$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Napa Discovery Inn

2 stars
500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
13 reviews
Simple but very clean! And close to down town Napa!

It does not look like much when you pull in the parking lot to check in, but the room we had was... See full review

  • Evakauai
  • Oct 1, 2012
Great option for long term travellers!

We are on holiday for four weeks in US so we are keen to tightly manage our accommodation... See full review

  • Clareabelle
  • May 24, 2012
This property was extensively renovated in 2007 and is 2 miles from the California Conservation Corporation and Napa Valley College. Discovery Inn Napa, a Magnuson Hotels affiliate, located in the heart of Napa. This extensively renovated, property is located with walking distance of downtown Napa, the Napa Valley Wine Train, restaurants, COPIA, and the American Center for Wine, Food, and the Arts. The Napa Fair grounds are located just one block from the hotel. A short 10 mile drive to 5-star restaurants, wineries, hot air balloons, and health spas. This hotel also has satellite tv (with 100 channels), LED flat screen TV's in all rooms and free wireless internet access. Sorry, no pets accepted. Two bed room rates are based on 2 people only. There is a $20 extra person charge after 2 people in the room.

Hotel Map

38.2942 -122.2756
Area served
2 miles from the California Conservation Corporation and Napa Valley College, walking distance of downtown Napa, the Napa Valley Wine Train, restaurants, COPIA, and the American Center for Wine, Food, and the Arts.
Nearby airports
Napa County Airport is 5 miles from this hotel.
Area description
Located in the west central part of California, Napa was founded in 1847 as a river port. The Discovery Inn Napa is within walking distance of the historic downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Napa Discovery Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Napa Discovery Inn Rooms

2 Queens Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queens Beds Nonsmoking.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Napa Discovery Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 13
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3
Value:
3.4

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jonboy1
Business
Scotland
Jul 26, 2014

basic room

I suppose we got what we paid for.The room was very hot as the aircon was off when we arrived and it was 100 degrees.Main desk was abrupt and breakfast next morning was a joke.The area for breakfast was about 4ft x 4ft in the lobby.Bonus was it was close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid 1313 as it is expensive. we went to a place opposite the wells fargo and it was really good steak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abi's Critique
Business
California
Feb 25, 2013

wine tasting getaway

I liked the fact that the room was more of a studio and you haf your own parking spot right in front of your room. Bathroom was nice and was the only thing that wasn't really outdated. There was a stale scent in the room that was cured by airing out the room. I only used the room to sleep in so I wasn't looking for anything super fancy. I wouldn't go back again. Check out was at11 and the man at the front desk called at 10:30 asking if we were staying an extra day and told us to bring the key to the front desk. Rude!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evakauai
Business
Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Oct 1, 2012

Simple but very clean! And close to down town Napa!

It does not look like much when you pull in the parking lot to check in, but the room we had was large, with two queen size beds, microwave and nice size refrigerator! The bathroom and shower looked a bit dated but everything was very clean! Short drive into down town Napa or you could even walk if you wanted to! Price is very fair for this location! Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great meal at Cielito Lindo! Our waitress was very pleasant and she made us great margaritas! The food was very fresh and nicely prepared! If you like beets you must try the tamarind beet salad! It's to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clareabelle
Business
New Zealand
May 24, 2012

Great option for long term travellers!

We are on holiday for four weeks in US so we are keen to tightly manage our accommodation budget. This motel met all our expectations, plus it included a basic cereal breakfast with tea, coffee, juice and bagels! Our room was clean and tidy, and included a carport for our vehicle. The owners were also very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The inn is located a short drive from downtown Napa, which has a stack of beautiful stores and eateries. If you have time, you could walk into town over one of the many bridges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 27, 2011

A good option for the budget oriented

We were in Napa Valley for 3 days to explore the valley (our first time there) and, of course, to go wine tasting. We picked this hotel because it was the cheapest we could find in the Napa region. After reading several of the motel's reviews on yelp we were aware of what we were getting into (a cheap motel with low prices and good location in the valley). Gripes: the beds were hard and uncomfortable, but bearable. Pillows were thin and the blanket/comforter on the bed was about as thin as the bed sheets. Even with the wall heater on, I would still wake up cold from the flimsy bed coverings. I would strongly suggest bringing your own pillows and a nice thick blanket to keep you warm. For someone who is budget minded and only needs a place to sleep I think this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're there for wine tasting, do yourself a favor and drive up Silverado Trail at least once. It runs parallel to CA-29 (the main road used by everyone to go up and down wine country). The traffic is far less hectic and the views are breathtaking. Wineries also abound on the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 6, 2010

Meh.

It was pretty lame, but it's a motel. I should've known. I still think it should have been less than $100. We wanted to save money and spend it on wine, but I'd rather have paid the $50 for a room at a better place closer to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stuffym7
Business
Napa california
Jun 9, 2009

Not at all what we had expected

We spent a great deal of time in Glen Ellen, and Sonoma. We visited with friends and wineries in the area. This hotel was farther away then it lead on to be on the advertisement. The room was so small, uncomfortable and expensive compared to others we had stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sausalito, CA
May 8, 2009

Meh.

Needed an inexpensive place to stay in Napa for 1 night. We weren't planning on spending any time at the hotel, just needed a place to sleep. Discovery fit the bill by providing an inexpensive place to sleep but don't expect any frills. The room had an overbearing air-freshener smell, but everything was clean. Fluorescent lighting made the room feel clinical. On the plus side, there was a mini-fridge, microwave and cable tv. It's fine if you just need a place to crash, but don't go here if you want a real hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Azzurro Pizzeria e Enoteca in Napa (5 minute drive) is a fantastic place for dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top