$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Balboa Inn

3 stars
105 Main St, Newport Beach, CA 92661
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
36 reviews
Wedding!!

We stayed at the Balboa for our son and daughter in laws wedding. It was comfortable and... See full review

  • Travel123456
  • Oct 16, 2014
Great day at the beach

Great hotel, staff, perfect so close to beach. Great stay. Room was very nice. Perfect place to stay. See full review

  • Guest 123
  • Aug 8, 2014
Balboa Inn is a beachfront hotel close to shopping, dining and water sports activities. The hotel is great for family or romantic retreats, outdoor ocean view wedding ceremonies and banquets of up to 175 people. Other amenities include a ballroom, bar, barbecue area, conference facilities, wireless internet, restaurant, room service and spa services.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Balboa Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Balboa Inn Rooms

Family Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning some rooms, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace some room, Bathrobe Resort Suites, Bathroom amenities, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Room service, Room service, Room service, Valet service and Voicemail.
Courtyard Suite
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning some rooms, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace some room, Bathrobe Resort Suites, Bathroom amenities, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Room service, Room service, Room service, Valet service and Voicemail.
Oceanview Suite
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning some rooms, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace some room, Bathrobe Resort Suites, Bathroom amenities, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Room service, Room service, Room service, Valet service and Voicemail.
Resort Oceanview Suite
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning some rooms, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace some room, Bathrobe Resort Suites, Bathroom amenities, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Room service, Room service, Room service, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning some rooms, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace some room, Bathrobe Resort Suites, Bathroom amenities, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Room service, Room service, Room service, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
Siena Italian restaurant featuring northern Italian cuisine. Also available for weddings, corporate events and private parties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Balboa Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel123456
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 16, 2014

Wedding!!

We stayed at the Balboa for our son and daughter in laws wedding. It was comfortable and convenient. The persons working there could not have been any more accommodating and friendly. We felt like we were treated special but then realized they are wonderful to everyone! Super visit! The only suggestion would have been to wipe the dew off of the tables and seats in the morning at the breakfast area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Beach mom
Business
Lake Havasu, Arizona
Sep 24, 2014

Getaway

The staff was very helpful. We had a great time!! Thanks! See you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guest 123
Business
Cincinnati, oh
Aug 8, 2014

Great day at the beach

Great hotel, staff, perfect so close to beach. Great stay. Room was very nice. Perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Just A Road Warrior
Business
Rancho Cordova
Jul 18, 2014

Great Beach getaway spot

great location: at the beach and close to disneyland (but not to close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattwill
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jun 16, 2014

Overall good stay

Great location, good service. My room was a little small but manageable with one person. Location is a little tricky, hard to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BJ's literally ten steps across the street from the hotel lobby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viv. Wirf
Business
Granada hills calif
Apr 28, 2014

Garage sale weekend

I love this hotel. But room was not very clean .they are remodeling part of hotel They put us in the older section. Doors were very dirty plus they did not have maid service I had to go get towels I will stay again I hope they get their staff in order

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go shop and eat on balboa island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sknnotstir3
Business
San Clemente , ca
Apr 6, 2014

Balboa on the sand

Very friendly staff, cute boutique hotel. Can't beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Corder Mom
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 31, 2014

Overrated

Dirty wood floors; old, cracked bathroom tiles; torned shower curtain; one small towel rack for everyones' bath towels; no extra electric plugs; had to plug small coffee pot on stairwell. Extra charge for WIFI; $25/night for parking; no ice machine; steep, unlit staircase to suite; no smoke alarm in living & sleeping area. Noisy cantina across the street; deafening jet noise from Orange county airport all day and all night. Definitely not worth the price, even with 40% discount. Our family will not return and will not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just Watch Out
Business
Glendora, CA
Jan 9, 2014

Black Mold in the bathroom

I stayed in Dec. 2013, from the black mold in the bathroom to the filthy and holes in the carpets. I paid over $300.00 for a suite that was more smelly than suite. When we checked in the girl was so busy on her cell phone she couldn't be bother in finding a map of the area. Do yourself a favor don't stay there. We called to ask for help on the fireplace which was broken the staff could have cared less. After thinking about it for a month, in January I called the manager, as of yet he hasn't returned my phone call. I don't want my money back, but just to tell people be careful, the pictures on the web site aren't true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to attraction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balboa Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Randy's Fun
Business
Brea, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Passage to pain.

Our room was great with a wonderful ocean view. The only problem is the hotel is in 2 parts. The more expensive ocean view building with the Jacuzzi is separated from the main hotel by a bike lane. There is a 2nd bridge. However, on the Sunday we stayed, for some reason, they were "remodeling" the 1st floor so they closed the 2nd floor bridge. This meant anyone in the ocean building had to walk down to the streets to walk over to the 2nd floor breakfast buffet. Anyone in the main building also had to walk the streets to use the Jacuzzi. At 11:00 A.M. we used the Jacuzzi and returned to our room to discover the key no longer worked (check out is noon). Since I was soaking wet in a robe & swimsuit I decided I didn't want to walk the streets. I broke the yellow tap & used the 2nd floor bridge. After getting a new key card I walked back to the bridge. I was verbally assaulted by some employee in Spanglish that the area was closed. Used a hand sign to let him know I didn't care and proceeded to my room. Otherwise, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

21 Oceanfront has excellent food. Very romantic. Most outstanding is the service. One of the best places I've ever been.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top