$309 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

La Residence

4 stars
4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
Quaint boutique hotel

Very quaint boutique hotel in a good location for napa wineries. See full review

  • Jowilliams
  • Jan 20, 2014
Great Romantic Escape

It was my first trip with my new girlfriend and our first time to Napa. It was so much fun and... See full review

  • VF and CP
  • May 14, 2013
Small Napa inn offers a discreet wine country stay
La Residence is a bed-and-breakfast-style hotel in Napa, California. This small cottage-like accommodation dating back to the mid 19th century offers the classic vision of a boutique wine country getaway in French country style. Lovely patios and verandas showcase the sunny vineyard and 2-acre shady oak tree setting. The inn is easily accessed from St. Helena highway 29 in north Napa. Base a fulfilling wine country getaway at La Residence to ensure the best parts of the California lifestyle -- love of the outdoors and good conversation.
Highlights
  • On-site vineyard
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and evening wine tasting daily
  • Complimentary parking
Rooms
Four pretty wood shingle cottages house 26 rooms and suites bordering a vineyard. Soft beige and clean white hues are balanced by elegant European antique pine furniture and original artwork. Glass-paned French doors open to reveal wide yet discreet furnished patios hugged by oak treetops. Most rooms at La Residence have wood-burning fireplaces. Beds have Mascioni and Sferra fabrics and down-filled duvets. Bathrooms feature Matouk bath linens, Frette bathrobes and Molton Brown products. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs, CD players and free Wi-Fi. Suites have full-size gourmet kitchens.
Features
Spread out the newspaper and linger over a cup of coffee during a relaxed complimentary breakfast in the dining room or on the open-air sundeck. La Residence grounds feature a large outdoor swimming pool and 12-person Jacuzzi surrounded by plenty of lounge chairs for sunbathing. A classic spa menu of massages, facials and body scrubs are provided in-room at the inn. Each evening winds down the day with a complimentary wine and cheese pairing for guests. An inspired Italian bistro is within walking distance. Drive five minutes in either direction to reach world-famous culinary destinations in Napa and Yountville. Concierge staff at La Residence is happy to help plan.
Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (63.3 mi/102 km)
Attractions
  • Yountville, Calif. (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Napa Valley Wine Train (5 mi/8 km)
  • Napa Golf Course at Kennedy Park (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Culinary Institute of America (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Sonoma, Calif. (18.6 mi/29.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space

La Residence Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Includes 1 Queen size bed with down duvet and pillows. Matouk bath linen. Private entrances, private terrace or balcony. Flatscreen TV with cable. Telephone. CD player. Frette bathrobes. Wireless Internet access. Deluxe accomodations features European or American pine antiques, imported fabrics, down duvet, fine linens, orginal artwork. Non smoking.
King Deluxe
Includes 1 King size bed with down duvet and pillows. Matouk bath linen. Private entrances,most with private terrace or balcony. Flatscreen TV with cable. Telephone. CD player. Frette bathrobes. Wireless Internet access. Deluxe accomodations features European or American pine antiques, imported fabrics, down duvet, fine linens, orginal artwork. Non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.3425 -122.3255
Area served
Napa Valley Wine Country, California
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland and Sacramento Airports.
Area description
Five miles north of downtown Napa Valley. Less than one mile to several vineyards. Golf and tennis are within three miles. Napa Valley Wine Train and the Copia Cultural Art Center is five miles. The Culinary Institute of Amrica is ten miles from the Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for La Residence

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 23, 2011

great location, cozy place

We picked this inn based on other reviews. We were coming in from the east coast for a weekend get-away and wanted nice accomodations that left us with money left over for wine! It didn't disppoint, clean good sized room in a perfect location for restuarants and wineries. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 23, 2011

great location, cozy place

We picked this inn based on other reviews. We were coming in from the east coast for a weekend get-away and wanted nice accomodations that left us with money left over for wine! It didn't disppoint, clean good sized room in a perfect location for restuarants and wineries. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daryl B.
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Nice little laid back hotel

This was a cool little hotel. It's only 25 or 30 rooms, but it has a distinct bed and breakfast feel to it. The rooms are cozy, but not too small. The hotel is kept up very well. When hotels advertise Continental Breakfasts, I generally dry-heave a bit, but this has a nice little buffet with fresh coffee and orange juice, and you actually sit down and order an omelette or french toast. The wine tasting in the afternoon offers a nice little break and/or warm up for a night out. We didn't have any road noise to speak of, even though it's right on the highway. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daryl B.
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Nice little laid back hotel

This was a cool little hotel. It's only 25 or 30 rooms, but it has a distinct bed and breakfast feel to it. The rooms are cozy, but not too small. The hotel is kept up very well. When hotels advertise Continental Breakfasts, I generally dry-heave a bit, but this has a nice little buffet with fresh coffee and orange juice, and you actually sit down and order an omelette or french toast. The wine tasting in the afternoon offers a nice little break and/or warm up for a night out. We didn't have any road noise to speak of, even though it's right on the highway. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native CA
Huntington, NY
Dec 30, 2010

Great stay for the money!

Good location, quaint, romantic, included breakfast, incredibly friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native CA
Huntington, NY
Dec 30, 2010

Great stay for the money!

Good location, quaint, romantic, included breakfast, incredibly friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamjus227
Hoboken, NJ
Sep 15, 2010

[...]

Very Romantic atmosphere :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamjus227
Hoboken, NJ
Sep 15, 2010

[...]

Very Romantic atmosphere :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane a Happy Traveler
Austin, TX
Aug 31, 2010

Classy retreat with a community feeling

This was our first time to the northern CA wine country and our intention was to visit as much of it as possible in a week. We will definitely go back and also will stay again at La Residence. The room we had was very comfortable, the bed better than the one we have at home! We enjoyed the wine reception every evening after our touring during the day. It promoted conversation between other residents at the hotel where we met many interesting people from all over the US and world. In the evenings we shared our experiences of our sightseeing and tours. The breakfasts were very good and they even provided some items not on the menu when asked for such as cereal,oatmeal,and even a yogurt parfait. We can't think of anything we lacked for. The staff was most attentive to any of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If the weather is good, take a hot air balloon ride (the hotel concierge will help you arrange it) which carries you over the vineyard valley and if the wind is right you can drift over the mountains to the Sonoma valley for landing. It was our first experience in a hot air balloon and we weren't scared since it was an easy lift off and landing.

Review of La Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane a Happy Traveler
Austin, TX
Aug 31, 2010

Classy retreat with a community feeling

This was our first time to the northern CA wine country and our intention was to visit as much of it as possible in a week. We will definitely go back and also will stay again at La Residence. The room we had was very comfortable, the bed better than the one we have at home! We enjoyed the wine reception every evening after our touring during the day. It promoted conversation between other residents at the hotel where we met many interesting people from all over the US and world. In the evenings we shared our experiences of our sightseeing and tours. The breakfasts were very good and they even provided some items not on the menu when asked for such as cereal,oatmeal,and even a yogurt parfait. We can't think of anything we lacked for. The staff was most attentive to any of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If the weather is good, take a hot air balloon ride (the hotel concierge will help you arrange it) which carries you over the vineyard valley and if the wind is right you can drift over the mountains to the Sonoma valley for landing. It was our first experience in a hot air balloon and we weren't scared since it was an easy lift off and landing.

Back to menu Return to top