$309 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

La Residence

4 stars
4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Quaint boutique hotel

Very quaint boutique hotel in a good location for napa wineries. See full review

  • Jowilliams
  • Jan 20, 2014
Great Romantic Escape

It was my first trip with my new girlfriend and our first time to Napa. It was so much fun and... See full review

  • VF and CP
  • May 14, 2013
Small Napa inn offers a discreet wine country stay
La Residence is a bed-and-breakfast-style hotel in Napa, California. This small cottage-like accommodation dating back to the mid 19th century offers the classic vision of a boutique wine country getaway in French country style. Lovely patios and verandas showcase the sunny vineyard and 2-acre shady oak tree setting. The inn is easily accessed from St. Helena highway 29 in north Napa. Base a fulfilling wine country getaway at La Residence to ensure the best parts of the California lifestyle -- love of the outdoors and good conversation.
Highlights
  • On-site vineyard
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and evening wine tasting daily
  • Complimentary parking
Rooms
Four pretty wood shingle cottages house 26 rooms and suites bordering a vineyard. Soft beige and clean white hues are balanced by elegant European antique pine furniture and original artwork. Glass-paned French doors open to reveal wide yet discreet furnished patios hugged by oak treetops. Most rooms at La Residence have wood-burning fireplaces. Beds have Mascioni and Sferra fabrics and down-filled duvets. Bathrooms feature Matouk bath linens, Frette bathrobes and Molton Brown products. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs, CD players and free Wi-Fi. Suites have full-size gourmet kitchens.
Features
Spread out the newspaper and linger over a cup of coffee during a relaxed complimentary breakfast in the dining room or on the open-air sundeck. La Residence grounds feature a large outdoor swimming pool and 12-person Jacuzzi surrounded by plenty of lounge chairs for sunbathing. A classic spa menu of massages, facials and body scrubs are provided in-room at the inn. Each evening winds down the day with a complimentary wine and cheese pairing for guests. An inspired Italian bistro is within walking distance. Drive five minutes in either direction to reach world-famous culinary destinations in Napa and Yountville. Concierge staff at La Residence is happy to help plan.
Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (63.3 mi/102 km)
Attractions
  • Yountville, Calif. (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Napa Valley Wine Train (5 mi/8 km)
  • Napa Golf Course at Kennedy Park (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Culinary Institute of America (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Sonoma, Calif. (18.6 mi/29.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space

Hotel Map

38.3425 -122.3255
Area served
Napa Valley Wine Country, California
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland and Sacramento Airports.
Area description
Five miles north of downtown Napa Valley. Less than one mile to several vineyards. Golf and tennis are within three miles. Napa Valley Wine Train and the Copia Cultural Art Center is five miles. The Culinary Institute of Amrica is ten miles from the Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

La Residence Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Includes 1 Queen size bed with down duvet and pillows. Matouk bath linen. Private entrances, private terrace or balcony. Flatscreen TV with cable. Telephone. CD player. Frette bathrobes. Wireless Internet access. Deluxe accomodations features European or American pine antiques, imported fabrics, down duvet, fine linens, orginal artwork. Non smoking.
King Deluxe
Includes 1 King size bed with down duvet and pillows. Matouk bath linen. Private entrances,most with private terrace or balcony. Flatscreen TV with cable. Telephone. CD player. Frette bathrobes. Wireless Internet access. Deluxe accomodations features European or American pine antiques, imported fabrics, down duvet, fine linens, orginal artwork. Non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for La Residence

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jowilliams
Dallas texas
Jan 20, 2014

Quaint boutique hotel

Very quaint boutique hotel in a good location for napa wineries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Intrepids
Berkshire, England
May 3, 2012

A perfect base to explore the Napa region

Our only regret is that we did not book for longer. We had one night at La Residence in one of the cottage rooms. The room was large, very private with a nice outlook onto a small patio garden area shared with the adjacent rooms. The staff were very pleasant and informative about the region. A nice touch was the wine and cheese every evening which helped us to meet some of the other guests in a relaxed manner. The grounds were beautifully maintained, good pool area and a secluded hot tub area. The only very slight negative was the proximity to the main road but in truth that did not bother us at all. Would we stay there again? Absolutely. Can we recommend it? Definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
.robin
houston, tx
Nov 2, 2009

very clean & quiet place for couples

very nice Country-style hotel with breakfast in the morning and wine in the afternoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Jan 31, 2008

La Residence what a great ...

La Residence what a great find! The fireplace in the room was a real treat. The room was spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff is very attentive, friendly and very accommodating. The location was excellent for touring the Napa and Sonoma Valley's. We enjoyed meeting other guests at the complimentary wine tasting every evening and delicious breakfast in the morning. Book it, you won't be disappointed. My wife and I can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane a Happy Traveler
Austin, TX
Aug 31, 2010

Classy retreat with a community feeling

This was our first time to the northern CA wine country and our intention was to visit as much of it as possible in a week. We will definitely go back and also will stay again at La Residence. The room we had was very comfortable, the bed better than the one we have at home! We enjoyed the wine reception every evening after our touring during the day. It promoted conversation between other residents at the hotel where we met many interesting people from all over the US and world. In the evenings we shared our experiences of our sightseeing and tours. The breakfasts were very good and they even provided some items not on the menu when asked for such as cereal,oatmeal,and even a yogurt parfait. We can't think of anything we lacked for. The staff was most attentive to any of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If the weather is good, take a hot air balloon ride (the hotel concierge will help you arrange it) which carries you over the vineyard valley and if the wind is right you can drift over the mountains to the Sonoma valley for landing. It was our first experience in a hot air balloon and we weren't scared since it was an easy lift off and landing.

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 20, 2007

I'll Be Back

Although La Residence was not the easiest place to find, it turned out to be quite a find. From the moment I drove into the property, with its sculpted landscaping in full bloom, I had a very good feeling about our stay. And that feeling remained for the duration of our stay. I had only planned on staying for two days, but it was so relaxing, we stayed for four. The Inn consisted of several building on a lovely property but maintained a B&B feel. I cannot say enough about the property manager of La Residence. From the time we checked in, he made us feel that our comfort wsa a priority. The breakfast in the morning was always quite nice. And in the evening, a very good wine was always served with a variety of hors d'oeuvres. After four days at La Residence, I was truly relaxed and hated to leave. I'm looking forward to my next stay in wine country and I know where I'll be staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giovanni's Beastro

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis
Nov 30, 2008

Perfect!

Our stay at La Residence was more than perfect. Great location, between Napa and Yountville. It is surrounded by a small vineyard...and divided in small houses, quaint and beautiful. Service was amazing, concierge was very helpful, she booked our appointments for the wineries and met with us to give advice and information about the region. Breakfast (fresh delicious omelets, fruit, toast, juice, coffee and pastries) and wine tasting (every day) is complementary. Great price. Highly recommended for your next trip to Napa, I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2007

Fabulous Experience

This hotel was a fabulous find for a birthday getaway! The room was extremely comfortable and well decorated. The grounds were beautiful guarding any noise from HWY 29. We very much enjoyed the wine and cheese served each evening and the heavenly continental breakfast (definitely not one of those cheap buffets that hotels label as breakfast). The hotel is also situated in a very central location within the Nappa Valley. We would go backa again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buchon in Yountville is absolutely amazing. Reservations are required for tables, but the bar is a free for all and quite fun to sit at.

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rob and peg
Chicago, Il.
Sep 24, 2009

La Residence

I cannot imagine a better place to stay. The Inn is beautiful with such a peacefull setting. The breakfasts were outstanding. The staff is very nice and helpfull. One of the most enjoyable aspects of our stay was the wine and cheeze hour every night where there is an unending glass of wine and many friendships made. La Residence has created an atmosphere that is that is so inviting, that everyone just mingles over a glass of wine. We met so many nice couples from all over the country and world, that it just adds a liitle something more special to our and I am sure everyone's trip. This is a great resort and I cannot imagine anyone not being thrilled with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Martini House in St Helena is great. PapaPietro Perry winery north of heraldsburg has fantastic pinot noir. You have got to try it.

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Jul 5, 2009

Beautiful romantic country inn

We have stayed in the Napa Valley before. It is an enchanting place to visit, and we were very happy to stay at La Residence, an upscale but not pretentious country estate. Our room on the second floor of the main house was beautifully furnished with a nice deck overlooking the valley. The staff was friendly and most helpful. It's a great place for a romantic weekend in Napa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mustard's Grill is fantastic, just north of Yountville, but call a couple of weeks in advance for reservations.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search