$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

2 stars
1182 Cass Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
52 reviews
Better than anticipated

A little older looking from the outside, the interiors are updated and quite nice. It's... See full review

  • David in Denver
  • Nov 16, 2014
Just fine

Quick stay and pleasant but .... Would have preferred a pool and open feeling rather than its... See full review

  • Coffee Lu
  • Jul 16, 2014
Monterey budget hotel offers free breakfast and Wi-Fi
For great value in the heart of Monterey, look no further than the Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel hotel. This property earns high marks for comfortable rooms, plush bedding and convenient access to all the attractions that make the Monterey Bay area special. The Monterey Bay Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf are just minutes away. Pebble Beach is another highlight. For a special occasion or extra romance, stay in the king guest room with a fireplace at the Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel hotel.
Highlights
  • Smoke-free hotel
  • Some rooms include a microwave and refrigerator
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
Rooms
Guest rooms and suites at the Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel hotel offer warm, inviting places reminiscent of a secluded private inn. Dramatic red accents, crisp white sheets and plenty of pillows are only the beginning of the in-room amenities. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, coffee makers, hairdryers and iron/ironing boards provide additional comfort and convenience. Choose from one king or two double beds. For extra luxury, choose a king fireplace room or two-room suite at the Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel hotel.
Features
Continental breakfast is always free at the Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel hotel. Breakfast is served in an intimate dining room featuring a brick fireplace and wall-mounted TV. On-site parking is free.
Dining
Half a mile from the Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel hotel, Stokes Restaurant & Bar specializes in the "bold flavors of the California Riviera," with Mediterranean-inspired dishes prepared with a bounty of local ingredients and served in an adobe landmark building in Old Monterey.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (54 mi/86.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Highway 1 (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Municipal Beach (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • One mile from the Monterey Conference Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Divemaster Dan
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Divemaster Dan

The location is about the only thing going for this place. It's close to downtown and Fishermans' Warf, however the walls are thin and the staff wasn't responsive to issues with the room. The shower didn't work properly, and I was told it couldn't be fixed until after my stay had ended. Not what I expected. Much better hotels right down the street for around the same cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zexzee
Business
Murrieta, CA
Jan 22, 2013

Dissapointed

I guess you really can't expect much for the price of this place, but when I got to my pretty decent room I couldn't get the window to close. I was moved to an old room with scratched and ancient furniture, brand new bathroom with an old shower head, disgusting carpeting and chair. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The shoreline is phenomenal with beautiful tide pools and amazing waves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dela55
Business
manteca
Mar 6, 2013

family getaway

We have a truck,unable to park..there small red truck parked full of weeds, dont think has moved in awhile.took more than one park space. Showers water temp change during shower hot to really cold. We could.smell meal for day cooking from office an our room and it lingered this cabbage smell, staff was great nice friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Altos Hill, CA
Jul 21, 2011

Very poor hotels - 1 star rating at the

- The beds are very soft and the whole night (11pm to 6am), people shouting, slamming doors, go up and down the stairs. It was impossible to sleep. Strongly not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LibbyB
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Needs Improvement

The staff was friendly, but we had little interaction with them. The room itself had a pretty strong cleaner smell...sort of like a bathroom at a rest stop that has just been cleaned. The walls were paper thin, and we could hear everything. The carpet had spots, and the wallpaper was peeling....definitely could use some maintenance. The mattress was surprisingly comfortable, and we slept well. The continental breakfast was pathetic...loaves of bread laid out in a case next to a toaster, stale pastries, and boxes of either Frosted Flakes or Raisin Bran. I prefer the Best Western down the street, but it is more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Old Fisherman's Grotto on the Fisherman's Wharf was really good!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RSM2420
Business
Norfolk, VA
Sep 21, 2012

Good location but that's about it

I thought the price I paid for the room was quite fair but it seems like you get what you pay for here. The place is set up like a motel and being that it's not enclosed you really hear all the noise for the street in front. I was also a bit put off by the other guests being extremely loud and making noise in the rooms near by. I guess because its cheap to stay there it attracts a younger crowd which wouldn't normally bother me except for hearing them pounding on doors and slamming into walls at 5am. The best thing this place has going for it is the location. Restaurants, shopping and attractions all very near by. The lady at the front desk was also very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cmshelley
Business
San Rafael, California
Jan 14, 2013

It'll do.

There wasn't anything wrong with the place and nothing special about it. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go the Carmel Beach... The stars at night are amazing and its a fun place for a bonfire.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KendraPT
Business
Davis, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2013

Go cheap and get what you pay for

I did not enjoy my stay here, I've apparently become too picky. The bedding was cheap and synthetic, thus not very warm, then with an extra blanket it became stifling because synthetic fabric doesn't breathe. The room was clean, but you could see where touch ups and repairs had been done cheap and fast. The wallpaper had lumps, painting was drippy, carpet had seen better days, and you could see light under the door. I enjoyed the free wifi and cable. The front desk people were nice. Parking was a bit tight. The location was fairly good, but I think one of the other nearby motels would have been better for a similar price. Being a small property it was pretty quiet, though the walls were pretty thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheodorVamp
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 26, 2013

Small and uninteresting, especially for the price.

Was disappointed with the size of the room. Seems like some old motel that was adopted by Ramada and slightly refurbished. The management couldn't help it but there were some insane people partying and yelling next door for hours from 2 am to 5 am and despite a call to the front desk, the noise did not subside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey/Carmel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoobeezoo
Business
Canada
Mar 25, 2014

Good for overnight stay. Price was fair for stay.

The location was primary for Monterey. The room itself is more a issue. It is by far more a 1 1/2 star. The bed,sheets,pillows and towels (new) were clean and comfortable. The blanket however had hair on it from a previous guest and should really be replaced. The shower head was a bit grimy and we had to wash it ourselves before we could use it. The room honestly could use a good cleaning. Breakfast was from 7:30 to 9:30 am. Only 2 seating areas so we sat outside on the brick wall which was nice. It was enough to start our morning! In all for the price we paid it was safe and comfortable. We probably would not choose this again until they made some slight upgrades. Good if you really are looking for night if sleep and GO! I hope the owners of this Ramada spend a bit if money on thier bed spreads, blankets and room cleanning team. It can be a better place with just a bit more attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for second floor room. Much more quiet. Wood floors. Eat at Chopsticks! Vety close and excellent food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top