$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Spindrift Inn

3 stars
652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
29 reviews
A very pleasant surprise!

I booked two nights at the Spindrift not knowing anything more than what I could read about it... See full review

  • IthacaTom
  • Aug 9, 2014
Great Getaway

We checked into the Spindrift for a short stay in Monterey celebrating our wedding anniversary. Had... See full review

  • Flossy15
  • May 19, 2013
Romance on the beach, in the heart of Cannery Row
Cozy and classic, the time-honored Spindrift Inn rests peacefully in the heart of Cannery Row offering intimate ambiance directly on the beach. After renovations, the distinctive lobby welcomes guests with a sit-down check-in. Relax in wingback armchairs surrounded by Oriental carpets, antiques, original artwork and the warmth of a wood-burning lobby fireplace. Enjoy an Italian meal at Paradiso Trattoria on the first floor or savor ocean views from the rooftop garden. A continental breakfast arrives to each unique guest room on a silver tray.
Highlights

  • Unique guest rooms with fireplaces and free continental breakfast delivered daily
  • Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese reception at Spindrift Inn
  • Directly on McAbee Beach
  • Italian dining on-site with many restaurants within walking distance
  • Central along Cannery Row, a few blocks from the aquarium

Rooms
Even with so much to do in Monterey, the 45 charming, European-style rooms at Spindrift Inn make it tempting to stay put. In each unique room, hardwood floors, wood-burning fireplaces and view-laden window seats mix with marble bathrooms, a minibar, CD player and iPod docking station. Guests feel pampered and comfortable in classic accommodations with a touch of romance. Bathrobes, Aveda products and nightly turn-down service complement luxurious, goose-down bedding. Drift off to sounds of the gently crashing waves to find a complimentary continental breakfast delivered on a silver tray each morning. The window seats at Spindrift Inn look out to the ocean or bustling Cannery Row.
Features
As an oceanfront boutique hotel, the smoke-free Spindrift Inn treats its guests well, from the doorman to valet parking (fees apply). Walk to the wharf, downtown Monterey, the aquarium or Pacific Grove. Return in the afternoon to enjoy a hosted wine and cheese reception, featuring local, award-winning wines along with freshly brewed coffee and tea. Book an in-room massage, pick up a complimentary newspaper or head to the world-famous 17-Mile Drive nearby. 
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.7 mi/119 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (103 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.5 mi/71.6 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.9 mi/153 km)

Business

  • Free in-room Wi-Fi

Policies and Fees
  • Parking is $23 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6155 -121.8998
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Airport(MRY).
Area description
The hotel is located on Cannery Row in beautiful Monterey, CA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Spindrift Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Spindrift Inn Rooms

Cannery Row View
Room with one king bed offers feather bedding, hardwood floor,fireplace, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Color TV, iPod Docking Station, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access,Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Ocean View
Room with one king bed offers feather bedding, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access,Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Sardine Factory Restaurant
The Sardine Factory Restaurant, sister restaurant, on 701 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940. The hotel offers room service from 11 AM - 10 PM every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Spindrift Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IthacaTom
Ithaca, NY
Aug 9, 2014

A very pleasant surprise!

I booked two nights at the Spindrift not knowing anything more than what I could read about it online. I was worried in touristy Monterey that it would be over-hyped. But, it was a beautiful property with a truly amazing staff. Very welcoming. The room was beautiful as well. I loved the wood-burning fireplace!!! The evening wine hour was also a very nice touch, as was having breakfast delivered to my room each morning. I highly recommend the Spindrift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Taste of Monterey wine tasting shop is spectacular!

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IthacaTom
Ithaca, NY
Aug 9, 2014

A very pleasant surprise!

I booked two nights at the Spindrift not knowing anything more than what I could read about it online. I was worried in touristy Monterey that it would be over-hyped. But, it was a beautiful property with a truly amazing staff. Very welcoming. The room was beautiful as well. I loved the wood-burning fireplace!!! The evening wine hour was also a very nice touch, as was having breakfast delivered to my room each morning. I highly recommend the Spindrift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Taste of Monterey wine tasting shop is spectacular!

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cinderlou31
Oceanside, Ca
Feb 15, 2014

Romantic rooms

This was our second visit to the Spindrift. We love this hotel. An ocean facing room is a must. We saw dolphins every morning and of course sea otters and harbor seals are always present. The in room wood burning fireplace is wonderful on those cold mornings and evenings. The afternoon wine and cheese reception is great and we met several nice people sitting in front of the lobby fireplace eating cheese and sipping wine from a local vineyard. The continental breakfast is sufficient and best of all delivered to the room at a time you specify each morning. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There re several restaurants within walking distance. The hotel staff made several great recommendations.

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmilieS
Virginia Beach, VA
Nov 21, 2013

Enjoyed the Spindrift Inn

Location has pluses and minuses: right in the middle of the tacky tourist shops on Cannery Row, but beautiful waterfront views and very convenient to the aquarium. We chose one of the least expensive rooms on the street side and it was not a large room but well appointed and bed was very comfy. It had french doors out onto a balcony and a sauna! Also a working wood burning gas fireplace and a refrigerator. Wished we could have enjoyed the fireplace, but the Inn was so warm, even without any heat on in our room, there was no way to enjoy that feature. Breakfast in bed is very nice -- we just ordered coffee, fruit and yogurt but it was very nice to not have to dress and go down for it! The wine/cheese hour was appreciated and we met some very nice people. Staff overall was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Favorite activity of our trip: Point Lobos! Take the Cypress Grove Trail and be sure to see China Cove -- East strolls and Mind blowingly beautiful!

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flossy15
Boston
May 19, 2013

Great Getaway

We checked into the Spindrift for a short stay in Monterey celebrating our wedding anniversary. Had a nice ocean view room on the 3rd floor. Great view of the bay, and a beautifully furnished room. Really enjoyed the wood burning stove in the room - it was a great amenity for the cool Monterey evenings. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff was friendly and efficient - morning continental breakfast was delivered to the room right on time. Hotel is in a great location on Cannery Row. Our first visit to the area - enjoyed the atmosphere of Monterey and took a nice drive to Carmel, Pebble Beach and Big Sur. Overall - a great hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
otter 2
Monterey,Ca
May 1, 2013

great experience

from checkin to checkout excellent service Breakfast in the room a nice touch room facing street had balcony added to ambience room good size very convenient to activities in area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Imincharge
San Jose, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Great Weekend Getaway

No better place to stay in Monterey. The staff was fabulous! There was a motorcycle event the weekend we stayed and we were ungraded to an ocean view room without having to ask which was a nice surprise.The bed was luxurious. The fireplace in the room is an added bonus. The ocean view is exceptional and relaxing. Perfect choice for a romantic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corporate Traveler
Business
Irvine, California
Feb 9, 2012

Good stay

Business traveler enjoyed the quick overnight stay. Staff was friendly and location was quiet, beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa K
Yuba City, CA, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Beautiful

Every staff member was super friendly and helpful. Our room was elegant and comfortable. We knew we would be arriving late so we got a cannery row view room. The view was fine but I think next time we will splurge for oceanside. We will definately be going back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turkey neck
utah
Nov 29, 2011

sweetness for your sweetie

Wonderful staff, great romantic feel, very comfortable bedding, nice breakfast room service, ocean view was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

staff was knowledgeable of local services

Review of Spindrift Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SaraCalifornia
Baltimore, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

One Night Stay

I had read reviews about the noise level in Cannery Row and was concerned because we were staying Friday night, but noise was a non-issue even though we were staying on the street side. The in-room fireplace was romantic and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Great stay overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search