$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

2 stars
View map of 2227 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
12 reviews
Excellent Staff

The stay was nice. It was a weekend get away for the family and we enjoyed out comforting stay. The... See full review

  • Richard C.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Really nice hotel

This hotel is by far the best value for the money. The rooms are clean and tidy. The staff are... See full review

  • lone travel
  • Jan 16, 2015
The non-smoking Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, its easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes.

NOTE: The property is offering special event cancellation policy for the following dates:

  • 15 September 2015 to 15 May 2016 – 24 hour cancellation / 1 night penalty for all rates and all rooms
  • 16 May 2016 to 14 September 2016 – 7 day cancellation / 1 night penalty for all rates and all rooms

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

    Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey Rooms

    Deluxe
    Superior King Room - microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and large work area.
    Standard
    Deluxe 2 Queen Room - microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and large work area.

    Amenities

    • Free parking
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    Air conditioned
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Pet friendly
    Free local telephone calls
    FEMA approved
    Dining
    Continental breakfast
    Coffee maker in room
    Family plan
    Services
    Security
    Wake-up service
    Copy service
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Accessible parking
    Room
    Television with cable
    Radio
    Phone with speaker
    Telephone
    AM/FM alarm clock
    Desk with lamp
    Heated guest rooms
    Hairdryer in room
    Microwave
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Electronic door locks
    Iron
    Ironing board
    Bath tub

    Dining

    Danny s
    2.4 miles
    Happy Dragon
    .02 miles
    El Turito
    .5 mile
    Monterey Cook House
    0.4 mile
    Round Table Pizza
    1.5 miles
    Shushi by the Bay
    .02 miles
    Mondo s Cafe
    3.8 miles

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    03:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Overall score

    2.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    8 out of 12
    Amenities:
    2.4
    Cleanliness:
    3.5
    Hotel staff:
    3.3
    Comfort:
    3.3
    Location:
    3.5
    Value:
    3.5

    50% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Pogipogi
    Business
    N/A
    Apr 18, 2015

    Price Worth the Stay

    Nice two day stay located on busy Fremont Street...price well worth it. Will come back for sure

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    lone travel
    Business
    marina
    Jan 16, 2015

    Really nice hotel

    This hotel is by far the best value for the money. The rooms are clean and tidy. The staff are courteous and accommodating to the simplest needs. I recommend this Inn for everyone coming to the Monterey Bay area

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Joey8
    Business
    Monterey
    May 6, 2014

    Meh

    Towels sucked, not enough blankets, small room bad tv reception

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Have dog will travel
    Business
    Fresno, CA, USA
    Feb 17, 2014

    Good value basic hotel

    The staff were friendly, helpful, and well-organized. The room was small, but clean, comfortable, and well-appointed, also quiet. They don't charge for pets. We met interesting people at breakfast.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    we had an amazing dinner at La Bicyclette in Carmel

    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Shaina Monster
    Business
    Colorado
    Oct 22, 2013

    Perfect for what it is

    It's exactly what they describe and is definitely worth the value. Very clean room. Perfect for an overnight stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    SLO123
    Business
    San Luis Obispo
    Oct 14, 2013

    Very disappointing

    My husband and I stayed here for a combined business/ weekend getaway. Overall, our impressions were pretty on par for the type of hotel. It started to go wrong when we got back after a day out to go to bed and the mattress was broken. It was completely sunken in on one side. Luckily, it was a king bed so my husband and I were able to squish together on one side. Also, the fridge clicked all night long and neither of us slept more then an hour at a time that night. This made for a very tough day the next day when we were looking forward to going to the aquarium. The next morning we went to the manager who immediately gave us a new room for the second night we were staying. He moved all of our items for us, so we let it go. The room had a fully functioning bed and fridge, but then the next morning my husband goes to shower and the handle for the shower falls off and he cannot adjust the temperature. I attempt to shower later and cannot "rig" it the same way my husband did so the water did not turn on at all. I had just gone for a run, was running late, and had a meeting to get to. I did a hasty sponge bath and went to check out. Due to the constant and continued disappointment, I expressed to the manager I expected to be compensated. The manager insisted multiple times we should've brought it to his attention when it happened, but when I questioned him what he would've done (broken bed at 10:30 at night when the hotel was completely sold out) he said he didn't know. Also, I was already running late and did not feel like moving my stuff (again) to shower. I continued to push for compensation and he reported that all he could do was give me 10% off the cheapest night. This resulted in a whopping $5.70 off our $200 bill. He also insinuated that these complaints may be coming from our inability to pay for the room. This was not the case, and terribly insulting. To be fair, the manager also offered 25% off our next stay and/or the second night free. This would have been adequate if I had any intention of staying there again. This, of course, will not be happening. Needless to say, we were incredibly disappointed and frustrated when leaving the hotel. All we wanted was a place to sleep and shower and we apparently could only do one or the other. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Diver Man
    Business
    Calaveras County
    Sep 3, 2013

    Smoke smell every time we opened the door.

    Although they stated that the whole property is no smoking, the smell of stale cigarette smoke was evident every time we entered the room. The attempt to over-power the smell with disinfectant came up very short. Continental breakfast had no fruit and only white bread for toast. Towels were well-worn and small. Visit was to scuba dive, so had to request extra towels, which were provided. Bed was firm and comfortable. Pillows were thin, worn, small. The three on the king-sized bed did not reach across the bed. Not enough parking available, probably due to RV storage.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Diving is great in Monterey Bay!

    Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Kathleen Clifford
    Business
    Rocklin, CA
    Jul 30, 2012

    Very Disappointed

    They were remodeling , I think. There was alot of noise early and late in the day, Work was being done right outside our window. We tried to cancel the second night and were turned down, even though our terms said we could cancel if we did so prior to 6 o'clock p.m. The housekeeping left our bedroom windows open and the screens were not secure, This wouldn't be to much of a problem if we had been on an upper floor but we were on the ground floor and there were several workers cars parked outside in front of our window offering coverage should anyone try to enter our room through the open window. Workers and staff very loud around our window.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    LOTS OF GOOD FOOD

    Back to menu Return to top