$340 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Carneros Inn

5 stars
4048 Sonoma Highway, NAPA, CA 94559
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
10 reviews
Simply amazing!

I never wanted to leave here, and I already cannot wait to come back! From check in, to check out,... See full review

  • CarrieMcGeehon
  • Nov 19, 2013
Great getaway!

Loved this hotel! The service was fabulous. The entire staff was very professional and attentive to... See full review

  • Ckaplan
  • Aug 28, 2014
Private farm-chic cottages on 27 acre luxury vineyard setting

The Carneros Inn is an indulgent Napa Valley retreat for sophisticated couples and families. Stylistic farm-chic design channels the barns and farmhouses of agricultural Northern California. World-class luxuries include private cottages on 27 acres of private apple orchards and vineyards, a world-class spa and some of the best dining in world famous California wine country. Vineyard picnics are encouraged.
Highlights
  • Each cottage has a private garden landscaped by world-renowned designers of the Getty Museum Los Angeles grounds
  • Complimentary bicycle rentals
  • Day spa for guests only
  • Prime location between Napa and Sonoma (a 10-minute drive either way)
Rooms
Every room at the Carneros Inn is a 450-square-foot cottage. Lavish minimalist interiors are in black, white and khaki motifs with floor-to-ceiling windows. Each private garden has a furnished, gas-heated sundeck and a front porch with rocking chairs and laptop plug-ins. Modern home extravagances include smooth Italian linens, heated slate bathroom floors, flat-screen satellite televisions, state-of-the-art sound systems, Brazilian cherry wood floors, in-room safes and free Wi-Fi. Clean up in very private open-air patio showers shielded from the vineyard expanse by simple corrugated tin, deep roomy garden bathtubs or limestone indoor showers. All cottages have wood-burning fireplaces and vaulted ceilings.
Features
Light and airy grass-covered grounds at the Carneros Inn include a full-scale fitness center, yoga sessions and complimentary parking.
Dining
Carneros Inn ensures guests dine outdoors whenever their hearts desire, always on ingredients from within 150 miles. Four eateries range from daytime poolside to first-rate fine dining. For breakfast, artisan pastries are baked on-site. Enjoy lunch alfresco at casual Hilltop restaurant. Grab cheese and wine at the market or order a dinner to go for a picnic. The Farm serves simply exquisite California cuisine and an award-winning wine list. Room service is available at all times.
Recreation
The Carneros Inn has a stunning swimming pool courtyard with lap and kids pools, plus hot tubs. Check kids into babysitting while trying a hydrotherapy bath or grape treatment at the renowned full-service day spa. Near the spa an all-adults hilltop infinity pool is bordered by nothing but miles of rolling hill vineyards.
Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (58.6 mi/94.4 km)
Attractions
  • Napa, Calif. (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Chardonnay Golf Club (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Sonoma, Calif. (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Yountville, Calif. (12.7 mi/20.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Event space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Carneros Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Car rental desk
Projector
White board
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for The Carneros Inn

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RLV11
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Perfect

We just returned from a wonderful trip at the Carneros Inn. It was such a great stay. From the moment we arrived, everything was outstanding, particularly the service. The staff is so attentive and friendly, the grounds are beautiful. We loved the hilltop pool, and breakfast at the Boon Fly Cafe each day. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great, relaxing vacation and good value for luxury accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ckaplan
Business
Williamsville, NY
Aug 28, 2014

Great getaway!

Loved this hotel! The service was fabulous. The entire staff was very professional and attentive to our needs. The cottages are very nice- beautiful bathrooms, outdoor showers, and patios, as well as a nice room with a fire place! The hilltop pool was amazing, and the landscaping of the carneros inn was beautifully manicured. The hotel has amazing views! It was definitely a great place for a getaway in Napa valley. We ate breakfast at boon fly cafe every day and it was delicious. Would def return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ckaplan
Business
Williamsville, NY
Aug 24, 2014

Beautiful hotel and great service!

Stayed at the carneros inn and had a great trip! The hotel is beautifully landscaped, and we loved our cottage with our outdoor shower and personal deck. The staff was extremely professional and very attentive to our needs.The boon fly cafe was excellent and we ate breakfast there every morning. The hotel really helped us to enjoy the napa experience with their superb staff. The pool is beyond gorgeous as well as the views. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarrieMcGeehon
Business
Los Gatos, California
Nov 19, 2013

Simply amazing!

I never wanted to leave here, and I already cannot wait to come back! From check in, to check out, literally everything was perfect. We were offered a complimentary glass of wine when we checked in, and she topped it off for us before we left for our room. The property is HUGE, so they had somebody escort us to our room so we didn't get lost. The "rooms" are actually cute little cottages. They all have their own porches with rocking chairs! There's also a fire place inside the room, which was perfect for the cold night. The bed was so comfy! Our bathroom was massive! They have the heated floors which is such a nice touch. The shower was nice and roomy, and it actually leads to an outdoor private shower! We had our own backyard too which was amazing. It included a little deck with a table and two lounge chair a with an outdoor heater. They offer free bike rentals which is awesome! They're cute little cruisers, which we rode down a back road to some nearby wineries they recommended. Literally everything about this place is amazing. It was so nice, quaint, and everybody was extremely professional and friendly. I can't wait until we plan our next trip back! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

They offer complimentary bike rentals, and give you a map of the wineries within biking distance. These wineries offer free tastings if you're staying at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJBSf
Business
San Francisco, California
Apr 17, 2013

Top notch

Would definitely recommend staying here. A great place to relax and get away from it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 30, 2012

Luxurious wine country resort

Amazing resort with several dining options and two great pools. Views to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great options

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RLV11
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Perfect

We just returned from a wonderful trip at the Carneros Inn. It was such a great stay. From the moment we arrived, everything was outstanding, particularly the service. The staff is so attentive and friendly, the grounds are beautiful. We loved the hilltop pool, and breakfast at the Boon Fly Cafe each day. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great, relaxing vacation and good value for luxury accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty Picky Traveller
Business
Granite Bay, CA
Nov 2, 2010

Unique, Beautiful and relaxing

The separate cottages give you a feeling that you have a whole house to yourself, heated bathroom floors, indoor/outdoor showers are unique, heated garden to give you additional room to relax, beverages and fruits are complimentary. Taking a walk of the grounds with apple and fig trees and peaceful fountains are lovely. Robes and slippers are provided for your use. They thought of everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northfield, MN
Jun 27, 2010

Exceeded Our High Expectations

Usually, a hotel's website will make the rooms and grounds appear better then they actually are. Not in this case. We had high expectations based on the price, reviews we read, and the website's photos of the resort. It was even more serene and picturesque than we imagined. Canneros Inn is a truly unique resort: small cottages, isolated setting, abundant gardens, views that overlook a vineyard with mountains in the distance, first class dining at the Farm restaurant, outgoing concierge staff, and top-notch friendly service. We had a couple's massage at the spa that was fantastic. The spa offers a steam room and sauna as well. Attention to the smallest details from fresh fruit and mint ice water to lovely outdoor massage tables make the spa exceptional. The concierge also arranged for a shuttle to Napa Valley Balloons, which provides hot air ballon rides over Napa, followed by a small champagne breakfast - this is a must! After seeing many resorts in the Napa/Sonoma area, we are convinced we found the gem among them. We will be back to Carneros Inn again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Ballon Ride - you get a shuttle from the hotel to the take-off site. In the ballon, you fly over vineyards, clouds, and small rolling hills - absolutely amazing views. Afterwards, you go back to Dom Chandon Winery for a small hot breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, MD
Apr 27, 2010

LOVE The Carneros Inn

The hotel was absolutely perfect and we really enjoyed our stay here. We had our own private house/cottage with a front porch, indoor sitting area with fireplace, comfortable bed, huge bathroom with heated floor, easy access and private outdoor shower, private deck with table, chairs and lounge chairs and our very own garden. What's better than that? Everyone there was very nice and helpful. The concierge gave us great suggestions for wineries. We had brunch at the Hilltop restaurant and ate outside over looking the pool and views of the beautiful country side and surrounding vineyards. We went to Market and purchased cheese, bread and wine for our own enjoyment on our private deck. We had a delicious dinner at Boon Fly Cafe. And enjoyed drinks outdoors by a fire pit at Farm. The grounds were extensive, but everything was walkable and beautiful. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Carneros Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 2, 2009

Amazing Resort

The Carneros Inn takes luxury to another level! We spent one evening there during a weekend trip to Napa and fell in love with the place. We dined at the Boon Fly Cafe for breakfast (excellent food for a reasonable price, just get there before 9 am) and the Farm for dinner (fresh ingredients, great wine list). We also picked up sandwiches and snacks at the Marketplace for a picnic...great food and very convenient. The service at this resort is unbelievable! From check-in to showing you to your room, this hotel is very well managed. Make sure to leave enough time in your schedule to spend time on the property. It is absolutely beautiful, and we will definitely go back to enjoy more of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dine at the Boon Fly Cafe for breakfast and the Farm for dinner. Pick up a picnic lunch at the Marketplace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top