$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Spindrift Inn

3 stars
652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
48 reviews
Great Getaway

We checked into the Spindrift for a short stay in Monterey celebrating our wedding anniversary. Had... See full review

  • Flossy15
  • May 19, 2013
great experience

from checkin to checkout excellent service Breakfast in the room a nice touch room facing street... See full review

  • otter 2
  • May 1, 2013
Romance on the beach, in the heart of Cannery Row
Cozy and classic, the time-honored Spindrift Inn rests peacefully in the heart of Cannery Row offering intimate ambiance directly on the beach. After renovations, the distinctive lobby welcomes guests with a sit-down check-in. Relax in wingback armchairs surrounded by Oriental carpets, antiques, original artwork and the warmth of a wood-burning lobby fireplace. Enjoy an Italian meal at Paradiso Trattoria on the first floor or savor ocean views from the rooftop garden. A continental breakfast arrives to each unique guest room on a silver tray.
Highlights

  • Unique guest rooms with fireplaces and free continental breakfast delivered daily
  • Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese reception at Spindrift Inn
  • Directly on McAbee Beach
  • Italian dining on-site with many restaurants within walking distance
  • Central along Cannery Row, a few blocks from the aquarium

Rooms
Even with so much to do in Monterey, the 45 charming, European-style rooms at Spindrift Inn make it tempting to stay put. In each unique room, hardwood floors, wood-burning fireplaces and view-laden window seats mix with marble bathrooms, a minibar, CD player and iPod docking station. Guests feel pampered and comfortable in classic accommodations with a touch of romance. Bathrobes, Aveda products and nightly turn-down service complement luxurious, goose-down bedding. Drift off to sounds of the gently crashing waves to find a complimentary continental breakfast delivered on a silver tray each morning. The window seats at Spindrift Inn look out to the ocean or bustling Cannery Row.
Features
As an oceanfront boutique hotel, the smoke-free Spindrift Inn treats its guests well, from the doorman to valet parking (fees apply). Walk to the wharf, downtown Monterey, the aquarium or Pacific Grove. Return in the afternoon to enjoy a hosted wine and cheese reception, featuring local, award-winning wines along with freshly brewed coffee and tea. Book an in-room massage, pick up a complimentary newspaper or head to the world-famous 17-Mile Drive nearby. 
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.7 mi/119 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (103 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.5 mi/71.6 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.9 mi/153 km)

Business

  • Free in-room Wi-Fi

Policies and Fees
  • Parking is $23 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6155 -121.8998
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Airport(MRY).
Area description
The hotel is located on Cannery Row in beautiful Monterey, CA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Spindrift Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Spindrift Inn Rooms

Cannery Row View
Room with one king bed offers feather bedding, hardwood floor,fireplace, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Color TV, iPod Docking Station, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access,Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Ocean View
Room with one king bed offers feather bedding, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access,Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Sardine Factory Restaurant
The Sardine Factory Restaurant, sister restaurant, on 701 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940. The hotel offers room service from 11 AM - 10 PM every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Spindrift Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Imincharge
San Jose, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Great Weekend Getaway

No better place to stay in Monterey. The staff was fabulous! There was a motorcycle event the weekend we stayed and we were ungraded to an ocean view room without having to ask which was a nice surprise.The bed was luxurious. The fireplace in the room is an added bonus. The ocean view is exceptional and relaxing. Perfect choice for a romantic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa K
Yuba City, CA, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Beautiful

Every staff member was super friendly and helpful. Our room was elegant and comfortable. We knew we would be arriving late so we got a cannery row view room. The view was fine but I think next time we will splurge for oceanside. We will definately be going back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 21, 2008

Lovely Corner Rooms

We had a 4th floor corner room with windows and window seats on two walls that overlooked Monterey Bay. They serve breakfast in bed each morning though your only option for eggs are 'boiled' - it is otherwise a nice touch. They also have wine and cheese at 4:00 p.m. The hotel was being remodeled while we were there - so there was some noise - but surprisingly we could hear the banging more from the lobby than in our room. The location on Canery Row in Monterey - walking distance from the acquarium and a number of restuarants is lovely. Asking about the French Bistro just two blocks up the hill from the Acquarium - it worth a walk. Valet parking at $16 a day is not cheap - but does include unlimited in/out privileges. It wasn't quite cold enough to light the fireplace but the room was still very romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fishhopper resturant - and is just next door - starbucks a block away and another coffess shop 2 blocks away - a bicycle rental place a block away - and the bikes were much nicer than what you get in San Francisco.

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 1, 2008

cozy place to stay

This was our second visit to the Spindrift Inn, we had stayed there 9 years ago on our honey moon. It is still a nice cozy place to stay. Our room had a fireplace and a sauna facing cannery rd. (spring for the ocean side we had that the first stay it's nice to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean) They bring you breakfast in the morning to your room it's very good. It was under a little constuction at this time but not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto
Oct 11, 2010

Great location and service

Staff is friendly, rooms are very clean, and wood burning fire place is great. The only thing that I would suggest is free wireless internet service. They have internet available but there is a charge to connect to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the discount coupons that are given to you when you check in. There are some coupons for the shops and resturants in the area that will save you some money. Bring a lot of change if you plan on parking on the street for the parking meters.

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 1, 2008

cozy place to stay

This was our second visit to the Spindrift Inn, we had stayed there 9 years ago on our honey moon. It is still a nice cozy place to stay. Our room had a fireplace and a sauna facing cannery rd. (spring for the ocean side we had that the first stay it's nice to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean) They bring you breakfast in the morning to your room it's very good. It was under a little constuction at this time but not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto
Oct 11, 2010

Great location and service

Staff is friendly, rooms are very clean, and wood burning fire place is great. The only thing that I would suggest is free wireless internet service. They have internet available but there is a charge to connect to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the discount coupons that are given to you when you check in. There are some coupons for the shops and resturants in the area that will save you some money. Bring a lot of change if you plan on parking on the street for the parking meters.

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Aug 11, 2009

romantic getaway

this is a very romantic hotel located right in the middle of cannery row. this was our first night away from our baby and it could not have been more romantic. from the wood burning fireplaces to the plush feather bed. we loved staying here and we have already recommended it to friends and family, we will stay her again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 21, 2008

Lovely Corner Rooms

We had a 4th floor corner room with windows and window seats on two walls that overlooked Monterey Bay. They serve breakfast in bed each morning though your only option for eggs are 'boiled' - it is otherwise a nice touch. They also have wine and cheese at 4:00 p.m. The hotel was being remodeled while we were there - so there was some noise - but surprisingly we could hear the banging more from the lobby than in our room. The location on Canery Row in Monterey - walking distance from the acquarium and a number of restuarants is lovely. Asking about the French Bistro just two blocks up the hill from the Acquarium - it worth a walk. Valet parking at $16 a day is not cheap - but does include unlimited in/out privileges. It wasn't quite cold enough to light the fireplace but the room was still very romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fishhopper resturant - and is just next door - starbucks a block away and another coffess shop 2 blocks away - a bicycle rental place a block away - and the bikes were much nicer than what you get in San Francisco.

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iiii ii
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Most romantic hotel in Monterey

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary weekend here while in Monterey. The hotel is right in the heart of the Cannery Row (doesn't get any better) of Monterey. The staff is extremely friendly and it's very clean everywhere. The brought-in breakfast is awesome. It's the most romantic place in Monterey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea Harvest Fish Market & Restaurant has awesome fish!

Back to menu Return to top