$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

4 stars
2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
38 reviews
perfect location

My stay at Portola Hotel and Spa was perfect. The staff was extremely friendly, the location was... See full review

  • NT Travel Lover
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great hotel

There isn't one negative thing to say about this place. Great location right by the beach, the... See full review

  • sea sun and sand lover
  • Apr 27, 2014
Monterey hotel includes every ingredient for a great coastal getaway
From a sun-soaked lobby with live trees reaching toward atrium skylights, to luxurious, soul-satisfying spa treatments, the Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay offers a complete experience that's distinctly Monterey. Stay in one of 379 recently-renovated rooms and suites where floor-to-ceiling windows provide awe-inspiring views. Dine in Monterey's first and only microbrewery -- the on-site Peter B's. Hit the Monterey Bay Coastal Recreation Trail and walk or bike to Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium.
Highlights
  • Extensive meeting and event facilities
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
  • Monterey County's top-ranked day spa
  • Peter B's Brewpub is the city's only microbrewery
  • Fitness center with outdoor plunge pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms
All guest rooms and suites at the Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay are comfortable and stylish, with the perfect blend of sophisticated taste and a coastal, casual tone. Choose from harbor view, executive harbor view, courtyard view and Portola guest rooms, as well as studio suites. An executive suite and presidential suite also are available. All accommodations include down pillows, organic bath amenities and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Most feature a 42-inch LCD TV and a balcony.
Features
For a completely restorative stay, visit Spa on the Plaza at the Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay. The largest day spa in the area, Spa on the Plaza offers spa days such as the four-hour Oceana package, which includes thalassotherapy, a seaweed wrap, full body massage, sea mask facial and botanical hair treatment (fees apply). Hotel guests enjoy complimentary use of the spa's fitness center, outdoor plunge pool and Jacuzzi. Personal training and fitness classes also are available (fees apply).
Dining
Peter B's Brewpub at the Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay is Monterey's only microbrewery. The beer is incorporated into dishes such as beer-braised pulled pork -- enjoy great pub food with a handcrafted hefeweizen, classic Pilsner or seasonal brew.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.1 mi/85.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • Adjacent to the Monterey Conference Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cannery Row (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Catering services available
  • Adjacent to the Monterey Conference Center

Hotel Map

36.6015 -121.8945
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 3.80, MI, E; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 75.80, MI, N; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 101.30, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 105.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay Rooms

Standard
Situated throughout the hotel our Portola Guest Rooms offer an city or garden terrace view with two double beds shuttered windows organic green bath amenities 42 inches flat screen HD TV refrigerator coffee maker and laptop safe.
Standard
Portola King Room - Situated throughout the hotel, our Portola Guest Rooms offer an city or garden terrace view with a King bed with oversized club chairs shuttered windows organic green bath amenities 42 inches flat screen HD TV refrigerator coffee m
Standard
Courtyard King Room - Our Courtyard room offers a private balcony with patio furniture and outdoor cabanas on the Cottonwood Terrace of the hotel. Relax outdoors while enjoying the fresh Monterey Bay air and views of the native plants and trees in Cott
Standard
Harbor View King Room -Enjoy a peek of the Monterey Bay and the sounds of the local sea life in our beautifully appointed Harbor King View rooms. Located on the 5th and 6th floors of the hotel and offer an enhanced room décor that includes upgraded wall
Standard
Courtyard Double Rooms - Our Courtyard room offers a private balcony with patio furniture and outdoor cabanas on the Cottonwood Terrace of the hotel. Relax outdoors while enjoying the fresh Monterey Bay air and views of the native plants and trees in
Standard
Harbor View Double Room - Enjoy a peek of the Monterey Bay and the sounds of the local sea life in our beautifully appointed Harbor View Double rooms. Located on the 5th and 6th floors of the hotel and offer an enhanced room decor that includes upgraded

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

Jacks Resturant
California Cuisine - focus on local sustainable produce-meats-seafood
Peter Bs Sports Bar
Peter B s is a Brewpub Casual Dining. Monterey s only craft brewery.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 38
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Where's Gumbo
San Francisco, California
Sep 2, 2014

Nice couple's getaway hotel

The room is super comfortable and very clean. The location is great if you wanted to visit the Monterey wharf for early morning whale watching retreats. However, it is not within walking distance from Cannery Row or the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located within a short walk to the wharf. So if you're looking to do a whale watching expedition that starts early, this is one of the ideal hotels to stay at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thelaw
washington, dc
Aug 14, 2014

Perfect location at a reasonable price!

Great location right next to the wharf with attached bike rental shop that my fiance and I used to hop on the bike path along the coast down to pebble beach. The hotel was very clean but we were a little disappointed with staff recommendations on dining - three times we asked for local dining options and we got big chain restaurant replies each time. Otherwise awesome stay at a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NT Travel Lover
Hercules, CA
Aug 13, 2014

perfect location

My stay at Portola Hotel and Spa was perfect. The staff was extremely friendly, the location was perfect and the room was clean and comfortable. I couldn't ask for anything more for my stay here. I love how we were able to check into our room at 11AM. My only complaint is that the room does not come with AC. I prefer a room with AC, but in this situation it wasn't a deal breaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELYSEL
Agoura Hills, CA
Jun 16, 2014

LOCATION GREAT BUT NOT

My hotel window faced the walkway of the hotel and it was very very loud. Closing the window didn't help the noise at all and there was no air conditioner , only heat, so temperature was pretty bad in the room. If you are lucky enough to have a room without foot traffic outside, you probably will have a good experience. The bed was amazing and the shower was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nj..........
San Fran
Apr 21, 2014

Great location great hotel!

Free cookies at check in ....................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie Jo
Willows, CA
Mar 17, 2014

Great Cental Location

Husband and I stayed at the Portola to celebrate our anniversary. Loved the location and proximity to shops and cafes and Fisherman's Wharf. Highly recommend the walking path down to Cannery Row, especially on a sunny day. Room was comfortable (no tub if that's something you require for kids etc), had a lovely balcony that we enjoyed looking out onto the shops below. Beware of the barking seals if you have a harbor facing room, as they will be quite vocal - even into the wee hours of the morning! Will certainly be staying at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Owain1845
California
Jan 1, 2014

Short winter break

Best location in Monterey. Have stayed here a free times. Recommended for young families and couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey Bay coastal path

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GigiSmiles
Modesto
Nov 11, 2013

couple's getaway

Wonderful experience! The hotel and staff are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rlhmb
Ft. Mohave AZ, USA
Jul 9, 2013

Great location

the hotel staff was helpful. The room was comfortable but noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portola Hotel and Spa at Monterey Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BayArea Local
Palo Alto, CA
Mar 29, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Awesome place to stay! Looking forward on going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search