$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Vagabond Monterey

2 stars
1010 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
19 reviews
Quick Getaway

The staff was nice when we went to check in. I booked the room two weeks in advance through a third... See full review

  • Quick and Fast Getaway
  • Oct 1, 2013
convenient, clean, nice fireplace

Nice hotel, unassuming staff. Coffee and light snacks in the morning. Great park accross the street... See full review

  • Madi's Mom
  • Aug 27, 2013
The Vagabond Inn Monterey is located in beautiful Monterey, California. Hotel are only half a mile from the beautiful California coast, and within walking distance from the Convention Center and Downtown Monterey. Cannery Row, which was famed in the novel by the same name, is a street filled with restaurants, shops, and canneries. It is also home to one of the world's largest aquariums. The Monterey Bay Aquarium has over 1.4 million visitors annually, and houses over 35,000 plants and animals. From famous golf courses, Pebble Beach Golf, to famous speedways, Laguna Seca, there is something for everybody in beautiful Monterey

Hotel Map

36.5915 -121.8952
Area served
San Fransisco.
Nearby airports
San Fransisco International Airport.
Area description
The Vagabond Inn Monterey is located in beautiful Monterey, California

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vagabond Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Vagabond Monterey Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The room offers one king bed with Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
The room offers Two double bed with Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Cannery Row famous in the Steinback Clasicc.
Gilroy Premium outlets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Monterey

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Clemente,CA
Jul 7, 2009

Wonderful! Awesome!

We all went to Hearst Castle, Cannery Row & Fisherman's Wharf & winerys the next day. We as a couple first trip together was wonderful. Then we had my best friends of 25yrs and their 9yr old daughter make a reservation to join us. It all worked out smoothly for their stay and we all were able to vacation together:) thanks so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was close at hand:)

Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Clemente,CA
Jul 7, 2009

Wonderful! Awesome!

We all went to Hearst Castle, Cannery Row & Fisherman's Wharf & winerys the next day. We as a couple first trip together was wonderful. Then we had my best friends of 25yrs and their 9yr old daughter make a reservation to join us. It all worked out smoothly for their stay and we all were able to vacation together:) thanks so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was close at hand:)

Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jun 1, 2009

Vagabond Inn

i was a bit apprehensive to stay in such an inexpensive hotel but to my great surprise the Vagabond exceeded my expectations. our room was a good size, comfy bed, fireplace, and though it was a bit dated, it was very clean and well maintained. i will be staying there again for sure, what a bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Domenico's on the Boardwalk was delicious! The crab-stuffed prawns were amazing!

Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jun 1, 2009

Vagabond Inn

i was a bit apprehensive to stay in such an inexpensive hotel but to my great surprise the Vagabond exceeded my expectations. our room was a good size, comfy bed, fireplace, and though it was a bit dated, it was very clean and well maintained. i will be staying there again for sure, what a bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Domenico's on the Boardwalk was delicious! The crab-stuffed prawns were amazing!

Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajadams
Yucaipa, CA
Jul 20, 2013

great couples stay

The location was ok, the same as tons if other hotels on the same street. I don't know much about exterior amenities since we only stayed one night. But the room had everything we needed to relax. Fridge and microwave for food we brought on our trip. The fireplace was probably my wife's favorite part. All the little amenities that make stays nice. Would definitely recommend especially if its on a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The 1 is gorgeous but really really long with almost no access to ocean. Almost always fog. Be prepared.

Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hlofink
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great getaway spot

My boyfriend and I went here to help fix our relationship. we got a little lost but then found it. It is in a great location. Walking distance to downtown. We were looking for a placs to get sure good drinks we went to mucky ducks, wasnt too good. So we went back to our room and turned on the fireplace and cuddled up with a movie. The bed was big and comfy. Our heater didnt work very well so I was a little cold all night. I would turn the fireplace on but it had a timer so I coukdnt leave it.on all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Papa chanos has amazing mexican food...its real authentic mexican food for pretty cheap too

Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SN John
Prairie du Sac, WI
Jun 24, 2013

everything I needed

The Staff was friendly, the bed was comfortable and the fireplace was a nice touch. It was in walking distance from downtown Monterey. Cannery Row is a bit further but if you catch the free trolley downtown there is no need to drive around the city. over all it was a nice stay well worth what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quick and Fast Getaway
South San Francisco, Ca
Oct 1, 2013

Quick Getaway

The staff was nice when we went to check in. I booked the room two weeks in advance through a third party site. We got to check in early. The room was very dark when we entered and it smelled like an old room. We opened the window and aired out the room. The room had your usual toiletries, but we usually bring our own. Breakfast had your usual coffee, pastries, and fruits. No cereal. It was a good hotel for a quick getaway, quite central to attractions. If you don't plan to spend much time in your hotel room, this is a quick choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try LouLou's Griddle in the Middle.

Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madi's Mom
ventura, ca.
Aug 27, 2013

convenient, clean, nice fireplace

Nice hotel, unassuming staff. Coffee and light snacks in the morning. Great park accross the street for walking and hiking. Close enough to the beach..about a 15 walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Vagabond Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pasoK
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Good value

We were looking for a basic place to stay close to the convention center. This fit the bill for 1/3 the cost of staying where the conference was held, and within walking distance. Nothing special, but a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top