$29 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Padre Oaks

2 stars
1278 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
41 reviews
Affordable and cute

Perfect place to stay when you are looking for an affordable room to stay in Monterey. Room are... See full review

  • YNGS
  • Oct 17, 2014
Monterey Spring Break

If you are looking for a clean but inexpensive motel, this is the place for you. No frills but... See full review

  • Castorcito
  • Mar 31, 2014
Monterey budget hotel with picturesque landscaping

Padre Oaks is named for the grand 180-year-old Coast Live Oak tree situated at the heart of this little cluster of cozy rooms. Padre Oaks offers 20 guest rooms and free breakfast, all within minutes of Fisherman's Wharf, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Charming Carmel-by-the-Sea, the 17-Mile-Drive and famous Pebble Beach Golf Links are also near the Padre Oaks hotel. Shoppers enjoy being close to the Del Monte Shopping Center, with upmarket shops like Banana Republic and White House Black Market.

Highlights
  • Free outdoor parking
  • Within walking distance of the Del Monte Shopping Center
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Attractive landscaped grounds
Location

Just a few minutes from Padre Oaks, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view. Make a date at Abalonetti Seafood, Cafe Fina, Old Fisherman's Grotto or any number of the fine restaurants at Fisherman's Wharf for a dining experience that's distinctly Monterey. 

Rooms

A cozy cluster of well-maintained buildings at the AAA-rated Padre Oaks hotel includes 20 drive-up guest rooms, all fronted by white picket fences and decorated with colorful hanging baskets. A grove of trees behind the property creates a picturesque setting. Rooms include king, queen or double beds. Two-bedroom units and nonsmoking rooms are available at Padre Oaks.


Padre Oaks guests take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, coffee-makers and cable television with HBO and ESPN. Microwaves, refrigerators, wake-up calls, hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are also available.

Features

Start the day with complimentary continental breakfast on site. Avoid the crowds at the Monterey Bay Aquarium ticket window by purchasing tickets at the Padre Oaks front desk.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (54.1 mi/87.1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • PLEASE NOTE: $0.50 USD per room per night payable directly to property. Not included in prepaid booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre Oaks also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Padre Oaks Rooms

Queen
Queen includes: 1 Queen Bed, Cable TV with HBO, Complimentary Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave,Coffee Maker,Hair dryers, Makeup Mirror, Window opens, free local calls. Iron/Ironing Board on Request. Non Smoking Only. No Pets Allowed. Credit Card or Cash Deposit Required Upon Check In. Photo ID Required.
Two Doubles
Two Doubles includes: 2 Double Beds, Cable TV with HBO, Complimentary Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave,Coffee Maker, Hair dryers,Makeup Mirror, Window opens, free local calls.Iron/Ironing Board on Request. Non Smoking Only. No Pets Allowed. Credit Card or Cash Deposit Required Upon Check In. Photo ID Required.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Padre Oaks

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento ca
Nov 30, 2009

terrible

I arrived very late, I know it was inconvenient, the service was very rude! I had recieved a key to the room. I then left the location to go to the gas station. I arrived back to the hotel and my key did not work in the door. So at that point I did have to wake up the managers again, and felt badly for it. I was then told I was not to stay there because I had extra people with me and that I lied to them. I said I was the only person staying there and I just gave the key back to find another hotel, as it was very late and I wanted to rest. My friends were very kind to give me a ride to the hotel,they were not staying with me. The assumption was very rude and also the way I was treated! I will never recommend any one to stay at such a place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Monterey Visitor
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 13, 2009

Less Than Expected

I am a frequent Monterey visitor and I would not consider ever staying at the Padre Oaks again. And you shouldn't either. Although the room was 'affordable' for the area, I was expecting more. The staff, when available, was unfriendly and unhelpful. The advertised "continental breakfast" consisted of Costco muffins cut into quarters and small mouthwash sized cups of orange juice. Although we pre-paid on-line they attempted to over charge us for the room. Apparently we were not alone in our experience, as we witnessed another couple arguing with the motel owners, shortly followed buy the arrival of the local police to mediate. The heater in the room did not have thermostat control. So we either roasted or froze. The toilet was loosely mounted which made for some fun moments in the night. There was only warm water available in the mostly broken shower. The beds, pillows and bedding are worse than I can describe. Others have complained about the parking, but we did not find that a problem. The motel location is good, near most Monterey attractions and restaurants, and is across the street from a major shopping center. There. Those are the only nice things I can say about our stay. Stay at the Downtown Travel Lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blah person
Business
san francsico
Oct 6, 2009

okay

it was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ozzie and Maria
Business
Folsom, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Clean, Convenient, FRIENDLY STAFF

Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiger Woods
Business
cali
Sep 2, 2009

One Night, Been there before

Stayed one night, I had stayed there before. One of the lowest priced places on Munras Ave. So don't expect too much. They do have a pool and free continental breakfast. The sheets were loose and I not sure if the blanket was clean, so I didn't use the blanket. Good place if you really want to save some money but for a few dollars more another place might be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Large shopping center right across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bkpaint
Business
Boston,ma
Aug 23, 2009

just ordinary

The lady who checked me in said that they had a continental breakfast. I went to it and was disappointed that they did not have coffee or tea only orange juice (small cup) for liquid drinks. The pool was closed and dirty but on their defense, the weather was too cool for swimming anyway. It was just a fair motel and I would not go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The fisherman's wharf is less than a mile away and has great seafood restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simone64
Business
Paris France
Aug 22, 2009

Good hotel, nice owners!

the ratio price/quality was excellent, the room super clean, and the owners perfectlly friendly. I would recomend this motel if you have a modest budget, and if you have a car. Walking downtown is absolutely possible, but it takes a good 30 minuts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 10, 2009

So-So

Only used it for sleep, but room was small, internet spotty at times, almost no space to put anything down in the room. Extremely tight parking, but it did work if you were careful. Considering this is one of the main drags for hotels/motels (at least 6+ hotels immediately adjacent), I think I'll try something else if I ever do this again in Monterey, CA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Del Monte Shopping Center right across the street with Whole Foods, many other shopping stores and some other eating places, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area
Jun 2, 2009

Good location for the Golfer

The location was close to everything for me Nice and quite and away from the road as I had a room in the back just fine for what I paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall across the street will keep wife busy all day while your golfing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
May 25, 2009

CUTE

clean, quiet. The pool was small. They wouldn't hold my bags after check-out (until my evening flight). Nice enough for a business trip on the cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods store 2 blocks away and a frig in the room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top