$309 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

La Residence

4 stars
4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
Quaint boutique hotel

Very quaint boutique hotel in a good location for napa wineries. See full review

  • Jowilliams
  • Jan 20, 2014
Great Romantic Escape

It was my first trip with my new girlfriend and our first time to Napa. It was so much fun and... See full review

  • VF and CP
  • May 14, 2013
Small Napa inn offers a discreet wine country stay
La Residence is a bed-and-breakfast-style hotel in Napa, California. This small cottage-like accommodation dating back to the mid 19th century offers the classic vision of a boutique wine country getaway in French country style. Lovely patios and verandas showcase the sunny vineyard and 2-acre shady oak tree setting. The inn is easily accessed from St. Helena highway 29 in north Napa. Base a fulfilling wine country getaway at La Residence to ensure the best parts of the California lifestyle -- love of the outdoors and good conversation.
Highlights
  • On-site vineyard
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and evening wine tasting daily
  • Complimentary parking
Rooms
Four pretty wood shingle cottages house 26 rooms and suites bordering a vineyard. Soft beige and clean white hues are balanced by elegant European antique pine furniture and original artwork. Glass-paned French doors open to reveal wide yet discreet furnished patios hugged by oak treetops. Most rooms at La Residence have wood-burning fireplaces. Beds have Mascioni and Sferra fabrics and down-filled duvets. Bathrooms feature Matouk bath linens, Frette bathrobes and Molton Brown products. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs, CD players and free Wi-Fi. Suites have full-size gourmet kitchens.
Features
Spread out the newspaper and linger over a cup of coffee during a relaxed complimentary breakfast in the dining room or on the open-air sundeck. La Residence grounds feature a large outdoor swimming pool and 12-person Jacuzzi surrounded by plenty of lounge chairs for sunbathing. A classic spa menu of massages, facials and body scrubs are provided in-room at the inn. Each evening winds down the day with a complimentary wine and cheese pairing for guests. An inspired Italian bistro is within walking distance. Drive five minutes in either direction to reach world-famous culinary destinations in Napa and Yountville. Concierge staff at La Residence is happy to help plan.
Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (63.3 mi/102 km)
Attractions
  • Yountville, Calif. (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Napa Valley Wine Train (5 mi/8 km)
  • Napa Golf Course at Kennedy Park (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Culinary Institute of America (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Sonoma, Calif. (18.6 mi/29.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space

La Residence Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Includes 1 Queen size bed with down duvet and pillows. Matouk bath linen. Private entrances, private terrace or balcony. Flatscreen TV with cable. Telephone. CD player. Frette bathrobes. Wireless Internet access. Deluxe accomodations features European or American pine antiques, imported fabrics, down duvet, fine linens, orginal artwork. Non smoking.
King Deluxe
Includes 1 King size bed with down duvet and pillows. Matouk bath linen. Private entrances,most with private terrace or balcony. Flatscreen TV with cable. Telephone. CD player. Frette bathrobes. Wireless Internet access. Deluxe accomodations features European or American pine antiques, imported fabrics, down duvet, fine linens, orginal artwork. Non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.3425 -122.3255
Area served
Napa Valley Wine Country, California
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland and Sacramento Airports.
Area description
Five miles north of downtown Napa Valley. Less than one mile to several vineyards. Golf and tennis are within three miles. Napa Valley Wine Train and the Copia Cultural Art Center is five miles. The Culinary Institute of Amrica is ten miles from the Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for La Residence

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Apr 4, 2008

My review of La Residence

The hotel itself is very quaint, looks like an european inn with vineyards nearby. It has alot of character. However, it had drawbacks including the small room, the hot water ran out (couldn't take a shower at night or in the am), also the tv is very small. I was very disappointed with our room. The staff is friendly, the included breakfast is good, and the wine and cheese reception is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is only one restaurant nearby. Everyone we talked to rated it as one of the best in the area, which it was-Don Giovanni.

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Apr 4, 2008

My review of La Residence

The hotel itself is very quaint, looks like an european inn with vineyards nearby. It has alot of character. However, it had drawbacks including the small room, the hot water ran out (couldn't take a shower at night or in the am), also the tv is very small. I was very disappointed with our room. The staff is friendly, the included breakfast is good, and the wine and cheese reception is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is only one restaurant nearby. Everyone we talked to rated it as one of the best in the area, which it was-Don Giovanni.

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speedy Pat
Irvine, CA
Jan 16, 2010

Upscale motel

Nothing missing, just very ordinary like any other motel but a little more upscale. Picture on website is a little deceiving. Much smaller and not as rural. It was right off, facing the main highway. Fireplace didn't work unless you bought $5 log. No bathtub. Bed was very bad for people with back issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clarkwgrizwald
So cal
Dec 7, 2011

Good....

Overall la residence was fine. The staff was great, but it was the little things that made it a 3 star rather than a 4 star. First, I felt as if I rented a cabin rather than stayed at a hotel, for Some that would be fine, but I like a busier atmosphere. Second, the continental breakfast, skip it, it's not worth it even when it's free. Like I said la residence is fine, just don't expect 4 stars and you will enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speedy Pat
Irvine, CA
Jan 16, 2010

Upscale motel

Nothing missing, just very ordinary like any other motel but a little more upscale. Picture on website is a little deceiving. Much smaller and not as rural. It was right off, facing the main highway. Fireplace didn't work unless you bought $5 log. No bathtub. Bed was very bad for people with back issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ofelia
Northern California
Feb 6, 2012

Disappointing

We had high hopes. The websites photos were so nice. However, we were disappointed by a bed that was so soft that my back hurt the next day, a room with no dvd player (though most do have dvd players) and that was just so so, and a staff that just seemed to want to give the bare minimum and no more. Being super friendly goes a long way with us, but this place does not have a friendly atmosphere. And, although the breakfast room is nice and comfortable, the breakfast is blah, nothing special at all. Coffee, on the other hand, was very good. Overall, not worth the money at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daryl B.
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Nice little laid back hotel

This was a cool little hotel. It's only 25 or 30 rooms, but it has a distinct bed and breakfast feel to it. The rooms are cozy, but not too small. The hotel is kept up very well. When hotels advertise Continental Breakfasts, I generally dry-heave a bit, but this has a nice little buffet with fresh coffee and orange juice, and you actually sit down and order an omelette or french toast. The wine tasting in the afternoon offers a nice little break and/or warm up for a night out. We didn't have any road noise to speak of, even though it's right on the highway. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Feb 7, 2011

Loved It

We had a wonderful stay at La Residence in Napa. The property is beautiful, with a lovey pool, hot tub, and many outside spots to relax, drink a glass of wine, and soak in the beautiful scenery. The rooms were spacious and had a great deal of character - very french country. Bistro Don Giovanni is within walking distance so we had a great meal and didn't even have to travel. We will definitely plan to come back and stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Don Giovanni

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 23, 2011

great location, cozy place

We picked this inn based on other reviews. We were coming in from the east coast for a weekend get-away and wanted nice accomodations that left us with money left over for wine! It didn't disppoint, clean good sized room in a perfect location for restuarants and wineries. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time NAPA'r
Harrisburg, PA
May 11, 2010

Nice French Country getaway.

Enjoyed the hotel and surrounding NAPA Valley. The French Country Atmosphere was perfect. A little on the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top