Padre Oaks

2 stars
View map of 1278 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
38 reviews
Affordable and cute

Perfect place to stay when you are looking for an affordable room to stay in Monterey. Room are... See full review

  • YNGS
  • Oct 17, 2014
Monterey Spring Break

If you are looking for a clean but inexpensive motel, this is the place for you. No frills but... See full review

  • Castorcito
  • Mar 31, 2014

Padre Oaks is named for the grand 180-year-old Coast Live Oak tree situated at the heart of this little cluster of cozy rooms. Padre Oaks offers 20 guest rooms and free breakfast, all within minutes of Fisherman's Wharf, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Charming Carmel-by-the-Sea, the 17-Mile-Drive and famous Pebble Beach Golf Links are also near the Padre Oaks hotel. Shoppers enjoy being close to the Del Monte Shopping Center, with upmarket shops like Banana Republic and White House Black Market.

Location

Just a few minutes from Padre Oaks, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view. Make a date at Abalonetti Seafood, Cafe Fina, Old Fisherman's Grotto or any number of the fine restaurants at Fisherman's Wharf for a dining experience that's distinctly Monterey. 

Rooms

A cozy cluster of well-maintained buildings at the AAA-rated Padre Oaks hotel includes 20 drive-up guest rooms, all fronted by white picket fences and decorated with colorful hanging baskets. A grove of trees behind the property creates a picturesque setting. Rooms include king, queen or double beds. Two-bedroom units and nonsmoking rooms are available at Padre Oaks.


Padre Oaks guests take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, coffee-makers and cable television with HBO and ESPN. Microwaves, refrigerators, wake-up calls, hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are also available.

Property features

Start the day with complimentary continental breakfast on site. Avoid the crowds at the Monterey Bay Aquarium ticket window by purchasing tickets at the Padre Oaks front desk.

Highlights
  • Free outdoor parking
  • Within walking distance of the Del Monte Shopping Center
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Attractive landscaped grounds
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services available (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (54.1 mi/87.1 km)
Policies
  • PLEASE NOTE: $0.50 USD per room per night payable directly to property. Not included in prepaid booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre Oaks also booked these hotels.

★★★
$70
3.5 / 5 47 reviews
$74
3.5 / 5 63 reviews
★★
$79
2.8 / 5 46 reviews
★★
$109
3.2 / 5 17 reviews
★★
$85
3.7 / 5 45 reviews
★★★
$105
3.6 / 5 124 reviews
★★
$109
3.6 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$139
3.7 / 5 180 reviews

Padre Oaks Rooms

Queen
Queen includes: 1 Queen Bed, Cable TV with HBO, Complimentary Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave,Coffee Maker,Hair dryers, Makeup Mirror, Window opens, free local calls. Iron/Ironing Board on Request. Non Smoking Only. No Pets Allowed. Credit Card or Cash Deposit Required Upon Check In. Photo ID Required.
Two Doubles
Two Doubles includes: 2 Double Beds, Cable TV with HBO, Complimentary Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave,Coffee Maker, Hair dryers,Makeup Mirror, Window opens, free local calls.Iron/Ironing Board on Request. Non Smoking Only. No Pets Allowed. Credit Card or Cash Deposit Required Upon Check In. Photo ID Required.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Padre Oaks

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Armando Travel Lover
Family
Santa Ana, CA
Mar 19, 2013

Nice inexpensive place to stay

This hotel was great! Staff was very nice, room was nice and clean. Was very close to Monterey bay aquarium & downtown area. It may not be a fancy hotel but like I always say all you need is a place to sleep and shower. But really great hotel. Also parking is right infront of your room. I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium is only a couple minutes away!

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuthernKiwi
Couples
Hayward, CA
May 11, 2013

Great room for the price!

Small room with micro-fridge and coffee maker. Very clean, towels were not threadbare. Area VERY quiet after hours. Pillow uncomfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nauti
Couples
Boston
Mar 17, 2014

Convenient and affordable.

Very convenient location, with a shopping center nearby. The room is small, not very comfort, but OK for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Castorcito
Couples
Wheat Ridge
Mar 31, 2014

Monterey Spring Break

If you are looking for a clean but inexpensive motel, this is the place for you. No frills but close to area attractions at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LarryES
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Oct 18, 2012

Good Value & Location

Pleasant stay. No breakfast was included. Restaurants were nearby in the mall. Stayed 1 night and then went to Monterey aquarium and 17-mile drive, both easily accessible from hotel. Friendly staff. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Job Huntress
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 13, 2013

Very Good Value

I needed to stay 1 night in Monterey so I could be fresh for an 8:00AM job interview. Padre Oaks had the best price, and I was very happy with the room. It had a queen size bed, TV, Microwave, Small Fridge and Coffee Maker. The only thing missing was an alarm clock. I called the front desk and they arranged for a wake-up phone call for me. The bathroom contained soap and towels, but no shampoo or lotion. The location is right across from a major shopping mall that includes a movie theater and Whole Foods grocery. I am unemployed, and I felt this was money well spent in my effort to get a job in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chopstix Vietnamese Restaurant was 1 block down the street and featured Pho soups, noodle dishes, rice plates and vietnamese sandwiches for very reasonable prices.

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Safety Harbor
Nov 24, 2008

My review of Padre Oaks

Great value for the money. Very clean and quiet. limited clothing storage and very limited breakfast. Very basic no fitness center and pool not open (unheated).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street from Del Monte Center. Short drive to Carmel Barnyad and the Farmers Market on tuesdays

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Francisco CA
Dec 14, 2009

Padre Oaks

Overall, it was a good value for the price. Ir was quiet and modest. We liked being near the Del Monte Shopping center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

see above

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eddie2086
Family
Oakland, CA
Mar 27, 2008

nice hotel

if need to get in and around town..nothing fancy but nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

aquariam

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
May 6, 2007

Good and Cozy

Me and my wife really like the place, nice and cozy << Wife used that word, It was a very reasonable price, for someone that wasn't hardly going to be in the room, But to my surprise, We was in our room more than we thought we wouldn't be(It was a nice sunny day too ) . Liking the idea the mall was walking distance across the street, Basically everything we need was real close. Didn't have to drive far (with the gas being so high) , We was close to everything a traveler would need. It was a very nice looking old school hote, You can see all the history, that might have taken place all the years that this hotel was born. Another good thing was there is no upstairs, no long line checking in or out, A very few units of room, less noise ,very peaceful, I would come back again, and stay there, matter of fact I already told my boss, where to go, he is going in a couple of weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top