$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

River Terrace Inn

4 stars
1600 Soscol Avenue, Napa, CA 94559
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
131 reviews
Romantic, charming stay

Just want we were looking for. Location to downtown was perfect, live music on the patio every... See full review

  • almost honeymooners
  • Jul 8, 2014
Fabulous Girl's Trip

This hotel is perfect. 10 min walk to great shopping and food. Comfiest beds ever! Beautiful... See full review

  • Tahoe79
  • Jun 3, 2014
Walk to downtown Napa and river from luxury boutique hotel
River Terrace Inn is a boutique hotel on the Napa River in an ideal downtown location. Guests participate in refined relaxation at the on-site restaurant and pool with tranquil views of the river and wildlife sanctuary. Free perks make it a good value in one of the top wine and culinary destinations. Walk to restaurants, tasting rooms and Napa Valley Wine Train.
Highlights
  • Free bicycle rentals
  • Local artists gallery
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free valet and self parking
Rooms
Wake up to Napa River views. The River Terrace Inn is home to 106 warm accommodations in soothing nature tones. Expect modernized fixtures such as iPod docks, DVD/CD players, free Wi-Fi and 37-inch flat-screen TVs. All rooms have 10-foot ceilings, free bottled water and mini refrigerators. Bathrooms have granite countertops, terry towels and hypoallergenic products by Bath & Body Works. Beds have hypoallergenic pillow-top mattresses and 400 thread-count sheets. Wine storage units are available upon request. This is a 100 percent nonsmoking hotel.
Features
River Terrace Inn offers guests a wide view of the Napa River from the bubbling hot tub. An outdoor heated pool and full-scale fitness center are on-site. A full menu of spa treatments allows guests to unwind with a couples massage or sea salt foot soak in total comfort. This hotel has a concierge and 24-hour front desk.
Dining
Breakfast, lunch, dinner and a wine bar are available at River Terrace Inn. Enjoy grilled sandwiches, local cheeses, steak and fresh seafood with fine Napa Valley wines over a casual river view. Friday evening wine tastings are complimentary. A well-known fine dining restaurant is next door. Room service is available all the time.
Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (58.1 mi/93.6 km)
Attractions
  • Napa Valley Wine Train (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Oxbow Public Market (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Chardonnay Golf Club (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Yountville, Calif. (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Sonoma, Calif. (16.8 mi/27 km)
Business
  • In-room desks
  • Free daily newspapers
  • Complimentary laptop rentals
  • Offers 2,400 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering and event planning

River Terrace Inn Rooms

Village King Standard
Village King Room includes Internet and Parking
Village King Accessible
Accessible Room - 1 king bed-roll in shower or bathtub with grab bars
Village Queen Balcony
Village Queen Deluxe Room with Balcony
Riverside King
Riverside King
Riverside Whirlpool Room
Riverside Whirlpool Room
River View Deluxe Whirlpool
River View Deluxe Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Terrace Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.3051 -122.2833
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 55.00, MI, NE; Sacramento International Airport, (SMF), 65.00, MI, W; Napa County Airport, (APC), 7.00, MI, N; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 80.00, MI, N
Area description
Suburban

Dining

Bistro Don Giovianni
Italian Cuisine
Bounty Hunter
Wine Bar and Smokin BBQ
Cuvee
California Cuisine
Ristorante Allegria
Northern Italian
Compadres
Mexican Cuisine
Angele
French Cuisine
Celadon
Global Comfort Food
Downtown Joes
Grill and Micro-brewery
Ubuntu
Vegetarian Cuisine
ZuZu
Spanish Tapas

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for River Terrace Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wetgravity
Keller, TX
May 5, 2014

Just ok

Not sure what is wrong, but room was just a motel room and the staff beyond the front desk was incompetent. We sat down for breakfast and my wife and I ordered off the menu, but I asked to add the continental for four dollars according to the signage. I wanted a cheese croissant. After our order was taken, she came back and told me that the continental was 12 and the breakfast I ordered was going to be four dollars and much smaller...I said, ok. I picked up a Danish and muffin, and out came one eggs and one piece of bacon with a pile of potatoes...they were out of hash browns? Then came the bill, 12 for the continental and four for each...one slid of bacon, one egg and one plate of potatoes...what? Then they told me they weren't ting used to the system. Ok? They fixed it, but wth? The room river sidewas small and loud a/c with no view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired Business Owner
Medford, OR
Aug 13, 2010

Not what had expected from online

Went to a show at the Uptown theatre and to three wineries in St. Helena. Pricy for food and wine, enjoyable visit, people friendly. Found the hotel to be pricey for the amenities, balconies too small, hard to sit on. Pleasant atmosphere. But definitely not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Uptown theatre was beautiful and easy to get to. Too many restaurants to choose from, we went to a nice Italian place on 2nd street. Great food.

Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DnAli
Phoenix, AZ
May 27, 2010

Nice place, Good location, but...

Our stay in Napa was to tour the wineries and to visit the local restaurants. We were able to do both and the River Terrace Inn was a good base to stay. If you are keeping to the wineries near Napa, Yountville or Sonoma, this is the place for you. Hearldsburg is an hour, so plan accordingly. This place does not have wireless Internet which is quickly becoming vital these days. This was the end of a ten day trip we wanted to do laundry. We were told that there were no machines or facilities on the premises, but we could go to the laundromat down the street. They offered in house laundry service but I did not want to overpay for it. In such a humid location, the benefit of one machine available for guests is important Not very convenient. The breakfast was good, but the coffee cake was not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great dining opportunities abound in Yountville which is a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. There are a bunch of great places there to suit your tastes. All might be a little pricy, but you are in Napa!

Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex95037
Morgan Hill, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Clean with friendly staff

The hotel room are clean and basic, nothing special in the decor or beds. Reminds me of nice three star hotels but with a price tag higher than normal due to the location being Napa. In a less popular location, the price of a similar hotel would be a hundred dollars less. One note, the room does not come with a hair dryer so if you need one be sure to bring one. Overall, a pleasant experience, with the exception our room was next to a very noisy elevator. If you are sensitive to noise ask for a room away from the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iann
Western Arkansas
May 1, 2012

Good comfort & Clean

The room was large and very comfortable. The bedding was excellent. There was a sofa, desk and 2 chairs and it was not cramped. The bathroom was very clean and my wife appreciated having a separate lighted area to do her make-up, hair, etc. The rest of our experience was average - no complaints - just nothing special. There was a nice patio area with fireplaces for cool evenings - but no one was really gathering there when we checked it out the 2 nights we stayed. Good hotel for comfort and room, but if you are expecting anything else, you may be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marijose MS
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2013

awful staff

The staff was really rude and not friendly. Worst service ever. The hotel is ok, nice big and clean rooms. The restaurant is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired Business Owner
Medford, OR
Aug 13, 2010

Not what had expected from online

Went to a show at the Uptown theatre and to three wineries in St. Helena. Pricy for food and wine, enjoyable visit, people friendly. Found the hotel to be pricey for the amenities, balconies too small, hard to sit on. Pleasant atmosphere. But definitely not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Uptown theatre was beautiful and easy to get to. Too many restaurants to choose from, we went to a nice Italian place on 2nd street. Great food.

Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
Jul 11, 2011

Nice Hotel...not luxury

We made last minute plans to Napa and wanted to stay at a nice hotel. This hotel was right near the center of Napa and near many restaurants. The rooms were completely average. We faced the parking lot, so maybe if we had a room facing the back of the hotel, which over looked trees and the river, we would have liked it better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was within walking distance to the Oxbow Public Market where there were many restaurants.

Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bay Traveler
SF Bay Area
Apr 28, 2012

Good value for Napa

Good size room, comfortable bed. Poor sound insulation- noise from above and sides came right through the walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pine Ridge Winery best bet for nearby tasting.

Review of River Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DnAli
Phoenix, AZ
May 27, 2010

Nice place, Good location, but...

Our stay in Napa was to tour the wineries and to visit the local restaurants. We were able to do both and the River Terrace Inn was a good base to stay. If you are keeping to the wineries near Napa, Yountville or Sonoma, this is the place for you. Hearldsburg is an hour, so plan accordingly. This place does not have wireless Internet which is quickly becoming vital these days. This was the end of a ten day trip we wanted to do laundry. We were told that there were no machines or facilities on the premises, but we could go to the laundromat down the street. They offered in house laundry service but I did not want to overpay for it. In such a humid location, the benefit of one machine available for guests is important Not very convenient. The breakfast was good, but the coffee cake was not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great dining opportunities abound in Yountville which is a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. There are a bunch of great places there to suit your tastes. All might be a little pricy, but you are in Napa!

Back to menu Return to top