$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

2 stars
2227 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
8 reviews
Perfect for what it is

It's exactly what they describe and is definitely worth the value. Very clean room. Perfect for an... See full review

  • Shaina Monster
  • Oct 22, 2013
One Nighter

My family and I were looking for somewhere to stay for one night only, and I'm glad we picked this... See full review

  • DaMountain
  • Jul 8, 2014
The non-smoking Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, its easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes.

Hotel Map

36.597 -121.8582
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 2.20, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King Room - microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and large work area.
Standard
Deluxe 2 Queen Room - microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and large work area.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Danny s
2.4 miles
Happy Dragon
.02 miles
El Turito
.5 mile
Monterey Cook House
0.4 mile
Round Table Pizza
1.5 miles
Shushi by the Bay
.02 miles
Mondo s Cafe
3.8 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathleen Clifford
Rocklin, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Very Disappointed

They were remodeling , I think. There was alot of noise early and late in the day, Work was being done right outside our window. We tried to cancel the second night and were turned down, even though our terms said we could cancel if we did so prior to 6 o'clock p.m. The housekeeping left our bedroom windows open and the screens were not secure, This wouldn't be to much of a problem if we had been on an upper floor but we were on the ground floor and there were several workers cars parked outside in front of our window offering coverage should anyone try to enter our room through the open window. Workers and staff very loud around our window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LOTS OF GOOD FOOD

Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMountain
Guam, USA
Jul 8, 2014

One Nighter

My family and I were looking for somewhere to stay for one night only, and I'm glad we picked this inn. We have seen pictures that other people have taken of other places within the same price range, and those places did not look good at all. Much to our surprise, the pictures online for this place looked exactly what was shown on their website. We definitely are happy, and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LLBass
Business
California
Jun 26, 2014

Did the Trick

It's not the Hilton but it's also not a flea bag hotel. The staff was very accommodating and there were no issues with the room. If you're just looking for a place to lay your head at night... this could be your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joey8
Monterey
May 6, 2014

Meh

Towels sucked, not enough blankets, small room bad tv reception

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have dog will travel
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2014

Good value basic hotel

The staff were friendly, helpful, and well-organized. The room was small, but clean, comfortable, and well-appointed, also quiet. They don't charge for pets. We met interesting people at breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

we had an amazing dinner at La Bicyclette in Carmel

Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shaina Monster
Colorado
Oct 22, 2013

Perfect for what it is

It's exactly what they describe and is definitely worth the value. Very clean room. Perfect for an overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SLO123
San Luis Obispo
Oct 14, 2013

Very disappointing

My husband and I stayed here for a combined business/ weekend getaway. Overall, our impressions were pretty on par for the type of hotel. It started to go wrong when we got back after a day out to go to bed and the mattress was broken. It was completely sunken in on one side. Luckily, it was a king bed so my husband and I were able to squish together on one side. Also, the fridge clicked all night long and neither of us slept more then an hour at a time that night. This made for a very tough day the next day when we were looking forward to going to the aquarium. The next morning we went to the manager who immediately gave us a new room for the second night we were staying. He moved all of our items for us, so we let it go. The room had a fully functioning bed and fridge, but then the next morning my husband goes to shower and the handle for the shower falls off and he cannot adjust the temperature. I attempt to shower later and cannot "rig" it the same way my husband did so the water did not turn on at all. I had just gone for a run, was running late, and had a meeting to get to. I did a hasty sponge bath and went to check out. Due to the constant and continued disappointment, I expressed to the manager I expected to be compensated. The manager insisted multiple times we should've brought it to his attention when it happened, but when I questioned him what he would've done (broken bed at 10:30 at night when the hotel was completely sold out) he said he didn't know. Also, I was already running late and did not feel like moving my stuff (again) to shower. I continued to push for compensation and he reported that all he could do was give me 10% off the cheapest night. This resulted in a whopping $5.70 off our $200 bill. He also insinuated that these complaints may be coming from our inability to pay for the room. This was not the case, and terribly insulting. To be fair, the manager also offered 25% off our next stay and/or the second night free. This would have been adequate if I had any intention of staying there again. This, of course, will not be happening. Needless to say, we were incredibly disappointed and frustrated when leaving the hotel. All we wanted was a place to sleep and shower and we apparently could only do one or the other. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver Man
Calaveras County
Sep 3, 2013

Smoke smell every time we opened the door.

Although they stated that the whole property is no smoking, the smell of stale cigarette smoke was evident every time we entered the room. The attempt to over-power the smell with disinfectant came up very short. Continental breakfast had no fruit and only white bread for toast. Towels were well-worn and small. Visit was to scuba dive, so had to request extra towels, which were provided. Bed was firm and comfortable. Pillows were thin, worn, small. The three on the king-sized bed did not reach across the bed. Not enough parking available, probably due to RV storage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Diving is great in Monterey Bay!

Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathleen Clifford
Rocklin, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Very Disappointed

They were remodeling , I think. There was alot of noise early and late in the day, Work was being done right outside our window. We tried to cancel the second night and were turned down, even though our terms said we could cancel if we did so prior to 6 o'clock p.m. The housekeeping left our bedroom windows open and the screens were not secure, This wouldn't be to much of a problem if we had been on an upper floor but we were on the ground floor and there were several workers cars parked outside in front of our window offering coverage should anyone try to enter our room through the open window. Workers and staff very loud around our window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LOTS OF GOOD FOOD

Back to menu Return to top