July madness

Room was not ready on time ..when we finally got our room the room smelled like cigarette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top