$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 14, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
36 reviews
San Diego vacation

Hotel was clean, comfortable and modern. Staff was friendly and the grounds were well maintained.... See full review

  • Neil M.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Couldn't ask for more

We were visiting family. The hotel staff was professional and friendly. The rooms were clean, the... See full review

  • Jamma H
  • Jun 16, 2014
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel is a brand new hotel, with 149 rooms and 24 suites all nicely decorated and equipped with the latest technology that a savvy business - leisure traveler expects. Our hotel is located off Interstate 5, just minutes away from San Diego's best attractions. Some of the attractions are Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, San Diego's Padres Petco Park, Charger's Qualcomm Stadium, Balboa Park, beaches and much more. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel's rooms are accessed through interior corridors, some rooms with private balcony. Our hotel has a restaurant and sports bar on site for guests to unwind. Some of the amenities the hotel has to offer include a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people, outdoor pool and spa, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Free ample parking is available for hotel guests. Hotel shuttle service is available to and from the red trolley station for easy access to downtown San Diego and other local attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,EXECUTIVE,37INLCDTV,REFRIG, SOFABED
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTB,SFBD,NSM
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,EXECUTIVE,37INLCDTV,REFRIG, SOFABED
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32LCD,HISPD,REFRIG,WRKDSK,PILLOWTOP
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,EXECUT,32LCD,REFRIG,SOFABED,WRKDSK
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32LCD,HISPD,REFRIG,WRKDSK,PILLOWTOP
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,BALCONY,32LCD,HISPD,REFRIG,PILLOWTP
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,BALCONY,32LCD,HISPD,REFRIG,PILLOWTP
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

In & Out Burger
0.25 mile(s) from In & Out Burger, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Pier 32 Waterfront Grill
0.25 mile(s) from Pier 32 Waterfront Grill, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Buster's Beach House
Buster's Beach House, on premises, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Brand new restaurant with sports bar.
Denny's
0.25 mile(s) from Denny's, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neil M.
Business
PITTSBURGH
Jan 5, 2015

San Diego vacation

Hotel was clean, comfortable and modern. Staff was friendly and the grounds were well maintained. Location was ideal for all area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kristatrue
Business
Colorado
Dec 7, 2014

Comfortable stay

Very comfortable, clean hotel with a very convenient location. Very close to I-5, but did not notice any road noise and we were on that side. It is a few miles south of the "downtown area", but it was a super easy, quick drive to anywhere. We went to the zoo, the Civic Theater, Mission Beach, La Jolla and only put a quarter tank on our rental car :) The room was clean and modern. The only downside was the lack of breakfast, but the frige/micro in the room made it work for us, and the Keurig in the lobby was a nice surprise. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see WICKED when it is touring at the Civic Theater, and dine at The Currant before the show (great happy hour) park behind the Sofia Hotel and your are right in the middle of the two!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wwwxyz
Business
xxx
Nov 25, 2014

xxxxxx

everything was fine but that noise from the food establishment was terrible wish we had seen notice of it when we booked maybe other side of hotel --away from noise would be ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Koala lover
Business
Dixon Illinois
Sep 22, 2014

close to base

I liked being close to the base. Was disappointed that the desk staff did not tell me about the discount coupons they had for the restaurant next door. In the bathroom I found a dirty wash cloth hanging on the shower rack and a dirty sock by the vanity that were left behind from the last guest. That was enough to turn me off. The entry way was very nice and we did not use the pool area or work out room so I know nothing about those

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was good and so was the service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamma H
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 16, 2014

Couldn't ask for more

We were visiting family. The hotel staff was professional and friendly. The rooms were clean, the pool was nice. Everything was convenient. Nice fitness center. I was able to use the business center at 2 a.m. to check on a school assignment and to do my flight boarding the night before our departure because they are open 24 hours. The room had a mini fridge and microwave. The cleaning staff did a great job everyday. The rates were reasonable. I have no complaints. We really could not have asked for more. I have stayed at many other hotels and this was truly one of my best hotel stays. Thank you Best Western Plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zimeroooni
Business
central california
Apr 12, 2014

marina bay

everything was good! Just wished they had more than a Kuerig with a lineof people for breakfast.... maybe a continental breakfast at least

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finnish sisters
Business
San Diego, Ca
Sep 17, 2013

Great hotel value

''Great room, 2 queen beds, very comfortable. Friendly staff, easy location to visit all of San Diego. Close to ocean, marina, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABBAALEX
Business
San Ysidro California
Dec 31, 2012

Personal Staff needs more Customer Care

I made a mistake of booking the Hotel under my name only and paid with the other guys credit card....They would not give the room to my buddy until I actually showes up and check in myself which was over 5 hours waiting for the room. I finally called and straighten things up and was able to enter the room about 1 hour later after coming all the way from Paris and being jet lagged not a fun way to enter your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eediah
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 2, 2012

Wonderful stay

Did a late check in but still accommodated me and was very friendly. Except for next door who keeps slamming their doors

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Val Super Mom
Business
San Marcos, CA
Sep 16, 2012

Great for family or business stay.

I was very impressed with this hotel. Best Western has come a long way! Furnishings were beautiful. Room was spcacious, had a small refrigerator, coffee pot and vending machines at each floor. You can order a meal that is delivered to your room directly from the restaurant next door. I ordered breakfast and they were courteous and fast, the food was great. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top