Padre Oaks

2 stars
View map of 1278 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Padre Oaks

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Armando Travel Lover
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Mar 19, 2013

Nice inexpensive place to stay

This hotel was great! Staff was very nice, room was nice and clean. Was very close to Monterey bay aquarium & downtown area. It may not be a fancy hotel but like I always say all you need is a place to sleep and shower. But really great hotel. Also parking is right infront of your room. I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium is only a couple minutes away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Job Huntress
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 13, 2013

Very Good Value

I needed to stay 1 night in Monterey so I could be fresh for an 8:00AM job interview. Padre Oaks had the best price, and I was very happy with the room. It had a queen size bed, TV, Microwave, Small Fridge and Coffee Maker. The only thing missing was an alarm clock. I called the front desk and they arranged for a wake-up phone call for me. The bathroom contained soap and towels, but no shampoo or lotion. The location is right across from a major shopping mall that includes a movie theater and Whole Foods grocery. I am unemployed, and I felt this was money well spent in my effort to get a job in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chopstix Vietnamese Restaurant was 1 block down the street and featured Pho soups, noodle dishes, rice plates and vietnamese sandwiches for very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawrence of Arabia
Business
Bakersfield
Dec 29, 2012

Room for cheap

The room was very inexpensive. It was small, but acceptable. It was old fashioned. It wasn't as clean as one might want. If you can get an additional deal on the pricing, this place is fairly ideal for the frugal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tillie Gort's is a really great vegan cafe in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LarryES
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 18, 2012

Good Value & Location

Pleasant stay. No breakfast was included. Restaurants were nearby in the mall. Stayed 1 night and then went to Monterey aquarium and 17-mile drive, both easily accessible from hotel. Friendly staff. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, ca
Feb 28, 2010

Monterey trip

Not that great. And also the key card didn't work the next morning BEFORE our checkout time. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Startrekker
Business
LA
Feb 7, 2010

Average place

We were looking for something cheap, and this ended up being the cheapest rate for the night. Not a shabby place but you do get what you pay for. None of the appliances worked, and when the heater was turned on the whole room smelled gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jan 22, 2010

Lie and Cheat

They made an unauthorized charge to my credit card, claiming I had stolen a coffee cup when I denined it they then sid it was a coffee jug???? This is an outright lie. They had not made proper battery maintaince on the smoke alarm which awakened me at three AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN DIEGO
Dec 28, 2009

MET MY NEEDS

THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND THE ROOM WAS FINE. IT IS LOCATED IN A GREAT SPOT CLOSE TO EVERYTHING. MY ROOM WAS VERY QUIET AND COMFORTABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Sur, Ca
Dec 28, 2009

Not bad for the money

Rooms were clean but on the small side. Not bad for the money. It's winter but the pool didn't look clean. Breakfast consisted of cut up muffins or bread - [...]We'd stay again. Knights in on Carmel Hill is much better for the same price but it was booked solid - Christmas week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium is awesome! Look on line for discount coupons. It's one of the best aquariums we've been too. The hotel is about 4 mi. away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco CA
Dec 14, 2009

Padre Oaks

Overall, it was a good value for the price. Ir was quiet and modest. We liked being near the Del Monte Shopping center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

see above

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top